We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms dont justify the price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
New York Hilton Midtown
Ranked #323 of 468 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stayed at the Hilton midtown for 6 nights in the 3rd week of June.
I write this review with mixed feelings as on one hand, I have a hotel with excellent service and on yhe other hand I have a hoyel with very outdated rooms, cramped and which definitely dont justify the price.
If it were not for the excellent location and yhe exceptionally high level of service, I would most definitely not stay here.
Cons
1. Rooms are very tiny, with barely any walking space if you have luggage.
We had a 5 yr old and with the sofa cum bed open at night, we couldnt even open the drapes because the window was diffucult to get too.
2. No mini fridge
3. No electric kettle
4. Tiny cramped bathroom with a shower with no basics like even a towel rod. If the door to the bathroom is
open, its difficult to even turn around.
5. The lobby was crowded like anything on all the days we were there. Very
noisy with lots of people around. Its like a party!

Pros

1. The level of service is outstanding. A special mention to MrJake Mustian
Security Administrator Assistant.
My husband had left our camera bag in the room with the lens inside. We called the hotel and were told very categorically that they hadnt found anything in our room and would have it on record. Just out of the lark, I mailed the hotel and within a day, there was a mail from Jacob informing me about the bag. He had managed to trace it and even offered to mail it to our family free of cost.
I was really impressed with
his level of honesty and
integrity.
The management, kindly do make note of this.
Thank you Mr Jacob once again for your help.
2. The concierge was also very helpful with their suggestions and extremely pleasant.
3. Their is an herb kitchen right in the lobby, perfect to grab a cup of coffee or sandwiches. They have an excellent cheesecake:)
On all the days that we were here, we picked up our breakfast from here.There is also an excellent breakfast place right across the hotel and a lovely deli on 55th street. So I would advise not wasting money on the expensive breakfast served at the hotel, which is very good but highly over priced in my opinion at $45 per person.
I loved this hotel for the location and for the service..special thanks to Jacob again..but for the price, I didnt care for the rooms at all. I feel at least the basics should be
in place.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank efscrfrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (10,388)
There are newer reviews for New York Hilton Midtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,426 - 4,432 of 10,388 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2014

The Hilton NYC Midtown is a massive operation - and they are good at it too. The hotel is really doing a pretty good job managing so many customers - business travelers, tourists, etc. But along the way some things are lost - personal touch, service excellence, etc.
I stayed at the hotel for 3 nights. The room was good - although the lack of a refrigerator is a pretty big inconvenience. Check-in and check-out were efficient but they left me feeling like being processed on a production line (I was not greeted as a Diamond member). A request for a mere 2pm late checkout was denied with bruised feeling. Luggage storage takes a few bucks, some sweat and self-esteem too. The executive lounge was extremely crowded too.
All things considered, I'll probably return to Hilton NYC Midtown if there's no other choice. You can expect an OK stay but forget about anything memorable....

Room Tip: No refrigerator in room.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank DT94024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Central to everything! easy walking everywhere. Close to subways, times square, central park, etc. Spring for the extra few dollars a room and stay on the executive floor. Breakfast & snacks included.

Room Tip: Recommend executive floors. "Lounge" with breakfast, beverages & snacks access all day...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Kari K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This is the third time at the Hilton Hotel and it was not a great experience. The location is extremely closed for our client business. It is only a few blocks from St. Patrick's Cathedral, Times Square, Central Park, Rockefeller Center, and the Milos Restaurant which we love. I booked this hotel through Hotels.com and on the description it said premium room with king size bed. When we finally got to the reception (20 minutes in line), we were informed that we have a queen bed. The hotels attitude is the rooms are booked as one bed. (One bed means any size). The rooms (standard room with one kind of queen size bed) was smaller than expected with a much smaller bathroom. We were lucky to get two rooms that have been renovated. The toilet area was very crowded and almost made it impossible to reach the flush mechanism.

The service was good and the wifi is slow and pricey. The location of the hotel is very convenient for driving also. Views are not as great as other close by hotels. Not all floors and rooms are renovated, so ask for an updated room. The only negative was the bathroom did not have space to place personal toiletries. I had to call the front desk for toiletries missing from the bathroom. The hotel was very quiet, very unlike most hotels which are noisy due to the traffic in NYC. If you book with Hotels.com you will get one bed!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Definitely not king size.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room in renovated floors and double check on bed size.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Thermotech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

My family has stayed here several times. We like the location - we have stayed in Times Square before and found it too busy. This is only a short walk away from many NYC attractions. We will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CanadianTraveller3B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire A, Director of Sales at New York Hilton Midtown, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear Jknight910,

Thank you for reviewing your Fourth of July stay at the New York Hilton Midtown. It was our pleasure to help make the occasion special, and we look forward to welcoming you back in August. As with your first stay, you can count on superior convenience, comfort, and efficiency with each subsequent visit. In hopes of making your return stay even better, please feel free to reach out prior to departure if you need anything at all.

NYCNH_DS@hilton.com
New York Hilton Midtown
Kellie Cahill
Director of Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The rooms were incredibly dirty, and for what you are paying per night, I wouldn't suggest it. Don't be fooled by the lobby. And if you do eat there, watch out. . . they will try to slide the 18% gratuity onto your check without a mention. I was not pleased.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Melissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We spent three nights over the July 4th weekend at the Hilton and I highly recommend the hotel. The hotel is better than the reviews. First, I have stayed at most of the “great” chain hotels in the city (i.e. Doubletree, Marriott MQ, etc.) and the location of this Hilton worked better for me. 10 minutes to Times Square and 15 minutes to Central Park. Also, while NYC is crowded, this location had a less crowded feel.

Other specifics….
1. Check-in and out was easy. A late check-out was no problem.

2. $42.33 from LGA with tip.

3. Executive lounge, while crowded, was not a problem. Hilton had staff on hand to find you a table. The continental breakfast was adequate.

4. The elevator system is easy. You get on one elevator and do not need to transfer. If you have stayed on Times Square, you know what I am talking about.

5. Taxis were easy to get when leaving for the airport.

6. Internet was excellent both in the room and in the executive lounge.

I am back in NYC next month and will be staying at the Hilton Midtown again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jknight910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#109 of 468 in New York City
6,850 reviews
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#97 of 468 in New York City
4,372 reviews
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#266 of 468 in New York City
4,729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Grand Hyatt New York
Grand Hyatt New York
#325 of 468 in New York City
8,811 reviews
Midtown
Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel
Sheraton New York Times Square H...
#286 of 468 in New York City
8,077 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#144 of 468 in New York City
7,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New York Hilton Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York Hilton Midtown

Address: 1335 Avenue of the Americas, 6th Avenue at 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019-6078
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#69 Green Hotel in New York City
#203 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#237 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £193 - £470 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — New York Hilton Midtown 4*
Number of rooms: 1932
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated international hotel designed for both the business and leisure traveler, the New York Hilton Midtown is located in the midst of New York City’s business headquarters and media centers, conveniently near Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, and the Museum of Modern Art, just one block from Fifth Avenue shopping, and a short stroll to Times Square, Broadway theatres, Central Park, and many more cultural attractions for which New York is famous. Equipped with modern conveniences to meet all your business and travel needs, the hotel features extensive facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your New York Hilton Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton New York Hotel New York City
Hilton New York City
New York Hilton
New York City Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing