We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5day break to New York.”
Review of Hotel Mela

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Mela
Ranked #269 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Cononbridge, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“5day break to New York.”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Excellent location for Time Square just mins and you were in the heart of things. Room very comfortable and clean.good restaurant attached to hotel great value breakfast lots close by Chinese in particular was excellent.

Room Tip: We were facing the street but not too noisey .
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,041 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,616
    1,590
    539
    175
    121
See reviews for
601
2,050
239
449
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (656)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

Hotel Mela is a small boutique hotel located a block from Times Square. For those that come as tourists, it really is a great location and close to many subway lines. The other cool thing is that it's off of Times Square where you don't get too much city noise so the rooms are relatively quiet.

The size of the standard room is small. There is no desk or even room for a chair. That said, it's typical size for NY standards and slightly bigger than other boutique hotels (like Hudson). The bathroom is small but adequate and modern.

So why not a 5 star review? When I checked in I asked for a room that didn't face 44th Street and the man that checked me in said he could accommodate the request but it would take a moment to switch room assignments. When I got into the room and looked out the window, I laughed because it faced right out onto 44th Street. I decided not to go down and switch because I was tired from the travel to NY.

Also bring your own shampoo/conditioner. Although they use H2O products, my hair was like straw after 2 days of using the products.

I would consider staying here again but this time I would make sure to make myself more clear about my request or speak with a manager. For those of us traveling for business, we don't need views - we need a full night sleep!

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank lucidlilies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Location is the best for Times square, and every other must see in NY, JOHN PAUL will see you right for anything you need, tours, tickets, restaurants, advice, what a quality boy, well done son, you helped make our trip , one of the HIGHLIGHTS IN OUR LIFE, nothing to much for him to help make your stay in the hotel and the city the best. From David, Jan. Scotland

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dusseldorf, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 November 2013

One of the cleaning staff threw away an orthodontic mouthguard I need every night, which cost a LOT of money to make.
The hotel made no attempt to rectify the problem and despite making the front desk aware of the problem upon many occasions and being passed from one manager to another, they proceeded to say there was no proof it was thrown away by their cleaner, despite the fact that no one else had been in our room. They did not want to look into the matter further even though I pointed out I had first contacted the front desk upon returning home at 10pm and had shown them the empty case.

There was never a case of trying to get out of paying, as I was there staying for business and all costs would have been reimbursed by my company and despite the manger being polite about the matter in his manner, he ultimately implied that I was not telling the truth.

Up until that point I was a reasonably happy guest.

Rooms are cheap and reasonable, albeit rather on the small side, with the only downside being around the corner form Times Square and it being relatively noisy until late at night.

Elevator is a joke - sometimes we were waiting up to 10 minutes to get down to the ground floor.

I personally would never, ever stay in this hotel again as I have been appalled by their treatment of respectable guests.

If you are looking for a cheap and cheerful holiday/stag or hen weekend and do not care about anything but a bed - then it is acceptable.

Room Tip: Photos of the rooms are deceptive - look nice but are VERY VERY small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vhastilow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nickhotelmela, General Manager at Hotel Mela, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Greetings Dear Guest,

First and very foremost let me apologize about the unfortunate incident that occurred during your stay at Hotel Mela. Our housekeeping staff are trained to be as meticulous as possible and be extremely cautious with guest toiletries and other personal items of guests. Additionally we really do pride ourselves on personalized and very attentive service and we obviously did not rectify the matter before you departed.

We certainly want to make things right and if you can; please contact me personally and I will make every effort to recover this ordeal for you.

Warmest Regards,

Nick Ivezaj
General Manager
Hotel Mela
Direct: 212-710-7008
Email: nicki@hotelmela.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Although a bit cramped, and not terribly inexpensive, Hotel Mela was an ok hotel to visit. Quite convenient and clean, nice bathrooms, friendly staff. However, not cheap. Even umbrellas cost $10. Not un-recommended per se, but there are better values on Times Square I think. Hard to choose when only looking at websites, but ...

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Had a wonderful stay here between 15th and 19th November. We found the room sizes to be ample, clean and very well kept. It was an excellent base for our sightseeing and shopping trip, just minutes away from the heart of Times Square. We arranged our taxi back to the airport through concierge and the staff were so helpful. We will definitely stay here again on our return visit to New York and highly recommend it.

Room Tip: We had room 912 - very spacious but on front of building
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Had a brilliant week in this hotel (30 Oct 13 - 6 Nov 13). All the staff were extremely helpful but in particular, Barbara on Concierge stood out - nothing was too much for Barbara. Barbara booked us tickets to see Twelfth Night in the Theatre straight across the road. It was brilliant and no hassle and we had perfect seats. Our room on arrival was too small but we had the room we wanted by the next day. The room was extremely clean and cleaned everyday. The staff explained everything on arrival and it was never any trouble to contact them for more coffee and creamer. Would definitely stay here again and recommend to others. Barbara is a credit to the Hotel.

Room Tip: Twin rooms are better and larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 668Kaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Premier Times Square by Millennium
The Premier Times Square by Mill...
#185 of 466 in New York City
767 reviews
Midtown
Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Paramount Hotel Times Square New...
#388 of 466 in New York City
4,328 reviews
Midtown
Night Theater District
Night Theater District
#248 of 466 in New York City
2,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square
Millennium Broadway New York Tim...
#283 of 466 in New York City
5,227 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#347 of 466 in New York City
18,503 reviews
Midtown
The Time New York
The Time New York
#73 of 466 in New York City
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mela

Property: Hotel Mela
Address: 120 West 44th St, New York City, NY 10036-4050
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#104 Family Hotel in New York City
#162 Business Hotel in New York City
#165 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#177 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mela 4*
Number of rooms: 233
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Agoda, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Mela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mela Hotel New York City
Hotel Mela New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing