We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing Visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
New York Hilton Midtown
Ranked #324 of 467 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Bernville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Disappointing Visit”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

I've stayed at this hotel many times and at Hilton's more times than I can measure. This hotel is big, it's a group travel hotel and it's in New York. You know that going in. The rooms are fine, the common space sterile--it's all what you might expect. Our arrival last weekend was met by an over 30 minute wait to check in. It would appear that the hotel was filling up with a convention but that nobody had told the front desk manager. A 30 minute wait at a Hilton check-in is unacceptable. To their credit, some folks brought around bottled water, but I'd rather have seen them behind check-in terminals. Very disappointing.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kevin19506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kellie C, Director of Sales at New York Hilton Midtown, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Kevin,

Thank you for your feedback and continued loyalty to Hilton Hotels & Resorts. We are very sorry to hear that you experienced an unusually long wait at check-in. We are always striving to improve the guest experience, and will be reviewing our check-in procedures to try to improve efficiency. We hope that the rest of your stay made up for the unfortunate first impression, and we look forward to serving you again soon.

NYCNH_DS@hilton.com
New York Hilton Midtown
Kellie Cahill
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

9,841 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,415
    3,768
    2,144
    992
    522
See reviews for
2,910
2,175
456
2,621
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,762)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ventura, CA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

We visited for 4 days with our two teenage daughters age 18 & 16. The room fit 4 of us comfortably but the bathroom did not. Only 1 person fit comfortably in the bathroom but that's not unusual in N.Y. We really loved the location of this hotel. We walked to Central Park, The Met, MoMA, Times Square and the theater district. The latter was a bit farther than I would have preferred in heals but it was fine. Carnegie Hall is also close by as well as several very good restaurants. We ate in on a few occasions and got some amazing food from Carnegie Deli and Ray's Pizza just a few blocks away. The location is really the best thing about this hotel. The rooms and hallways could use some updating. Our room had peeling wall paper, but the bed and linens were comfortable and the TV and air conditioning worked well. Our least favorite was the noise in the lobby. It was always loud with what seemed like an endless stream of groups. Foreign groups, teen groups, etc. LOTS of noise and these folks were allowed to congregate and block walk ways in the lobby. After enjoying the hustle and bustle of the city it was not comforting to come back to the hotel and be bombarded by the excessive noise in the lobby. All in all, it was a great experience and I'd recommend this hotel for it's location.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room that faces central park. The extra window made the room feel bigger and the v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angmhecht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

A large hotel in a great location situated walking distance of Central Park and Times Square and on a good subway route to visit Downtown and Uptown NYC too. We had a good sized room on the 20th floor, with two doubles beds, and everything seemed clean and in good working order.

The free hotel WiFi only extended to the lobby and not the rooms which was a shame and we'd have expected more, but not a deal breaker. For our busy family stay of 3 nights the location was perfect and we had no complaints other than the lack of room WiFi.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pilsner78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

After reading some of the other reviews , I have to admit I was a little worried about staying here ....however, for us it was a great stay.We booked the Executive Level which has newly remodelled rooms, which are really nice. Comfortable, very clean ,beautiful linens and amazing views. Much more spacious than we expected. Bathrooms are a little compact but also newly tiled etc. so no problems there. The hotel was very busy but despite this front desk staff ,bellmen and lounge staff were all very pleasant and friendly.The Executive Lounge was really busy ,especially for breakfast but the staff handled it very well with assigned seating and we never had to wait more than a few minutes for a table.The coffee machine was a nice extra touch.As other reviewers have said the location is unbeatable.We walked everywhere and when we went further afield the doorman was very helpful in getting a taxi for us within moments. Next time we go to New York we will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldtravelx4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kellie C, Director of Sales at New York Hilton Midtown, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Worldtravelx4,

Thanks for choosing the New York Hilton Midtown for your recent visit. It's always great to hear that everything is running smoothly and that our staff is helpful and friendly. As you noted, regardless of occupancy level, we strive to provide the same exceptional experience for all of our guests. We're looking forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to the Big Apple.

NYCNH_DS@hilton.com
New York Hilton Midtown
Kellie Cahill
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for a conference in early July. It is conveniently located to great shopping on Fifth Avenue, Central Park, Times Square and via subway, just about anywhere. The rooms were a nice size, considering we were in New York City. The front desk staff and houskeeping staff were very cordial.

Word to the wise: There are NO coffee makers in the rooms - and coffee is quite expensive at the "Herb 'n Grill" in the lobby. I took my small Keurig coffee maker with me.

Do NOT be tempted by the Hilton Club offers. They tell you that there is "no hard sell" and that it's such a great opportunity (blah blah blah). It's nothing but hard sell. They drove us crazy, calling us 4 times from the time we left their presentation (which was supposed to be 90 minutes but was more like 105-110 minutes when we insisted we had to leave), through the next morning. Walk on by the Club desk and get on with your visit to NYC.

Room Tip: Don't waste your money on Executive Floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorna Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kellie C, Director of Sales at New York Hilton Midtown, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Lorna Y,

Thank you for your recent stay and your feedback. We apologize for the negative experience you had with our Hilton Club presentation. We strive to provide a pleasant experience, but it sounds like we missed the mark, and we'll certainly address these concerns with our staff. We're glad that you were otherwise able to enjoy our fantastic Midtown location and the nearby attractions, and hope you'll stay with us again in the future.

NYCNH_DS@hilton.com
New York Hilton Midtown
Kellie Cahill
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ponce Inlet, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

First time I have stayed at this hotel and will continue to stay at this hotel anytime I am in NYC. Great location; never had to take a cab except to and from the airport. Close to Times Square, Broadway, 5th Ave shopping, and Central Park. The room was spacious; especially for NYC standards. We had a corner room with two walls of windows with a great view!. The Ice Bar was a unique experience; everything made of ice. Would highly recommend this property for anyone traveling to NY.

Room Tip: Corner room have great views with lots of windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anneb1229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Cons: The room was drab and depressing, with the kind of carpet you don't want to walk on with bare feet. The room smelled damp and mildewy. No refrigerators or coffee makers. Wifi is $18.95 extra per day. You pay to enter the business center and pay per page printed. It cost us $18 to print out tickets for the Empire State Building for a group of 4. Pros: Good location in midtown. Suggestion: Bring a cooler and get snacks and water and basic breakfast items at Ernest Klein Market, just a block away.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
2 Thank D5192OXmariak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kek98, Director of Sales at New York Hilton Midtown, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay with us via TripAdvisor. We appreciate your honest input on our guestroom appointment and amenities and we will use your comments as we continue to evolve our guests' experience. We hope you will return to stay with us the next time you are in the city so we may better demonstrate our commitment to your satisfaction.

Thank you,
NYCNH_DS@hilton.com
New York Hilton Midtown
Kellie Cahill
Director of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New York City hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#104 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,457 reviews
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#90 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,131 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#148 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Hilton Club - New York
The Hilton Club - New York
#197 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
Midtown
Grand Hyatt New York
Grand Hyatt New York
#318 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8,223 reviews
Financial District
Millenium Hilton
Millenium Hilton
#233 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New York Hilton Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York Hilton Midtown

Property: New York Hilton Midtown
Address: 1335 Avenue of the Americas, 6th Avenue at 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019-6078
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#70 Green Hotel in New York City
#200 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#242 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — New York Hilton Midtown 4*
Number of rooms: 1932
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated international hotel designed for both the business and leisure traveler, the New York Hilton Midtown is located in the midst of New York City’s business headquarters and media centers, conveniently near Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, and the Museum of Modern Art, just one block from Fifth Avenue shopping, and a short stroll to Times Square, Broadway theatres, Central Park, and many more cultural attractions for which New York is famous. Equipped with modern conveniences to meet all your business and travel needs, the hotel features extensive facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Hotelopia, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your New York Hilton Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton New York Hotel New York City
Hilton New York City
New York Hilton
New York City Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing