We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Mela

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Mela
Ranked #258 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
Level Contributor
138 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Great Location!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

Stayed for a weekend. Great location right in Times Square. Rooms are TINY but it's right in New York City so I guess that is the norm. I was surprised at how tiny the elevators were as well. Bath products were really nice. The bed was great, super comfortable but woke up early to some sort of music and someone on a microphone at 8am on Sunday morning... :/. Other than that enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pawsthebest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nickhotelmela, Front Office Manager at Hotel Mela, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide feedback about your recent stay at Hotel Mela.

I would like to sincerely apologize for the loud noises that woke you up. Please know we have reached out to our neighbors and asked them to be very mindful of loud noise that can disturb our guests, and we anticipate their cooperation. Again, I am sorry for any inconvenience you incurred.

Additionally, I wanted to let you know that we do have larger guest rooms available. Our Deluxe rooms average approximately 220 square feet and our Executive rooms average approximately 300 square feet. We also have several suites available.

Please contact me directly (patrickk@hotelmela.com) the next time you visit NYC and I will assist you with making a reservation at Hotel Mela. Hope to see you soon!

Warm regards,
Patrick Kennedy
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,867 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,569
    1,517
    513
    163
    105
See reviews for
563
1,976
233
426
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (626)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

This was an excellent deal and at first I was a little skeptical because it was such a great deal (breakfast, drinks, late checkout) but they met the mark. The staff was much more helpful than other "boutique" hotels I've stayed at. I understand that other guests had trouble during the days I was there because the computer system was down but the staff was still enthusiastic, kind and patient. The location is great. So close to Times Square yet actually a quiet side street. The room I had was exactly what the picture looked like. One night there were some other guests who were a little loud but eventually they settled down...I didn't call the front desk because I understand this isn't my own private oasis. If it got obnoxious I would have said something. I really liked that everything was clean. I have been to NYC 4 times but it was my 13-year old daughter's first time and I am so glad we chose a small, independent hotel for her first experience in NYC. Added bonus: The wifi in the room worked. It doesn't always work in the hotels I stay at.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KimmerMKE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond VA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

We spent 3 nights at Hotel Mela and had a great experience. Room was clean and comfortable and surprisingly quiet for a 3rd floor room facing the street. Staff was very helpful. We got an extremely good rate from the hotel website which included an upgrade to a king deluxe room, free breakfast, and two free drinks. Excellent location for shows, Times Square, and Rockefeller Center. Short walk to 5th Avenue and Central Park.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Planet9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

My husband and I just got back from a wonderful 4 day trip to New York. With all the hotels in NYC, we would have never found Hotel Mela on our own so I'm glad we took advantage of a Travelzoo deal which included a free room upgrade and breakfast at the french bistro next door. We were concerned about reviews complaining about the small and noisy rooms, but our Deluxe King room was spacious, clean and quiet.. I loved the contemporary style of the room, the comfy bed and bedding, La Vazza coffee maker and free WIFI. Breakfast at the Saju Bistro was delicious but instead of ordering off the full menu the selections are limited to three choices. We were also concerned about staying so close to busy Times Square, but the location is ideal. Being half a block from Broadway we were close to all the action without being right in it.

Many thanks to Patrick the Assistant Front office manager for accommodating our request for an early check in by arranging for our room to be ready when we arrived at 7:30 am weary from a red eye flight from Vancouver! Thanks also to JP for planning the surprise delivery of a wine and cheese platter, a gift ordered by our Vancouver friends. The front desk and lobby staff were very friendly and the urn of complimentary Hot chocolate was a welcome treat after an afternoon of shopping in SOHO.

Travelzoo introduced us to the Hotel Mela, but the staff, the rooms and the convenient location will bring us back!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaggieK59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

Hotel Mela was overall a wonderful experience! Got a great deal on a room with breakfast at wonderful bistro next door. Everything was so comfy and cozy. The service of all of the staff was very friendly and welcoming, it felt like our home away from home. Very clean premises also.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chance399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

All staff were pleasant and helpful during our 5 night stay. We were upgraded to a larger queen room that was next to elevator. This wasn't a huge problem as it wasn't super busy. The room was always clean and the bed was really comfortable. We had a view of a brick wall but the FANTASTIC location made up for that.
As we had never been to NYC before, we wanted to experience as much as possible. The location was REALLY close to Times Square and a lot of Broadway musicals. The subway was easily accessible for most lines. It was a great vantage point to get the most out of the city. We did do a lot of walking, but from the hotel we got to the Intrepid museum and even walked hope after our day at the Natural History Museum.
All in all, this hotel was great value for money and I would definitely recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gkloosterman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

I booked a Spring Fling package at Hotel Mela when I needed a place to stay for one night on a business trip. The location is convenient, close to Times Square and the subway, not too far from Penn Station. The package included breakfast, drinks and an upgraded room. All that was great, but the best part of my stay was the staff. They were welcoming, helpful and wonderful from the minute I stepped inside the door. I often find checking into NYC hotels to be a not-so-great experience, like I'm somehow bothering the desk clerks. Not so here. The staff was top rate. The upgraded room was large (by NYC standards) and very clean and comfortable. I would stay here again. Breakfast at Saju Bistro was very good, too.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Merrittkathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#337 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 15,830 reviews
Midtown
Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Paramount Hotel Times Square New...
#375 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,663 reviews
Midtown
Room Mate Grace
Room Mate Grace
#81 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
The Manhattan at Times Square Ho...
#288 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,666 reviews
Midtown
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square
Millennium Broadway New York Tim...
#278 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,002 reviews
Midtown
Broadway at Times Square Hotel
Broadway at Times Square Hotel
#176 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mela

Property: Hotel Mela
Address: 120 West 44th St, New York City, NY 10036-4050
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#106 Family Hotel in New York City
#167 Business Hotel in New York City
#168 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#170 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mela 4*
Number of rooms: 232
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Hotelopia and TravelUp so you can book your Hotel Mela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mela Hotel New York City
Hotel Mela New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing