We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel - Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
New York Hilton Midtown
Ranked #323 of 468 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 17 November 2013

I have just returned from spending a week at the Hilton Midtown, New York. Overall it is a very good hotel which is in a fantastic location.

Upon arrival in the main reception area, I was greeted by staff and had to wait only a moment to check-in. I was upgraded to a room which was "recently refurbished". The room was a good size given it contained two double beds, full desk unit and side table/chairs. Most of the fixtures and fittings were of a good quality with a mid-size bathroom. The fixtures felt relatively new around the room and the wide-screen TV with ESPN and HBO was good.

The location is the big sell for this hotel. It is a few moments from the main shops of 5th Ave, 10 minute walk to Central Park and has good access to most Subway lines. If you need a taxi, or limousine, you can quite easily book one. Although the hotel has no formal restaurant, the Herb Fresh area does offer an opportunity to get food, although you don't really need it as there are plenty of good places to eat/drink nearby and a Starbucks across the street. The staff were very friendly throughout, all offering help and assistance to any questions I had during my stay.

However I do have a couple of criticisms. I found the room fixtures - although claiming to be new - quite tatty in places already. Several cupboards just didn't open and one handle was hanging off the wardrobe. The lights in the room are really poor, it needs full ceiling lights throughout not just two in the entrance and subsequent tiny lamps dotted around the room. The walls are incredibly thin - it was very easy to hear people in rooms either side. The lack of free wi-fi is also a real negative, as is the main entrance lobby which can feel like you are navigating a main street - some days there seemed to be a hundred or so people just hanging around in the lobby. I expected to hear some road noise from the room, but we were situated overlooking the AC units which were so noisy it did make sleeping slightly more difficult.

On the whole though I would say this is a good hotel, rooms are big and clean and the location is excellent. I would certainly give consideration to staying in this hotel on my return to New York.

Room Tip: Try and get a room high up to avoid a/c unit noise and road noise.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobFerrari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kek98, Director of Sales at New York Hilton Midtown, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate that you enjoyed your stay. We will reach out to you to find out what room you were in to determine if we need to go up and repair your items mentioned. Love to hear that the location worked for you and look forward to hosting you again. Thank you again.

Thank you,

Kellie Cahill, CMP
NYCNH_DS@hilton.com
Director of Marketing
New York Hilton Midtown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (10,387)
There are newer reviews for New York Hilton Midtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,098 - 5,104 of 10,388 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2013

A couple of years ago, the New York Hilton began a deliberate policy of removing all services and amenities. What had been a decent business hotel, now offers less than guests receive at a Motel 6. There is NO room service. That's right - you fly in and arrive at 11:00 at night, no room service. Fprget about making yourself a cup of coffee, there are no coffee makers in the room. There's no refrigerator either. When I arrived the phone wasn't working. I got back in the elevator (since I could not call) and, when I reported it, I was told that it would be fixed the next day. When I returned from th office the next evening, the phone still didn't work. When I again went down to report it, I was told that the technicians go home at 5:00. if you have a tchnical problem after 5:00, you're out of luck. A friend of mine who was staying at the hotel as the head of a group of about 120 hotel guests had reserved a room for himself, hs wife and their daughter, who was to sleep on a pull out couch. When they went to pull out the bed to go to sleep, it had no sheets. Bathrobes? Don't be silly -- there are no bathrobes. Checking in or out is a major time sink, because the registration desk is understafrfed. And don't think that this shabby treatment is for the one-time visitor. I am a "diamond level" guest because I stay at Hiltons so often. The front desk has a diamond check-in lane. But it is no longer staffed. The hotel staff are sympathetic.. They know the guests range from unhappy to furious; they've heard it all before. But they can't provide services that the hotel does not make available.

.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3254_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kek98, Director of Sales at New York Hilton Midtown, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Please accept our sincere apologies for the disappointing experience of your recent stay. We know our guests deserve the best and we will use your comments as we continually evolve to best meet and exceed our guests' expectations. We have shared your comments on our guestroom appointment and amenities with our team and we will keep them in mind as we look for new ways to ensure guest satisfaction. Should you return to our area in the future, we would love to have you back so we may better demonstrate the complete quality stay you expect and deserve as a valued HHonors member.

Thank you,

Kellie Cahill, CMP
NYCNH_DS@hilton.com
Director of Marketing
New York Hilton Midtown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Stayed here with hubby for a conference. The hotel is average. The location is great. Within walking distance to the David Letterman Show, Times Square, Rockefeller Center, Wendy Williams Show, theater. Across Ziegfield Theatre, where the Last Vegas premier was shown.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
Thank TrinaWal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kek98, Director of Sales at New York Hilton Midtown, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Thank you for staying with us. The hotel is happy to hear that the location worked when you joined your family on travel. We look forward to hosting you again. Thank you again.

Thank you,

Kellie Cahill, CMP
NYCNH_DS@hilton.com
Director of Marketing
New York Hilton Midtown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Always walked past this hotel when in NY so this year thought I would give it a go. It was more cost effective than my usual choice. It is also in the ideal midtown location.

I was expecting a few more facilities and more of a glitzy interior. However, the room was very big for Manhattan and was big generally. It was very clean. The housekeeping staff on the corridors were very friendly and helpful, even early in the morning.

All in a good central hotel. Its not the Peninsula or the Four Seasons but it is an ideal hotel for work or holiday.

Room Tip: I had a double queen [might have been king] room on the 20th floor and it was very spacious.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kek98, Director of Sales at New York Hilton Midtown, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience at the New York Hilton. Glad to heat that the hotel was a good location for your visit. We will share your reviews with the housekeeping staff. Thank you again.

Thank you,

Kellie Cahill, CMP
NYCNH_DS@hilton.com
Director of Marketing
New York Hilton Midtown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

The hotel is well located especially for those coming to New York for the first time - easy links to uptown, downtown and many attractions.
The hotel in itself though has not been renovated in years it seems - quite shabby and the photos on the website of the bars and lobby are not indicative of reality. The lobby and dining areas are constantly noisy and resemble a train station no matter what time of day/night which is not something that should be associated with a 4 star hotel in my experience.
Our two bedrooms were very spacious and quiet however again, quite shabby and the bathrooms are tiny.
Also, the website and our online deal bosted free wi-fi however this is only in the lobby area and has to be paid for in the rooms.

Room Tip: As stated above, the rooms are all the same - large and for the most part clean however the bathroom...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CiaraF F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Short on towels and sheets. We actually had to make up the pull out sofa ourselves. No mattress, just foam pads. Bathroom not very clean. Charged for luggage check in and check out to hold the bags. Held luggage was just everywhere with no real security. Big problem. Although location was great for us, I don't think I would recommend it others.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Judi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

If you fancy a nice lobby with nice sitting place, calm, comfy, elegant......this is not that place. It is more like busy lobby like in shopping mall or lobby of office area. Huge hotel with many functions, conferences, groups. But regardless the traffic, service was good and efficient. Move, move, move.
I got breakfast ticket and it is just to grab muffin/pastry and coffee at coffee shop. But it's ok.
Room was nice, big for manhattan standard, up to Hilton standard. Despite the busy lobby, room floor was calm and peaceful. Lift was fast.
When I asked help to pick luggage from my room, bellboy was fast and friendly.
One thing to improve is to add more seats at lobby so guest can wait comfortably.
Hotel located at best spot. Surrounded by deli for anything you want to grab and eat. Short stroll away from Central Park, minutes from shopping strip of 5tf ave. Less than 10 min to theaters in Broadway. Access to metro is easy just a minute walk and you can commute by subway to any point of Manhattan.
Will I come back to stay here? Definitely!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#109 of 468 in New York City
6,850 reviews
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#97 of 468 in New York City
4,370 reviews
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#266 of 468 in New York City
4,729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Grand Hyatt New York
Grand Hyatt New York
#325 of 468 in New York City
8,808 reviews
Midtown
Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel
Sheraton New York Times Square H...
#286 of 468 in New York City
8,078 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#144 of 468 in New York City
7,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New York Hilton Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York Hilton Midtown

Address: 1335 Avenue of the Americas, 6th Avenue at 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019-6078
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#69 Green Hotel in New York City
#203 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#237 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £193 - £470 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — New York Hilton Midtown 4*
Number of rooms: 1932
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated international hotel designed for both the business and leisure traveler, the New York Hilton Midtown is located in the midst of New York City’s business headquarters and media centers, conveniently near Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, and the Museum of Modern Art, just one block from Fifth Avenue shopping, and a short stroll to Times Square, Broadway theatres, Central Park, and many more cultural attractions for which New York is famous. Equipped with modern conveniences to meet all your business and travel needs, the hotel features extensive facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your New York Hilton Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton New York Hotel New York City
Hilton New York City
New York Hilton
New York City Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing