We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's definitely a Hilton!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
New York Hilton Midtown
Ranked #322 of 467 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Pemberton, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“It's definitely a Hilton!”
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Being in the heart of Manhattan this hotel is quite pricey, but I expected that. We booked a suite and a regular room for a bachelorette party. As a Hilton Honors member, we were able to use the concierge lounge and breakfast was really really good. Lots of choices. Being the largest hotel in Manhattan, the lobby area was ALWAYS super busy and it could take a while to get on the elevator, and also to get a cab. Staff were friendly, hotel was clean, rooms were decent. The bedroom of the suite was quite large with a lot of floor space, however the living area was a little cramped, especially once you pull out the sofa bed. Great location, just a couple blocks walk to Times Square. Probably wouldn't stay there again (got rooms cheap because I used points) - there are other nice, lesser priced hotels in Manhattan.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

10,273 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,535
    3,932
    2,230
    1,022
    554
See reviews for
3,062
2,270
469
2,726
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,813)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 July 2013

This is not a 4* Hilton hotel you'll expect. The hotel lobby is like a train station. Vey noisy and crowded. The room is very outdated and dirty. No coffee maker, no fridge, no internet. There are better room in 2* motels. The only good thing is the location.
I cannot believe this hotel has a very high rating in review. I was fooled by the rating when booking this hotel.

Room Tip: not worth the money. room is very outdated. no coffee maker and fridge. no free Wi-Fi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennyzhang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kek98, Director of Sales at New York Hilton Midtown, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Jenny,

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay with us via TripAdvisor. We appreciate your honest input on the look and feel of our guestrooms and we will keep your suggestion for additional in-room amenities in mind as we constantly look for ways to improve your satisfaction. We hope you will return to stay with us the next time you are in the area so we may show you the quality hotel experience you expect from our family of hotels.

Thank you,
Kellie A Cahill, CMP
Director of Marketing
NYCNH_DS@Hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New York City hotels

Stratford, CT
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

I was booked in the midtown Hilton because it was the official event hotel for the NYC Triathlon. I was surprised to find no refrigerator or coffee maker in the room. Athletes had to be en route to the event by 4 am, so there was no place in the hotel to get coffee in the morning except to take a chance on the mystery meat wagons parked on 6th ave or walk to a 24 hour bodega a block away. Otherwise hotel was alright. Front desk man was very polite, professional and accommodating. Only marked this "average" because of the price - expect more for the big bucks.

Room Tip: Find out the amenities before you go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xcskimom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Stayed here with family for business. Was attending a conference nearby and family would wander around the city. Within walking distance of Broadway/Times Square, southeast portion of Central Park, Moma, etc. Further walks include Museum mile (about a mile away) and the NY Public Library. Taxis are always available (lined up outside) for sites further away or to the airport. Or can take the subway (plenty of subway stops for different lines nearby).

Sleep quality was excellent. No street noise at all (although we were on 34 which might have helped) so slept like a baby.

Hotel is LARGE. Largest in NYC and the lobby was crowded but check-in line moved reasonably quick. Rooms were very clean and there was constant cleaning going on on my floor. Bathroom was a little small but this is what I would expect in NYC (or any European city also for that matter). Gym was excellent. Large and the best treadmills I've ever seen in a hotel gym (too hot that evening to go running outside). I feared the gym would be packed based on the size of the hotel but was actually rather empty surprisingly.

Executive lounge had a good selection of bread, etc. for breakfast. No free wine or beer though during evening reception hours (first time I saw this at a Hilton lounge).

Also special thanks to the security staff. Daughter wandered off when we were walking to the elevator and security was very good in assisting us in finding her. Luckily, we found her quickly. So, if you ever lose a child (that you want back), Hilton Midtown is the place for it. ;-)

So, would I stay here again. Certainly. Might try a different Hilton just for variety but this one was perfectly fine and met my expectations.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LiangShanBo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Good location - thats about the best i can say. Reception looks fine although chaotic (there was even a dog in a kennel!), rooms are very tired. No drinking water provided in the rooms and when i asked at reception i was told to buy it from the gift shop. We booked this as part of a Cunard pre cruise package - think its time Cunard checked this one out

Green Features: They dont provide bottled water, gowns or slippers - i guess that environmentally friendly?
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank royston63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gp703
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We visited for one night the 4th of July weekend before our cruise to Bermuda. I booked two rooms one for my mother-in-law and one for my wife, 7 year old son and me. I am a Hilton Diamond going on 20 years, so i know when a property does well and when it falls short.

Overall the hotel is in a good location. My wife wanted to see the weekend today show, and it was a 5 block walk. We had dinner at Blue Hill (fabulous!) in Greenwich Village, and it was a 20 minute cab ride.

To get two rooms together, we ended up on a non Executive Floor, and the hotel was hosting a lot of groups of kids. Generally they were well behaved and quiet. If they were loud, the doors provided enough insulation so we didn't hear them. The rooms were spacious, and we had a pull-out sofa for our son.

The lounge is on the Lobby level, and it was the most chaotic lounge I have ever visited. The breakfast selection had a good variety including hard boiled eggs. There was fruit; a wide assortment of bread, muffins, and bagels; juice, coffee and cereal. There were two espresso/latte machines and regular coffee. The coffee was very hot, but they weren't any huggies to put outside the cup to make it more convenient to carry.

I just wish they had the lounge on the 50th floor where the view was spectacular and really made you feel you were in New York.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gp703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southam, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 July 2013

The Hilton in New York Mid Town was completely disrupted by the event that you had going on with many rude and pushy young girls running around, blocking up the hotel and screaming. I sometimes had to wait up to 10 minutes to get a lift due to these groups. On several occasions they pushed past me to get into the lift, whilst i and other guests were trying to get out. The room (3054) smelt and was tired, there was black mold growing in the bathroom. Overall it was cramped. The bathroom had no bath tub. There was no mini bar in the room. If you wanted water for drinking you had to ring and request it, which took up to 20 minutes to arrive. This is not normal for a hotel for anything except a budget motel. There were no snacks in the room or fresh fruit. The food in the restaurant was of poor quality. Simple things like offering freshly squeezed fruit juice, or freshly cooked eggs would add a lot to the current poor experience. My overall feeling was of being a commodity rather than a guest. If i can avoid staying here in future i will.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Thomas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#108 of 467 in New York City
6,778 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#152 of 467 in New York City
7,069 reviews
Midtown
Grand Hyatt New York
Grand Hyatt New York
#321 of 467 in New York City
8,700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#95 of 467 in New York City
4,321 reviews
Midtown
The Hilton Club - New York
The Hilton Club - New York
#203 of 467 in New York City
637 reviews
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#260 of 467 in New York City
4,636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New York Hilton Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York Hilton Midtown

Property: New York Hilton Midtown
Address: 1335 Avenue of the Americas, 6th Avenue at 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019-6078
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#69 Green Hotel in New York City
#202 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#238 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — New York Hilton Midtown 4*
Number of rooms: 1932
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated international hotel designed for both the business and leisure traveler, the New York Hilton Midtown is located in the midst of New York City’s business headquarters and media centers, conveniently near Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, and the Museum of Modern Art, just one block from Fifth Avenue shopping, and a short stroll to Times Square, Broadway theatres, Central Park, and many more cultural attractions for which New York is famous. Equipped with modern conveniences to meet all your business and travel needs, the hotel features extensive facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your New York Hilton Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton New York Hotel New York City
Hilton New York City
New York Hilton
New York City Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing