We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Marzia R”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Mela

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Mela
Ranked #260 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Vaughan, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Marzia R”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2012

Just got back from staying at Hotel Mela for the second time. It did not disappoint us. Was just as awesome as the first time we stayed there. Brought our teenage children with us this time and they loved the hotel. Loved the room(thank you Nick), location is great. Very clean, safe and close to everything, yet tucked away on 44th away from the hustle and bustle of Times Square. Staff was very friendly and very helpful. Will definitely be back again and will recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marzia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nickhotelmela, General Manager at Hotel Mela, responded to this review, 6 June 2012
Dear Ruscitti Family,

Thank you for your kind words regarding your recent stay!
You are always welcome at the Mela and contact us whenever you wish to come back!

Best,

Nick Ivezaj
General Manager
Hotel Mela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,898 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,573
    1,530
    520
    167
    108
See reviews for
564
1,989
234
432
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (631)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2012

We arrived at Hotel Mela after a 9-hour flight and were told that they were "overbooked" for the night in the category of room we had reserved and paid for (King). We were told that we would be placed in a "standard" room (full) and moved the next day. We were disappointed, but know that errors some times occur and said okay.

However, we thought it was reasonable to ask that they credit us the difference in the amount of the costs of the rooms. They said that this was not their policy! They said because we booked through Hotels.com they could not refund the amount. We asked that they reduce the next night's rate to reflect the difference, but they also refused this request. The bottom line is that we paid for accommodations that we didn't receive, and management refused to provide a means to rectify the situation.

The hotel itself was satisfactory. However, the stay was soured by the lack of simple equity - it is reasonable to pay for the room you received (not the one you booked and didn't get).

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Johns5021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nickhotelmela, General Manager at Hotel Mela, responded to this review, 6 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing a review on your stay at Hotel Mela recently.
Let me also offer our sincere apologies about the mishap with your room type.

That is not normal for our hotel and please allow us an opportunity to rectify the matter.

Warmest Regards,

Nick Ivezaj
General Manager
Hotel Mela

You can contact me directly
direct Line: 212-710-7008
email: nicki@hotelmela.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2012

Love this hotel. It was my first time to visit New York and I was glad that I booked a room at this hotel for my entire stay. The staff were friendly and very knowledgeable of the area. They gave us excellent suggestions on where to dine and tips on where to go and when to go. New York has many places to see but the staff will give you suggestions on what time of day is best to go. The room quaint...small and clean. Although we were facing 44th Street and on the second floor, the room was very quiet. They must have good insulation.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bhongllesis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2012

We had to move from our Upper East Side stay due to A/C issues. I called the Hotel Mela direct, explained the situation and they were able to accomodate us with no notice and offered a great rate that was better than any other hotel I found online which were showing poor reviews.

The staff were friendly and helpful, the room was great. We had a standard room but it did have a bath. I was surprised how quiet the room was since we were on 44th and I was expecting traffic noise. We had dinner at the Bistro downstairs after a Broadway play and were very impressed with the food, ambiance and suggestions from the server.

The cab to Broadway was under $10 and we took a pedicab back to the hotel after the play just for the experience of it and it was only $15. Short walk to the subway, blocks from the diamond district (which I LOVED).

Our stay was perfect and I would stay here again anytime I come to New York. It was a jewel in center of NY.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnetka
Level Contributor
44 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

2nd time at the Mela and still pleased. It is so close to Time Sqaure and the tickets booth for show tickets, you can run over and buy reduced price tickets. The rooms are small (common in NYC) but clean and modern. I like smaller hotels, so much less stress.

Room Tip: We were up high and heard little street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WinnetkaDawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2012

staff friendly and helpful, room was cozy and efficient, clean nicely appointed, location great for theaters and the neighborhood, easy access to subways . . will return

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
149 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2012

I booked 3 rooms on Travel Zoo for Memorial Day weekend. Wasn't expecting much due to the price, but was very surprised to find such a wonderful hotel in the heart of the theatre district, steps away from Times Square. It worked out wonderful for the theatre go-ers in our group, as well as those who just wanted to have a good meal close to the hotel after a day of walking and touring. All 3 rooms were similar in size--the queen bedded rooms--the bathroom was actually quite spacious and hot water plentiful. Lots of pillows, so sitting up in bed to read or watch TV was comfy; pillows were important, as there was not a chair in the room. Aside from that, it was a perfect room for us and our 3 suitcases. No view, but that was OK with us. The staff was VERY helpful and accommodating--asked for ice from front desk and it was delivered within 2 minutes--beats going down the hall for ice, which is usually an afterthought after getting my pj's on. Came early in am and left late--stored our luggage the whole time which was very convenient. They put us all on the same floor, which I had forgotten to request, but was symbolic of their attention to making our stay such a good one!!

Room Tip: All 3 of our rooms were good. Size was the only reason I gave it a very good instead of excellent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChautauquaNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#340 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 16,482 reviews
Midtown
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
The Manhattan at Times Square Ho...
#283 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,805 reviews
Midtown
Room Mate Grace
Room Mate Grace
#77 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Paramount Hotel Times Square New...
#376 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,732 reviews
Midtown
The Premier New York Times Square
The Premier New York Times Squar...
#159 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
Midtown
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square
Millennium Broadway New York Tim...
#279 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mela

Property: Hotel Mela
Address: 120 West 44th St, New York City, NY 10036-4050
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#105 Family Hotel in New York City
#166 Business Hotel in New York City
#169 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#171 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mela 4*
Number of rooms: 233
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, Odigeo, TravelUp, Southall Travel, LoveHolidays, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Mela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mela Hotel New York City
Hotel Mela New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing