We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Birthday get away in New York!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Mela

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Mela
Ranked #258 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Birthday get away in New York!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

We just got back from our trip to NYC and I am bummed that it is over! I was able to get the Travel Zoo deal on Hotel Mela which made the stay possible for me to add an extra day in. It was great!!! The staff was very helpful and accommodating. Took our bags and held them when we got in early from our flight. If I called and asked for anything, it was at my door in a matter of minutes. The rooms were comfortable. We were on the second floor, so I was a little nervous about noise from the streets, but it really was fine! We brought a little sound machine and were so exhausted from the days that we slept great. The restaurant breakfast next door that was part of the package was delicious. If a deal like this comes around again, I would JUMP on it. It made the surprise birthday get away really special! The showers are a little small, but that is the only downside which was still very doable. I thank Hotel Mela for a wonderful stay and with excellent customer service. I even called from my cell from Central Park and they arranged my 9/11 Memorial tickets which were ready when we came back by the hotel. Just great and the location if you are going to shows is absolutely perfect!!! Really, thanks for making our stay so great and such a positive experience. Let us know if you have deals for returners... and we will be there!!!

Room Tip: upgrade to a larger room if you can. It is worth the extra space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Counselu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,867 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,569
    1,517
    513
    163
    105
See reviews for
563
1,976
233
426
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (626)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

Great price in a premium location (it was premium for me, as it was a walk from the train and a walk from my conference, but Times Square might not be everyone's idea of premium). Friendly staff, good sized rooms, and comfortable beds made this a totally adequate place to stay. Downsides: lower rooms have zero view, bathrooms have harsh fluorescent lights, and TV reception was bad. I'd stay here again for a cheap one or two night visit on my own but not for a special occasion.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DCGuy1414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

Hotel very well located, very close to times square, clean modern rooms although small. Sympathetic and professional staff. Breakfast at the Saju Bistro excellent.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank totito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2012

Perfect location at Times Square, fifth avenue, grand central terminal nearby. You don't need a taxi or metro to go to the empire state building, top of the rock or central park. Clean but rather small standard rooms (normal in New York and bigger than expected), ok for 2 people. No restaurant or bar in the hotel, but given the location that wasn't a problem. Luggage room available. A very good hotel and if we visit New York again we will stay at Mela. Only two negative remarks: poor free wifi (we could not skype) and when you have a room at the street you hear the "zoooom" of the airco of the other buildings.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saartje C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2012

My daughter and I stayed at this property two weeks ago for a weekend get-away. The hotel is well situated in Midtown, in the theater district, with easy walking to Grand Central. The rooms are small but adequate. The hotel staff is welcoming and helpful. Our interior room was quiet and the beds comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HHOD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2012

Having received a great deal through Travel Zoo, this small hotel served the purpose for our overnight visit. Modern...clean....great location. Had we been staying longer, an upgrade to a larger room would have been in order because the bedroom is really just a room for the bed. There is very little room around it, and it was a bit of a challenge navigating around it.

The bathroom was also small, but very nice. We both had trouble figuring out how to work the shower, but eventually figured it out.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jbreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nickhotelmela, General Manager at Hotel Mela, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
Greetings Guest!

Thank you kindly for writing a review on your recent trip to Hotel Mela.
We appreciate the feedback and constantly look for ways to improve.

Please contact us directly the next time you wish to visit NYC; Our Deluxe and Executive Rooms have ample space and a lounge area which would definetly suit your needs.

Warmest Regards,

Nick Ivezaj
Hotel Mela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

We knew nothing about this hotel when we booked it through travelzoo. The booking was done because the rate was so good for a hotel in midtown Manhattan. The hotel exceeded our expectations in every respect. The rooms, the staff, the bistro restaurant,as well as the the location were pecfect for a visit to N.Y.C. We would definitely stay there our next trip.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ira g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nickhotelmela, General Manager at Hotel Mela, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
Hello Ms. Ira,

Thank you so very much for writing a few comments on your recent stay!
We appreciate the feedback and will share your comments with our Restaurant Partner, Saju Bistro.

Contact us directly the next time you wish to visit NYC.

Warmest Regards,

Nick Ivezaj
Hotel Mela
Direct: 212-710-7008
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#337 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 15,818 reviews
Midtown
Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Paramount Hotel Times Square New...
#375 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,665 reviews
Midtown
Room Mate Grace
Room Mate Grace
#81 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
The Manhattan at Times Square Ho...
#288 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,663 reviews
Midtown
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square
Millennium Broadway New York Tim...
#278 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,002 reviews
Midtown
Broadway at Times Square Hotel
Broadway at Times Square Hotel
#176 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mela

Property: Hotel Mela
Address: 120 West 44th St, New York City, NY 10036-4050
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#106 Family Hotel in New York City
#167 Business Hotel in New York City
#168 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#170 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mela 4*
Number of rooms: 232
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotelopia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Expedia and TravelUp so you can book your Hotel Mela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mela Hotel New York City
Hotel Mela New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing