We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“CREDIT CARD CHARGED TOO MUCH!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Mela

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Mela
Ranked #262 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Brescia, Italy
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“CREDIT CARD CHARGED TOO MUCH!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

The hotel is pretty good, as you can see in other review.
When checking out the receptionist showed me a proforma invoice for minibar consumption totally wrong. I claimed that there was an error and he told me he would not charge my Visa for the wrong items.
When back at home I got my credit card charged for items I did not take.

!!!NOT CORRECT, BE AWARE!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniele T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nickhotelmela, Front Office Manager at Hotel Mela, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at Hotel Mela. Allow me to apologize for the billing error; I assure you this is not indicative of the level of service we consistently provide.

At your earliest convenience, please contact me directly at patrickk@hotelmela.com so I can rectify the error.

Thank you again your feedback, I hope to hear from you soon.

Warm regards,
Patrick Kennedy
Assistant Front Office Manager
Hotel Mela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,900 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,573
    1,531
    520
    167
    109
See reviews for
564
1,990
234
432
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (631)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

This is the second time I stayed at the Hotel Mela. The location is perfect for NYC theater district, the rooms and beds are comfortable.The price is reasonable. The rooms are just what is needed for an overnight stay. The staff is very friendly. The only down side that we have had is your room will not be available until the 3:00 PM check in. Not a real negative, but I do like settling in to my room before I venture into NYC.
The best comment I can make is again I will look to stay here in the future.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gof16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorktown Heights, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

Hotel Mela is a boutique hotel centrally located on West 44th - close to restaurants and Broadway shows. The rooms are comfortable with all the needed amenities. There's even a gym on the 2nd floor (no time to use it). The front desk staff - headed by Natalia - is excellent. The check in was cordial and swift. Even after you check out, the front desk staff will arrange to hold any of your luggage. My wife and I enjoyed our second visit to the Hotel Mela in mid December. When we return to the City for a night in the spring, Hotel Mela will be our destination for its price, location, and friendly and efficient staff.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EasytravelerO9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anderson, South Carolina
Level Contributor
161 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

This hotel is in a great location to Times Square, Rockefeller center, and Central Park. We were able to walk to all these locations. The service was great and all we're very friendly. The Italian restaurant across the street was excellent as was recommended by the staff.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank 30090Laura_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

We stayed at hotel mela from 12th to 18th December and having not been to New York before we were very pleased with our hotel choice. We were on the 11th floor at the front of the hotel which we found great, we were never bothered by any noise. Our room had everything you need for a trip to NYC as we didn't spend much time there due to being out sight seeing. It was clean and had great facilities; we especially liked the hot chocolate available from reception in the evening! The front desk were fantastic (especially Adrian and Danny); they organised dinner reservations and taxis to the airport for us.
There are plenty of restaurants and bars close by and Times Square is literally a 1 minute walk away. The hotel location is perfect for 5th avenue, Rockefeller centre and time square. We had booked to see a show which was just down the road from the hotel.
The rooms were great and the bed was really comfy which was appreciated after the long days walking around! We will definitely book to stay at hotel mela agin due to the perfect location, clean and modern rooms and friendly staff. The wifi was also an added bonus as it meant I could FaceTime my family to tell them my boyfriend had proposed on Central Park ice rink!! All in all....a perfect trip away!

Room Tip: I had read about some of the rooms being noisy but this never bothered us!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dominican2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

Boutique hotels are unique, which makes them special and not for "everyone". Hotel Mela is classy with an understated European hipness. It is not cutting edge nor tacky. It is, however, on the smaller side, but full of quality. The staff is extemely pleasant and efficient. Totally comfortable and a good value. If you desire large chain hotel "large size" and cookie cutter familiarity, this is not your place--this is special.

Room Tip: Depends what you appreciate: if you want light/view, you may have to put up with a bit of street noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chuck B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here for 5 nights over Christmas on the 16th floor.
The room was surprisingly big and the bed was extremely comfy! The room was cleaned every day and the staff were more than helpful.
The location was the reason why we chose Hotel Mela. Everything was within walking distance and the Christmas atmosphere was truly brilliant.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#341 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 16,509 reviews
Midtown
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
The Manhattan at Times Square Ho...
#285 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,816 reviews
Midtown
Room Mate Grace
Room Mate Grace
#76 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Paramount Hotel Times Square New...
#377 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,746 reviews
Midtown
The Premier New York Times Square
The Premier New York Times Squar...
#165 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
Midtown
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square
Millennium Broadway New York Tim...
#277 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mela

Property: Hotel Mela
Address: 120 West 44th St, New York City, NY 10036-4050
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#105 Family Hotel in New York City
#166 Business Hotel in New York City
#169 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#173 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mela 4*
Number of rooms: 233
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Hotelopia, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Mela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mela Hotel New York City
Hotel Mela New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing