We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel in Midtown”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
New York Hilton Midtown
Ranked #325 of 468 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Yukon, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
144 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good hotel in Midtown”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Stayed here on numerous occasions and this is my hotel of choice for NYC. Great location and close to all things happening in midtown. From check in, to the clean rooms, to the executive lounge, to the fitness center, thus property has everything. Check in was a breeze. Got to my room and found it clean and comfy. Executive lounge food is good. A Starbucks is across 6th Avenue on 53rd. Rooms appear to have been updated. Hotel is large in terms of number of rooms but don't let this deter you. It is a good hotel.

Room Tip: Stay high up to avoid street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 417MikeK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

10,046 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,472
    3,845
    2,183
    1,006
    540
See reviews for
2,965
2,235
464
2,673
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,782)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We recently stayed in the Hilton Midtown, once on the 27th June for 1 night, then on the 3rd July 7 nights.
The front desk greeted us with smiles and politeness, we arrived early in the morning and
they had a room for us ready, without having to wait until 4pm which was after a cruise.
Everything we had asked for we got, nothing was to much for them.
The rooms were lovely and very clean.
The only person who I thought was not very polite was the man on desk where one books trips with.
But then I was told that they have nothing to do with the Hilton. That explains it
But a must stay, location is great.

Room Tip: The first room we had was on the 33rd floor. The second room we had was on the 15th Floor. Both go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank helen348
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scranton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Worst hotel I've ever stayed at in my life, we stayed on the 12th floor near the elevator with two adjoining rooms. When we entered the room we noticed blood on the bed sheets which was disgusting, our second room had a king bed with a pull out couch which we were going use for additional sleeping space. When we opened the pull out couch we noticed a giant mold spot with black mold growing on the mattress (our group consisted of two nurses and a physician who identified the mold upon sight). We immediately called management who fought back and forth with us for over 2 hours, we missed our dinner plans, the front desk wasn't concerned in the slightest that there was mold in our room. As a severe asthma sufferer this was unacceptable. The hotel wanted to charge us a cancellation fee because we didn't want the room with mold anymore, and only after two hours of speaking to every manager available were we able to get slightly compensated. Please do yourself a favor and never stay at this hotel, the customer service was horrific and the rooms were disgusting. When went went down stairs to speak to the manager from the front desk he stared at us blankly when we explained how disappointed we were with our stay. I will never again stay at any hotel from the hilton chain.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank NatalieZepp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kek98, Director of Sales at New York Hilton Midtown, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Natalie,

I want to apologize for the unfortunate experience that you had during your recent stay at our hotel. Please know that the health and safety of our guests is of the utmost importance and is always a focal point of our operations in order to continue providing our guests with a great experience. We work closely with our housekeeping team to address and rectify any situation such as this that might occur and apologize for the challenges you had with your room. We have reviewed your comments with our staff and promise the situation has been addressed. We hope you will give us another opportunity to impress should you return to our area in the future and welcome you to contact our offices directly if we maybe of any additional assistance. We are reaching out to you directly to address.

Thank you,


NYCNH_DS@hilton.com
New York Hilton Midtown
Kellie Cahill
Director of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New York City hotels

riverton,utah
Level Contributor
592 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We just recently returned from a little jaunt to the big apple and had a very good experience at this Hotel ..We went to Central Park , Rockefeller Center, Times square and even took in a broadway show( Wicked) and we walked to all of them. The rooms were good and we upgraded to executive level to have the light breakfast and dinner included in our room price.. (well worth it)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cannonater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This hotel is in a very central New York. It's on 6th avenue and MoMA of 5th avenue is just one block from the hotel.
Other major places to visit are also in walking distance and the subway stations were very close to take us to everywhere.
We only had 4 days in New York, so the location advantage worked for us a lot.
Free-breakfast option can be added only by booking the executive room, but without this option could work as there is a mini deli store on the hotel ground floor and behind of the hotel.
However, executive room option is still good as you can get into the lounge. We used this lounge many times to have a break while we are doing sightseeing.

Service was good, too, with the very kind staffs. They did not frown at all even if we called the front desk again and again for the minor things like the we do not know how to make the shower work.
Only thing was that we could not use wi-fi in our room.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natsuko A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for a week long convention and brought the family along. The hotel is in a great location. Down side was there was no COFFEE in the room. It would have been nice to have a mini fridge and microwave since we were there a week. Another thing is the house keeping does NOT return, so if you want your room cleaned let them in!!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George Town, Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
40 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This is the most convenient location for me when visiting NYC. I would really love to stay in this hotel all the time, but its just not worth the money (and i am not even spending my own money)...
Still no coffee machines or any amenities in the room, still charging for wifi, no room service, and the cafeteria downstairs is crowded, overpriced and mediocre quality.
Although its a longer walk (for me), i would recommend the new Hyatt a few blocks south or one of the Hilton Garden Inns nearby. I still find it very confusing: the Garden Inns have nicer rooms, in room coffee and other services, free internet, and yet they cost less than the Hilton.
Its too bad, but it appears Hilton does not review Trip advisor reviews, i would love to know what they are thinking! Are they counting on people just staying at the Hilton on expense accounts and not caring what they pay?

Room Tip: there are at least three room 'states'; the old, terrible rooms you want to avoid, the rooms...
See more room tips
Green Features: terrible. Disposable everything at the cafeteria, with 1000's of guests every single day filing garbage cans with plastic. Not a reusable coffee cup or plate on the premises as far as i can tell.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kek98, Director of Sales at New York Hilton Midtown, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you for reaching out to us via TripAdvisor. Please know that your satisfaction is of the utmost importance to us, and we will keep your comments on value and amenities in mind as we constantly look for ways to improve our guests' satisfaction. We are dedicated to providing quality hospitality and accommodations, and look forward to your next visit to the city so we may better demonstrate our commitment to your satisfaction.

Thank you,
NYCNH_DS@hilton.com
New York Hilton Midtown
Kellie Cahill
Director of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#89 of 468 in New York City
4,241 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#106 of 468 in New York City
6,626 reviews
Midtown
The Hilton Club - New York
The Hilton Club - New York
#203 of 468 in New York City
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#153 of 468 in New York City
6,927 reviews
Midtown
Grand Hyatt New York
Grand Hyatt New York
#320 of 468 in New York City
8,459 reviews
Midtown
Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel
Sheraton New York Times Square H...
#290 of 468 in New York City
7,553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New York Hilton Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York Hilton Midtown

Property: New York Hilton Midtown
Address: 1335 Avenue of the Americas, 6th Avenue at 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019-6078
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#68 Green Hotel in New York City
#201 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#242 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — New York Hilton Midtown 4*
Number of rooms: 1932
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated international hotel designed for both the business and leisure traveler, the New York Hilton Midtown is located in the midst of New York City’s business headquarters and media centers, conveniently near Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, and the Museum of Modern Art, just one block from Fifth Avenue shopping, and a short stroll to Times Square, Broadway theatres, Central Park, and many more cultural attractions for which New York is famous. Equipped with modern conveniences to meet all your business and travel needs, the hotel features extensive facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your New York Hilton Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton New York Hotel New York City
Hilton New York City
New York Hilton
New York City Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing