We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything we needed”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Mela

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Mela
Ranked #262 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Danvers, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Everything we needed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

My husband and I recently traveled to New York City to attend a Broadway show and booked our one night stay at Hotel Mela. It was exactly what we had hoped - clean, comfortable, reasonably priced (for a NYC hotel), quiet, and very convenient to the theater and restaurants. We requested a lower level room and also an earlier check-in time and both were granted without hesitation or problem. The staff was friendly and cheerful. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,900 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,573
    1,531
    520
    167
    109
See reviews for
564
1,990
234
432
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (631)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

I always read reviews before booking a hotel baring in mind some people expect a little too much from a hotel...waldorf astoria for the price of a holiday in lets say...so here is a review from a traveller expecting a good service for the money I pay.
The hotel is in an unbeatable spot near to times square and handy for everywhere really. The staff could not have been more helpful from requests before we stayed to help during our stay. We had a superior king room which was a decent size for our 4 nights and a lovely comfortable bed.
Breakfast at the biestro was lovely..a little repetitive as there are a choice of 3 options but we had the traditional eggs scrambled with bacon and it was great. It also filled us until well after dinner time.
The only issues we had was having the tv on and switching the coffee machine onn tripped our electric twice but this was promptly sorted by maintenance. Also on checking in we were not given breakfast vouchers ehich caused some confusion but again quickly rectified after sleakkng to reception.
A room with breakfast at this hotel for two at the hotel I would say is worth up to £130 so have a look for deals.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, Maryland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

This hotel is like a hidden treasure amongst the vast verity of Times Square hotels.
Located to perfection, decent rooms, great service and great deals.
It is by far one of the best hotels in mid town and not only for its value.
The staff is also very accommodating, I'd like to highlight one of them, Daniela B, she assisted me with any request, always with a smile and always with the ability to provide a solution.
This was my first time staying at the Mela but it is not my last one.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tsachee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

The hotel staff here was extraordinarily helpful and friendly from the time I got out of the car all the way through our camping in the hotel lobby for several hours when our flight was delayed. In particular Daniella was most excellent.

The rooms here are small, but that's not unusual here in NY. They were very clean and neat with individual climate control.

Of course, the location is excellent within walking distance of times square.

There is a little gym area and work area on the second floor.

I will definitely return here on future trips.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kentlang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

Steps from all of the Broadway shows and far away from the craziness of some of the larger hotels in the area. I was pleasantly surpised by the overall experience of the Hotel Mela. The first thing I noticed is how clean the place is - our room looked like it had never been occupied before.. Tasteful colors and a super comforatable king sized bed contributed to a great overnight stay.Our inexpensive package included a full breakfast at the hotel's cafe - a quaint french style restaurant right next door. It also included two drinks at the Longroom beer bar next door - an Irish pub with 44 drafts and imported decor from Dublin's Trinity College.The staff was friendly and helpful and offered assistance to any questions we had. Would definately recommend the Hotel Mela and plan to stay there again on my next overnight stay.

Room Tip: Deluxe Rooms with a King size Bed are slightly larger than the Superior Rooms. Pack
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rudygio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

We picked Hotel Mela due to the location, i had read the mixed reviews and went with a open mind. Check in was very quick- the staff weren't over enthusiastic but they were pleasant. Our First room on the 8th floor was very small but i had already expected this- to be honest my bedroom is bigger(but who goes away to stay in the room all day) the room was very clean and the bathroom was too. After a few days of no hot water, we were upgraded to a suite 11th floor... it was huge, again the standard was good it was very clean but again no view( as expected) due to the lack of hot water we were given free breakfast everyday for the rest of our stay at the resturant next door. The food was really good, it really set us up for the day. SO all in all the hotel is good, the location is perfect, just outside is the Ball Drop and the center of Time Square the location couldnt be any better.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sally C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

Had a wonderful stay at the Mela. The room was lovely, in good condition and always cleaned wonderfully by housekeeping. The staff were very helpful and the location is perfect for exploring the city. Would recommend a stay here!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#341 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 16,524 reviews
Midtown
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
The Manhattan at Times Square Ho...
#285 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,819 reviews
Midtown
Room Mate Grace
Room Mate Grace
#76 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Paramount Hotel Times Square New...
#377 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,746 reviews
Midtown
The Premier New York Times Square
The Premier New York Times Squar...
#165 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
Midtown
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square
Millennium Broadway New York Tim...
#277 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mela

Property: Hotel Mela
Address: 120 West 44th St, New York City, NY 10036-4050
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#105 Family Hotel in New York City
#166 Business Hotel in New York City
#169 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#173 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mela 4*
Number of rooms: 233
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, LoveHolidays, Hotelopia, Odigeo, Agoda, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Mela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mela Hotel New York City
Hotel Mela New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing