We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love. This. Spot.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Mela

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Mela
Ranked #256 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Love. This. Spot.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

We recently stayed here for our honeymoon! Prices were reasonable, bathroom is spacious and within walking (or reasonable cab) distance to everything in Manhattan. The staff made our stay very special with a complimentary arrival package and upgraded room! The restaurant downstairs is also very good! (Get the mussels entree! It comes with the BEST french fries!) We love this hotel and will definitely be coming back!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mkerachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,864 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,569
    1,514
    513
    163
    105
See reviews for
563
1,974
233
425
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (625)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East End, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Great location right in the middle of things. Small hotel with small rooms but that never bothers me. Room was clean, nicely decorated and bathroom was modern. However, problem was size of bed. Booked with Hotels.com and requested queen sized bed in a superior room. I got room 317 and bed was full-sized. When I called downstairs I was told since I booked with Hotels.com I can't be guaranteed a queen sized bed and nothing was available. I should have read the all of the comments when I printed out confirmation sheet. Can't blame the hotel - although the room I was in should not be considered a superior room! Room was not quiet - no double paned glass here and was difficult to sleep. The front desk did give us a coupon for free breakfast next door because they could not accommodate us. Unfortunately after waiting 25 minutes after being served our coffee for my husband walked out. The place was almost empty! I waited and got it to go. Bottom line, the most important thing (for me) in a hotel is getting a good night's sleep in a comfortable bed and unfortunately that did not happen.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SashieZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerMela, General Manager at Hotel Mela, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Hello Sashie!

Thank you for taking time out of your day to write a review on your recent experience at Hotel Mela.

We read and review each one of the reviews made on tripadvisor and share them with our entire staff to ensure we correct these type of issues immediately.

I’m so very sorry about noise issues in the room you were in as well as the poor service at our restaurant. We take these matters very very seriously and we are following up with them as we speak.


If you would ever consider giving us a second chance; Please contact me directly the time your in NYC and we’ll ensure we offer you a great discounted price along with an upgraded room.


Yours in Service,

Nick Ivezaj
General Manager
Hotel Mela
Direct: 212-710-7008
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meriden, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

What a great find! A first we were concerned, as this wasn't a "corporate chain" (Hyatt, Marriott, etc) -- but that turned out to be a major advantage! We have stayed at the Marriot Marquis in Times Square several times, and each time it seemed to become less and less glamorous -- long waits to elevators, crowded lobbies, etc. From the moment we arrived at the Hotel Mela, our experience was awesome!! The lobby is small, but very classy and modern. The desk staff were pleasant, and upgraded us to a larger room for no cost, as they had availability!! The room was great - plenty of room, comfortable bed, REALLY nice bathroom & shower. No view (window looked out on an alley) but compared the the blinding flashing lights of Times Square 24/7 at the Marriott, this was a nice change. Upon check in, they also gave us 2 free drink vouchers good at the pub next door - this was a nice perk.

The ONLY negative thing I have to say -- and this doesn't really have anything to do with the hotel itself -- is to be careful with the Parking Garage next door (which the hotel recommends and has special rates with). Upon parking, they said it was $40 for 24 hours. If you go over that 24 hours by even ONE HOUR (like we did), you'll be charged an additional $40, rather than an hourly charge. Again, not really a problem with the hotel - they don't make the rules at the garage... we just wish we would have known this up front... then we wouldn't have gone over the initial 24 hours.

Long story short - if you're looking for a hotel that's close to the theatre district, but not MOBBED with tourists - this is the hotel for you!!! Great price, helpful & attentive staff - we'll definitely be back!!!! Thanks Mela!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coral Gables, Florida
Level Contributor
162 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

This hotel is very well located, only one block away from Time Square, steps away from the ToysRus store. Next time I am planing to take the Train from the airport until Jamaica Station and the Subway up to 42nd. That alone costs $7.50 from JFK that is way better than $60 for a taxi drive. But, nevertheless, from the moment to arrived we were cheerfully received by the bellboy, very attentive, who took care of our luggage. Our room was ready, top floor facing the back of the building so no noises at all but missing the city view. King bed, comfortable. Very clean room, every day. Nice modern bathroom, nice towels. In general very accommodating Breakfast we tried on the restaurant downstairs outside, king of pricey. In front UM DEUS TROIX a little cheaper and as good. But the hotel from check-in to check-out it was top notch. Front desk was always helpful with directions and and anything needed. Mmhhh...fresh apples at the front desk every day :-)
I would recommend this hotel for families, business, vacations...everyone. The location is super b and you can walk to main subway station 42nd that is two blocks away, walk to Times Square (one block away), close to Broadway and all the shows...whatever you want.
We walked with my 10 Years old daughter from the hotel to the American Girl store, then the Saint Patrick Church, up to the Central Park and all the way back through Broadway. Nice walk.
Definitely we will go back to the Hotel Mela when back in New York City!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IngridHA1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with my 4 year old daughter. Upon entering our room after dinner, a strong scent of Marijuana quickly revealed itself. This was quite shocking as it is very clearly relayed upon check in that they are a smoke free hotel and each guest must actually attest to reading this strict guideline.

After calling to complain, I was told that no rooms were available and that they could offer me febreeze to help clear the smell.

They also made it clear that I had paid through a third party service and any complaints or questions about refunds should be called in to the third party service. They noted that they would try to locate the room from which the source of marijuana was coming but made no other attempts to help a mother and child become less exposed to what many would clearly recognize has a hazardous environment for any human, especially a four year old child.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank happyvacationing5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerMela, General Manager at Hotel Mela, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Hello Happy Vacationing 5!

Thank you for filling out a recent survey regarding your stay at Hotel Mela. We read and review every review so we can make improve our guest service; which is of supreme importance to us.

I'm very sorry about the incident that occurred on your guest floor; this is absolutely not normal in our hotel and I apologize personally about not be able to move your room accommodations. Please know we are absolutely a 100% smoke free hotel and we strictly enforce the policy even when we have guests who may abuse it from time to time.

Please contact me directly so we can make amends for this and recover this situation for you.

Yours in Service,

Nick Ivezaj
General Manager
Hotel Mela

Direct: 212-710-7008
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Geneva, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

Great location, walking distance to most everything, including tours. Clean, nice amenities,
great staff. Stayed June 24th thru 26th. About 30 minutes or 45 max to/from LaGuardia
airport. Stayed for husbands 60th, hotel upgraded and supplied nice little extras.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Edazzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

So-so location. Rooms were fine, nothing special. If you are looking for a memory find another hotel. If you are looking for a bed, the Mela is fine. Needed a few conveniences for our business group of 7 travelers but got none. No early check in to drop bags (around noon). Left bags at bell stand but they were never to room, we all had to retrieve them individually. Arduous check-in for a large party on 1 credit card.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank ratherbtravellingnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#339 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 15,757 reviews
Midtown
Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Paramount Hotel Times Square New...
#375 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,659 reviews
Midtown
Room Mate Grace
Room Mate Grace
#81 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square
Millennium Broadway New York Tim...
#277 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,001 reviews
Midtown
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
The Manhattan at Times Square Ho...
#289 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 6,651 reviews
Midtown
Broadway at Times Square Hotel
Broadway at Times Square Hotel
#176 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mela

Property: Hotel Mela
Address: 120 West 44th St, New York City, NY 10036-4050
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#106 Family Hotel in New York City
#165 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#167 Business Hotel in New York City
#170 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mela 4*
Number of rooms: 232
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TravelUp, Hotelopia and Southall Travel so you can book your Hotel Mela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mela Hotel New York City
Hotel Mela New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing