We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient, clean, comfortable hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
New York Hilton Midtown
Ranked #325 of 467 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Convenient, clean, comfortable hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2006

The Hilton New York is clean, comfortable, well-located and offers excellent service and amenties. Although it seems a bit old, the lobby and certain floors have been recently renovated. Our 30th floor room came complete with mini-bar and large flat-screen TV. Although we didn't have much time, we were able to use the check-in kiosk, the taxi service, baggage hold service, and visited the hotel bar. I'd highly recommend this hotel for tourists and business travelers alike.

  • Liked — great location
  • Disliked — the hotel bar was expensive
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sykesy116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

9,854 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,417
    3,773
    2,146
    994
    524
See reviews for
2,912
2,178
457
2,626
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,764)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lewisville, TX
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2006

The Hilton New York is a great place. It is exceptionally clean and very well located. I stayed there four nights in June for a conference that was being held at the hotel. It was my first trip to NYC so the location was great for me to get out and sightsee. It's in a very nice neighborhood and I would have no problem staying there with my 4 month old daughter. When I search for a hotel my biggest concerns are 1) Safety of the surrounding area and 2) Cleanliness. This hotel was perfect in both respects. I interacted with the staff on a few occasions and found them to be polite and helpful. I greatly recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — Cleanliness/Location
  • Disliked — Loved it all
  • Tips/Secrets — Try not to pay the full rate, its expensive.
  • Stayed June 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank JarodTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2006

Our room at the Hilton had recently been redone and was nicely appointed. It was on a Hilton Honors floor. The Hilton is large convention hotel but in a great location within walking distance of Fifth Ave. shopping, Central Park and Times Square. The only complaint we heard was about the slow elevators. We ate at Swifty's on Lexington when we walked to the Frick Museum, Town (very good and within walking distance) and Blu Fin (in Times Square) before we went to the theater. All our meals were excellent and I highly recommend them.

  • Liked — room and location
  • Disliked — internet connection and our room didn't get clean on day
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank HawkeyeIn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston MA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2006

My family and I just returned from a 4 night stay at this Hilton hotel and it was a wonderful experience. Our room was very clean, and the hotel staff was very polite. One of the staff informed my sons that the LA Angels were staying there as well (we are big baseball fans) and we were able to get several autographs which made a very nice bonus to our trip!

The hotel is in a perfect location. A five minute walk in one direction will take you to Rockefeller Center, and a five minute walk in the other direction will take you to Central Park. There is a subway stop right around the corner. Radio City Music Hall is just across the street.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to families and we would stay there again. The location and the staff were both great.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — Restaurant was closed
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank prmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2006

We have stayed before and we have had issues, this year we booked up well in advance[9 months] asked for adjoining rooms.Late arrival 11pm, no adjoining rooms but on same floor, then the rooms were King beds, when you have two grown lads they do not want share same room, we did ask for one King and two doubles. We said that was not acceptable, asked to see the night manager, his attitude was terrible.
Could not care less, said we would be moved the next day as there was a lot of free rooms, never happened.
In the end we stayed on the 44th Floor and my family stayed on the 15th, two lift rides to see them
The year before I said never again, this year has confirmed it.
Oh and i got my loyalty statement this week and after telling the clerk the number, I had lost my card, he did not enter my loyalty number so I have lost my points.

Never again

  • Liked — Location is Good
  • Disliked — The whole experience
  • Tips/Secrets — Go elsewhere, Hilton do not care!!
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Jedfromtheneckup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New York City hotels

Ames, IA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2006

My husband and I stayed at the Hilton New York on the Avenue of the Americas for a weekend in NYC for our fifth anniversary. We booked it through Priceline for $120/night. It was a classy room as I'd expect from a Hilton. We had our weekend planned out so we didn't require any assistance from staff. However, the few staff we did come in contact with were kind and helpful. It is within easy walking distance of the 5th Avenue shopping, Broadway, and the subway. We were very pleased with our stay and would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Helpful?
1 Thank ShanBanan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2006

This hotel is in a great location. It is convenient to MOMA, shopping on Fifth Avenue, and the theatre district. The place is big, which is a drawback. But we had a good stay there. If you can get a good price on it, I would recommend it. It is not luxurious by any stretch, but we found it clean and comfortable. We managed to get one room key that did not work. We noticed that one of the complimentary water bottles was open as was the mouthwash.

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank strayhorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#102 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,463 reviews
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#91 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,140 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#145 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Hilton Club - New York
The Hilton Club - New York
#196 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
Midtown
Grand Hyatt New York
Grand Hyatt New York
#314 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8,240 reviews
Financial District
Millenium Hilton
Millenium Hilton
#234 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New York Hilton Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York Hilton Midtown

Property: New York Hilton Midtown
Address: 1335 Avenue of the Americas, 6th Avenue at 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019-6078
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#70 Green Hotel in New York City
#200 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#242 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — New York Hilton Midtown 4*
Number of rooms: 1932
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated international hotel designed for both the business and leisure traveler, the New York Hilton Midtown is located in the midst of New York City’s business headquarters and media centers, conveniently near Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, and the Museum of Modern Art, just one block from Fifth Avenue shopping, and a short stroll to Times Square, Broadway theatres, Central Park, and many more cultural attractions for which New York is famous. Equipped with modern conveniences to meet all your business and travel needs, the hotel features extensive facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotelopia, Agoda, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your New York Hilton Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton New York Hotel New York City
Hilton New York City
New York Hilton
New York City Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing