We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will Return”
Review of Hotel Mela

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Mela
Ranked #258 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 29 March 2013

Stayed at the Mela with friends over a long weekend via a package deal with Air Canada. The hotel is shouting distance from Times Square and adjacent to a number of good restaurants, especially the Saju Bistro.

Lobby is small as are the rooms. We were originally given a superior room (chair, desk and closet) but it had a very small double bed so we traded for a standard Queen (no chair, desk or closet). Bit of a hassle not having a place to hang a full-length garment like a dress or coat, but livable. We needed service to unblock a toilet and repair the safe (which would not close) and it was fast and efficient. Luggage storage likewise and also free.

Bed was extremely comfortable, room was quiet, water was hot. What more do you need?

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FrequentTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,261)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,972 - 1,978 of 4,261 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Mela pre-cruise March 4 for two nights. I booked the least expensive room for two adults possible and the room was exactly how I thought a NYC room 1/2 of a block from Times Square would be. The room was small, enough room for the king bed, a small closet type dresser and another stand with a TV. We didn't have much room for our 2 large and 2 small suitcases (in preparation for our 10 day cruise). The bathroom was small as well, basic vanity with just a stand up shower. BUT, everything was clean, updated, smelled great and the location could not be beat! We were able to walk over 2 blocks to Fifth Avenue and walk up to Central Park. Times Square was litterally just outside and down 1/2 blocks.

In Times Square the food was pricy (that is the case all over NYC) but a few doors down from this hotel is Times Deli. The deli is open 24 hours, has a hot/cold items, a deli counter, sodas, everything you could want. We ended up doing several meals at Times Deli. Once you get the hang of the crowd in the deli, its perfect. You buy your sandwich, breakfast item, hot dinner item up from and then sit at the tables in the back and eat. They even had healthy options includes soups and salads.

Overall I would give our stay at the Mela a complete A+, we had friendly service, a very nice stay (in a small room) and will be back!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellestar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013

This is the fourth year we have stayed at the Mela, seven nights each visit. Jonathan, Anna, J.P., Jed, Rose and Arturo provide customer service beyond compare. Add the impeccable customer service to the comfort of the accommodations and the location and this is the ONLY place I will stay in NYC. This location makes ALL of NYC easily accessible. No more giant chains for me, love the Boutique feeling of the Hotel Mela.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MerylandJamie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2013

I stayed at Hotel Mela for one night after a late rooftop party for work. I commute to work at the city, so our late night event often leads to a killer commute home just to turn around three or four hours later and come right back.

I was supposed to share a room with a co-worker and have two separate beds, but that was not in the cards that night. The front desk let us know that all of their double bed rooms were booked and we had to share a king size bed. Since we were two women, the staff thought it would be cool to share. You know, not that it's awkward or anything...

My co-worker did not take kindly to this and went off on a tirade. The staff took it all in with a grain of salt. I mean not only was she drunk, drunk, drunk, but she shoeless, sloppy and angry. Bad combination. The staff offered us free breakfast, which worked for me, but my co-worker kept going at it.

I eventually got her to our room when she decided she wanted to smoke outside without shoes in the New York street... on her way out she gave a few choice words to the front desk.. again.

I ended up sleeping on the floor because there were no cots and no other single bed options. The room was nice, clean, the bathroom was big for NYC. It wasn't easy, but somehow it still worked.

Room Tip: Make sure you get what you pay for Street-side gets noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marilyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2013

We (3 couples) stayed 3 nights in 3 rooms. I booked Superior Queens and it appears we were upgraded to Executive Kings. The rooms were awesome. Bed was very comfortable. Lots of space with a chair, desk and chair, and bench type thing at the end of the bed. The rooms were big enough for us to enjoy a couple happy hours in one room with 8 adults there at one time and it was very comfortable. Bathrooms were clean and shower was one of the best hotel showers I have had in a while.
The location can't be beat. It is so close to Times Square and easy walk to Grand Central Station, Theater District, Hells Kitchen and Macys.
I was worried there might be noise being so close to TS but there was not a sound that entered our room from outside. There was some noise from the hall way - but there were only two other rooms by ours so there was limited times of hallway activity.
Can't wait to stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorthwoodsIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

An absolutely brilliant hotel on all counts:

Location - wont find better, seconds from Times Square but just far enough to avoid the noise, if you can ever really do this in NYC. 5th Avenue, Broadway, Theatres, Bus Tours, Restaurants and Bars are every which way you turnout of the front door.

Rooms - our group had a mix of Deluxe and Executive rooms - 7 of them! We found all to be very clean, very spacious and with great facilities.

Service - we found John Paul, the Conceirge, to be very helpful, sorting out anything we wanted. Danny out front was also very helpful and John the Front Office Manager was absolutely brilliant before, during and after we had stayed.

Rates - don't expect to stay for cheap in NYC, at least not if you want comfort! And I am happy to say this is mid-range price with top-end service.

Well done guys, keep up the good work, thanks!

Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Scottish_Red
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013 via mobile

The rooms are small but efficient. The location can't be beat being a block from Times Square but far enough away to not have the loudness and craziness! We're here for 10 days and the room did get a bit dirty after several days of linen service only but they at least cleaned it when we asked. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meantravelmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Room Mate Grace
Room Mate Grace
#74 of 473 in New York City
1,176 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#355 of 473 in New York City
20,478 reviews
Midtown
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square
Millennium Broadway New York Tim...
#304 of 473 in New York City
5,621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Paramount Hotel Times Square New...
#404 of 473 in New York City
5,052 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#281 of 473 in New York City
12,054 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Edison Times Square
Hotel Edison Times Square
#309 of 473 in New York City
10,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mela

Address: 120 West 44th St, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#161 Business Hotel in New York City
#164 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#174 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £93 - £255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mela 4*
Number of rooms: 233
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Southall Travel, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Mela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mela Hotel New York City
Hotel Mela New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing