We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Central Park
Ranked #104 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Great place to stay. Great views north to Central Park and west towards the river and Hearst building. The room is spotless and decor modern. Excellent location to get everywhere you want to be - many subway lines nearby and walkable to Central Park, theaters and time square. Excellent dining options nearby. Close to Ed Sullivan theater if interested to attend a Letterman show you can register for standby tickets.

Comfortable bed (sheets are crisp almost like paper) bath towels are thick. Room is laid out efficiently.

Complimentary breakfast had many options and was a good start to the day.

Staff are friendly and helpful from the front desk, the concierge and housekeeping.

We will definitely stay again.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank ABCM123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    699
    352
    88
    30
    22
See reviews for
238
607
62
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We were in NYC for one night prior to a cruise to Bermuda and stayed at the Residence Inn. Overall the hotel is very nice and still looks brand new. We arrived around 10:30 am and I was fully expecting that we would just have to drop off our bags and return later, however they already had a room ready for us. The rooms are small, but its NYC so that is to be expected. That said, they are very well laid out and if I was going to be staying in the city for a few nights I think having a mini, fridge, microwave, etc. would come in handy. The hotel is located in a very good location near a lot of the sites most tourist will want to see.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Prim8Keeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeannette, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
83 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

I recently stayed three nights at this hotel and enjoyed my stay. The hotel is located between Times Square and Central Park. It's a short walk to either from the hotel. The hotel is 65 stories high but unfortunately my room was only on the 37th. The view was still a great one of the city, even tough I did not have a view of Times Square or Central Park like many of the rooms have.

Check in was quick and efficient, maybe not overly friendly, but not an issue. There are a number of elevators that just go to the Residence Inn rooms and they require a room key to get to the room floors. The majority of the time there was either no wait or a very short one. There were a few times, esp during the breakfast times, that you could wait a couple of minutes for one.

I thought that the room was laid out efficiently having the microwave, refrigerator, freezer and dishwasher in a area that included a sink. The fridge, freezer and dishwasher were in drawers that pulled out. The only problem I had was with the refrigerator not cooling when I checked in. I reported it and they came and fixed it fast. Unfortunately it went out again the next evening and I had to place a call again and was told they were replacing it but I was out and don't know if they did. It was out again when I checked out so I reported it at that time.

The bathroom had plenty of room for me and the shower was very nice with the special shower head. The towels were excellent and there was excellent water pressure. The full length mirror is hidden behind the sliding door of the bathroom. The bed was king and very comfortable. The TV worked well and there were a good many channels, even though you don't usually watch that much when in NYC. The cabinet to hang clothes was not extremely but had plenty of hangers. There is a good size laptop safe at the bottom which is nice, but it is mounted up somewhat high that doesn't allow things to hang without laying some on the top of the safe.

The 3rd floor is used for the breakfast area and has a good bit of space, but many days the breakfast is very busy The staff tries to keep up with it, but it seems that are understaffed many mornings. Some of the seating allows you to sit looking out the windows onto Broadway or I believe 54th. The 4th floor has a bistro and Starbucks and you can just hang out there or purchase breakfast if you don't want to eat at the free one.

I had an excellent meal at the Empire Steak House next door. Even though I has seafood, not steak it was great. The cost was about normal for NYC.

If I get back to the city I would have no problems staying here again, esp with a reasonable rate like I was able to get last weekend. It was convenient to subway stations and I was able to walk to the several shows I attended.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Billpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summit, New Jersey
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

I tried to check into my hotel room at 7:30pm on the date of my reservation, but was informed by the desk clerk that my booked room (2 queen beds) was not available (and would not be available, even later that evening). Instead, I was offered an alternate room with a king bed (but without a rollaway bed or cot). I was traveling with 3 people (2 adults and 1 young child), so one bed was not sufficient. I had to find another hotel at the last minute on a Friday in midtown Manhattan -- not an easy task -- because Residence Inn could not accommodate me.

This is absolutely unacceptable. I will avoid this hotel brand in the future.

I also should add that the valet parking was not available when we arrived, so we had to drive to a nearby lot to self-park. There are plenty of parking lots in midtown, but the hotel advertises valet parking, so they should have a valet available at all times.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank GGTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doylestown, PA
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

The location of this hotel and the views are great. The Residence Inn has the top floors, while the Courtyard (same building) has the lower floors. We had a corner room on the 53rd floor and it was an incredible view of central park and surrounding buildings. The room was very modern and somewhat compact, but it met our needs well. This Residence Inn doesn't include a cocktail hour in the afternoons like most others. Also the free breakfast was completely mismanged. The two days we had breakfast, everything was running out by 8:45 to 9am, even though breakfast is scheduled until 9:30. The staff didn't seem to care. It's a shame, because the people everywhere else in this hotel were extremely polite and seemed to do a good job. Fix the Breakfast and then this hotel would be excellent in my opinion. It's a short walk to great restaurants on 9th avenue, Central Park and Times Square. the subway is one block away.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are the best. The higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank familyof4inpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
128 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Been to NYC many times and tried all sort of hotels (unfortunately not the Plaza or Waldor types hotels), Hyatts, Marriotss, etc... this brand ndew hotels seemed to be a good choice and we were not disappointed at all. In fact we loved it a lot. The lobby is nothing extraordinary, a modern one. After a very quick checkin we got our room keys to the 56th floor with a view on Central Park. OMG!!! this is such a view and all those buildings and the river and even the bathroom had a floor to ceiling window... extraordinary. The room itself is not so big, but enough for two. The TV is easy to handle with a huge choice of all sorts of channels. The kitchen is OK, we hardly used it, though we liked the fridge, it's like a drawer, very convenient. The staff is nice and helpful. The location is great, we walked to the theatres, restaurants, to the MET, a lot of stuff within walking distance. The breakfast was the only "so-so" part of our stay, the choice would be OK (as in other Residence Inns), but the staff was unable to fill up the counters and trays and if you arrived 1 hour !!!!! before closing time there was almost nothing you could choose from. That was a real disappointment and it happened almost every day (we stayed 7 nights). BUT the room, the room decor, and the view still makes me to give a full 5. Would return tomorrow and wish I could stay for a month at least. (wish someone sponsor me) :-) I would reccomend this property to everybody.

Room Tip: Try to ask for a park view room (those rooms are more expensive, but you might be luck and got a com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank vizslabp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This new hotel has very comfortable clean rooms which one has come to expect in Manhattan from Marriott and other chain hotel brands. The Residence Inn's rooms start at floor #5 and go up to 65 floors. Obviously the views are priceless whether you can see Central Park, midtown and/or New Jersey and The Hudson River. An added bonus was the quick and personable check in on the ground floor and the better than expected "Great Room" where the complimentary, very large breakfast was served in the morning. The room has a a variety of seating and its 3rd floor overlooks Broadway. The choices and quality of breakfast items are impressive and I would recommend this hotel, unless one does not like heights.

Room Tip: All rooms have good views and so far up, the street noise is not a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank USAJoetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Moderne Hotel
Moderne Hotel
#82 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,741 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard by Marriott New York Manhattan/Central Park
Courtyard by Marriott New York M...
#242 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,080 reviews
Midtown
WestHouse Hotel New York
WestHouse Hotel New York
#95 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square
Residence Inn New York Manhattan...
#193 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,311 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#135 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Central Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Central Park

Property: Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Central Park
Address: 1717 Broadway, New York City, NY 10019
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Central Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the tallest hotel in New York, Residence Inn by Marriott New York Manhattan/Central Park offers incomparable views of some of the most famous NYC landmarks, including Central Park and Times Square. Our Central Park hotel in NYC is an all-suite hotel providing guests with modern design and amenities, for a comfortable yet stylish stay in NYC. Out hotel features a Nosh eating area with light snacks and coffee, and we offer a daily free breakfast. There is a business center in our hotel and several meeting rooms that are perfect for small and medium functions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Hotel.de, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Central Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing