We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Largest, But not Best” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of New York Hilton Midtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
New York Hilton Midtown
Ranked #325 of 463 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Newburgh, Indiana
Level Contributor
97 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Largest, But not Best”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

I am a guest of this property one or two times a year, mainly because it is the location of meetings and other functions. While the location is great, the upkeep of the property has declined noticeably in recent years. The property is older, so the rooms are small by more modern standards. My wife and I stayed at this property on Dec. 18, 2013. The bath was non functional and the shower only partially so. The room was small and the bathroom tiny. The lobby area is being refurbished, so shoud be good in the future. There are certainly much better and more reasonable places to stay in Manhatten. Until the rooms are upgraded, I would suggest to look elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank janna39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

9,524 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,320
    3,662
    2,082
    957
    503
See reviews for
2,814
2,112
449
2,501
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,708)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

Have been attending a conf here each Dec for the last couple of years. The hotel is nice, and seems to try to keep rooms fresh and modern, but really is over priced. Construction on going has the lobby to elevator system a mess during a busy Dec time frame. Services such as bag check by bell service charging $3.50 per bag is outrageous when most luxury hotels offer free of charge. They have changed the breakfast restaurant to a buffett only (no a la carte), which is grossly over priced as well.

I observed several people who attended the conf but chose to stay at other hotels near-by, guessing the pricing was a factor in that as well.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Terri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kek98, Director of Sales at New York Hilton Midtown, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Terri,

Thank you for sharing this quick feedback on your recent stay with us via TripAdvisor. We appreciate your honest input on our value and appointment and we will keep your comments in mind as we constantly look for new ways to improve our guests' experience. We hope you will return to stay with us the next time you are in town so we may better demonstrate the complete quality stay you expect and deserve.

Thank you,
New York Hilton Midtown
Director of Marketing
NYCNH_DS@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New York City hotels

Level Contributor
73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

I was really expecting more from a flagship Hilton in Manhattan especially for the price. The staff are extremely guest-oriented, friendly, and accommodating. The room, however, was a bit tired, especially for the price. I do not expect to pay over $600/night for a loose door knob on the bathroom door, chips and stained chalk in the shower, and a bed that was clearly broken. I booked an "executive suite" to accommodate my immediate family for a quick weekend in NYC. Along with the executive suite we received complimentary breakfast, which although had good coffee, fresh fruit, and nice pastries, was certainly not anything over the top. Again, at this price point, if your executive suite includes breakfast, it really would not be difficult to add a few hot items to the buffet. There were two beds in the bedroom part of our suite and one of them was clearly broken. My parents, unfortunately, ended up with that bed and slept horribly. I sat down on it the next morning and sunk several inches. When I reported this at check-out, the front desk staff member was extremely sympathetic and took his time logging the information on the bed into some sort of database. He also took $50 off my bill without my asking for it which was a nice gesture, but again, I wonder how long the bed had been broken. Next time in NYC, I will seek out a different option.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChampCamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roetgen, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

I have infrequently stayed at this hotel since the late '90s - but may not again. For $680 a night I was given a room so small that I could not get my large bag open. I had to get an upgrade which was then fine.
There were just too many people staying for the staff to offer any sort of personal service, although they were friendly - it is like being in a railway station.
The Pret a Manger style bread and snack shop, where you buy something you can get at every street corner and then take your paper bag and eat at a seat if you can find one just does not meet my idea of a Hilton.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyHarvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

In my last stay at the midtown hilton i found the lounge go back in time... Too small for all of the HHONORS visitors andfor some of the products you have to pay. There are Limited selection and variety. The room i got was good but there was Maintenance work that Interferes with the corridor.
As a diamond member i am sure that the hotel can do more for his Loyal customers!
In one sentence you could say there is no justification for the Money. Too expensive

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Haim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new hope Pa, United States
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

No in room coffee maker, rooms were clean, lobby is great, service staff is good. Prices are ridiculous for what was received in value. Sheets were clean and pillows comfortable. TV remote was hard to operate

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Jack F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brazil
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013 via mobile

To crowd. Rooms could be better cleaned. Just one small coffee shop. Always huge lines for breakfast and for elevators. Better options nearby Chelsea and meetpacking districts. It's a about 2000 rooms. Clerks and staff are friendly but they simple could not handle the overload.

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Mr_Fragoas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Financial District
Millenium Hilton
Millenium Hilton
#229 of 463 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,217 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#140 of 463 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,557 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#97 of 463 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#87 of 463 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,008 reviews
Midtown
Millennium Broadway Hotel New York
Millennium Broadway Hotel New Yo...
#277 of 463 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,927 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Squa...
#157 of 463 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New York Hilton Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York Hilton Midtown

Property: New York Hilton Midtown
Address: 1335 Avenue of the Americas, 6th Avenue at 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#68 Green Hotel in New York City
#200 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#243 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — New York Hilton Midtown 4*
Number of rooms: 1932
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated international hotel designed for both the business and leisure traveler, the New York Hilton Midtown is located in the midst of New York City’s business headquarters and media centers, conveniently near Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, and the Museum of Modern Art, just one block from Fifth Avenue shopping, and a short stroll to Times Square, Broadway theatres, Central Park, and many more cultural attractions for which New York is famous. Equipped with modern conveniences to meet all your business and travel needs, the hotel features extensive facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Hilton Hotels Direct, Southall Travel and Hotels.com so you can book your New York Hilton Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton New York Hotel New York City
Hilton New York City
New York Hilton
New York City Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing