We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PERFECT!”
Review of Hotel Mela

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Mela
Ranked #274 of 468 Hotels in New York City
baltimore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“PERFECT!”
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Just like I had read on Tripadvisor, the Mela Hotel's staff was incredibly welcoming, friendly and helpful. We were celebrating a very special anniversary and mentioned it at the time of booking. Joanna, at reservations, was very accommodating and supportive. When we arrived at the hotel we were greeted with "Happy Annniversary" wishes from Neyoleat the front desk and John Palace, conceirge and a promise for our room to be ready soon. When we returned to the hotel late afternoon, we were surprised to receive an upgrade and had rose petals on our bed and a note for a very happy anniversary. It was incredibly thoughtful and added much glee to our stay. What a wonderful time and great hotel staff. All was better than ever expected at this great find near the theater district. I thank you all.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank annie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,972 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,594
    1,557
    532
    173
    116
See reviews for
581
2,026
236
440
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (647)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 December 2013

This hotel excels on value, safety, and comfort. The great staff will bend over backward to service your needs. A short walk to Times Sq, Bryant Park, and Rockefeller Center makes this hotel a best bet in NYC lodging. The Saju French restaurant located next to the hotel has a great breakfast. Rooms are comfortable, clean, and quiet. I have stayed at this hotel over a dozen times and each stay delivers the same high quality.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 December 2013

I stayed at this wonderful hotel near Times Square this Fall. Perfect for touring the city. Close to many landmarks and easy access to all transportation. The room was small but well appointed with great beds, fluffy towels (a must for me) and great service. The staff is friendly yet professional. I would stay at this hotel again in a heart beat!

M J Wirges
Las Vegas, Nevada

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJWLasVegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013 via mobile

We've just returned from out 1st ever trip to NYC. We ideally wanted something central and but didn't want to pay too much so we weren't too hopeful...how wrong were we??!
We had a deluxe king room and yes it was small but we didn't spend much time in it and it was perfectly feasible for our requirements!!

We were a 2 minute walk from broadway and about 5-10 from grand central and Rockefeller Centre. The location is perfect!!

The bistro next door was lovely - we only ever went for breakfast so unsure of other meals.

The staff were very helpful if we had any queries they always helped us - even down to where was good to eat etc.

I'm a light sleeper so did hear a bit of noise during the night when people were returning to their rooms but that's only coz we had went to bed so early, it was nothing too bad n never lasted for more than 5mins!!

Would definitely recommend this hotel to friends and family going to nyc and will definitely be looking into this hotel if we return!!

Thanks for a great stay! :)

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank oOrachOo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
112 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Hotel Mela is a ten or fifteen minute walk from Grand Central Station. Wow. That is faster than the subway or a taxi.You cannot beat the central location of this hotel. I did not realize how good we had it until a day had passed.

Yes, the rooms are quite small, but no smaller than anything that you would find in Europe.

The bed was very, very good, and the bathroom was spotless.

The elevators require patience or walk down the stairs.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tautog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

The accommodations at the Mela just keep getting better and better. The staff is attentive, the rooms are terrific, the location is perfect and the Bistro next door is fabulous. I have stayed there a number of times and will keep this at the top of my list. Of best places to stay. A great New York City experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Since the year they opened in NYC, I stay at the Hotel Mela on every visit to the Big Apple. They provide a superlative service that is comparable to any luxury hotel in NY and their staff is phenomenal. A wise choice on your next visit to NYC.

Room Tip: Reserve a full if you are traveling solo and a deluxe queen if you have a companion!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rayford B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
The Manhattan at Times Square Ho...
#296 of 468 in New York City
7,128 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#344 of 468 in New York City
17,539 reviews
Midtown
Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Paramount Hotel Times Square New...
#380 of 468 in New York City
4,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Room Mate Grace
Room Mate Grace
#75 of 468 in New York City
864 reviews
Midtown
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square
Millennium Broadway New York Tim...
#282 of 468 in New York City
5,158 reviews
Midtown
The Premier New York Times Square
The Premier New York Times Squar...
#171 of 468 in New York City
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mela

Property: Hotel Mela
Address: 120 West 44th St, New York City, NY 10036-4050
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#105 Family Hotel in New York City
#166 Business Hotel in New York City
#169 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#179 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mela 4*
Number of rooms: 233
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Priceline, Nozio Netplan srl, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Mela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mela Hotel New York City
Hotel Mela New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing