We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Business Stay”
Review of Hotel Mela

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Mela
Ranked #256 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 28 February 2014

The hotel staff here was extraordinarily helpful and friendly from the time I got out of the car all the way through our camping in the hotel lobby for several hours when our flight was delayed. In particular Daniella was most excellent.

The rooms here are small, but that's not unusual here in NY. They were very clean and neat with individual climate control.

Of course, the location is excellent within walking distance of times square.

There is a little gym area and work area on the second floor.

I will definitely return here on future trips.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kentlang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,269)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,579 - 1,585 of 4,269 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2014

Steps from all of the Broadway shows and far away from the craziness of some of the larger hotels in the area. I was pleasantly surpised by the overall experience of the Hotel Mela. The first thing I noticed is how clean the place is - our room looked like it had never been occupied before.. Tasteful colors and a super comforatable king sized bed contributed to a great overnight stay.Our inexpensive package included a full breakfast at the hotel's cafe - a quaint french style restaurant right next door. It also included two drinks at the Longroom beer bar next door - an Irish pub with 44 drafts and imported decor from Dublin's Trinity College.The staff was friendly and helpful and offered assistance to any questions we had. Would definately recommend the Hotel Mela and plan to stay there again on my next overnight stay.

Room Tip: Deluxe Rooms with a King size Bed are slightly larger than the Superior Rooms. Pack
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rudygio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We picked Hotel Mela due to the location, i had read the mixed reviews and went with a open mind. Check in was very quick- the staff weren't over enthusiastic but they were pleasant. Our First room on the 8th floor was very small but i had already expected this- to be honest my bedroom is bigger(but who goes away to stay in the room all day) the room was very clean and the bathroom was too. After a few days of no hot water, we were upgraded to a suite 11th floor... it was huge, again the standard was good it was very clean but again no view( as expected) due to the lack of hot water we were given free breakfast everyday for the rest of our stay at the resturant next door. The food was really good, it really set us up for the day. SO all in all the hotel is good, the location is perfect, just outside is the Ball Drop and the center of Time Square the location couldnt be any better.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sally C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Had a wonderful stay at the Mela. The room was lovely, in good condition and always cleaned wonderfully by housekeeping. The staff were very helpful and the location is perfect for exploring the city. Would recommend a stay here!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claudia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Location, Location, Location - but more than that. The staff a Hotel Mela cannot do enough for you. Impeccably decorated in a contemporary style. Exceptionally clean and efficiently run. We would definitely return.

Room Tip: No suggestions
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NancyHend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

The hotel reception staff were very friendly and helpful, the room was very small but big enough for sleeping in. It was extremely clean and the room we had at the side/back was very quiet.The complimentary breakfast vouchers for the Bistro next door were very handy.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clivewendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We’ve done this a few times and have stayed at a lot of different types of hotel. This one was one of the nicest. This is the best location – only one block away to see most shows.

The room was small as I expected – it is New York. It was clean with good furnishings and had its own safe for all your valuables. Good size bathroom with a bathrobe. The woman who cleaned our room was just lovely.

We got a great rate which also included hot breakfast at the bistro next door. We didn’t have to wait for elevators even though they were small. Actually that was good because the size of the elevator made it conducive to chat with other guests.(Excited folks from Mexico and Georgia.) The lobby smelt wonderful and we were given an umbrella, by the friendly desk woman, when it started to rain as we were leaving.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EVR45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Room Mate Grace
Room Mate Grace
#72 of 473 in New York City
1,180 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#353 of 473 in New York City
20,496 reviews
Midtown
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square
Millennium Broadway New York Tim...
#306 of 473 in New York City
5,626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Paramount Hotel Times Square New...
#404 of 473 in New York City
5,054 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#279 of 473 in New York City
12,060 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Edison Times Square
Hotel Edison Times Square
#309 of 473 in New York City
10,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mela

Address: 120 West 44th St, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#161 Business Hotel in New York City
#164 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#173 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £94 - £255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mela 4*
Number of rooms: 233
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Mela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mela Hotel New York City
Hotel Mela New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing