We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Near port authority Bus Terminal and Javit Center”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wingate by Wyndham Manhattan Midtown
Ranked #339 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Rhode Island
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Near port authority Bus Terminal and Javit Center”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Hotel is clean, room 301 windows face a brick building but on the upside it was quiet did not hear traffic etc also ran the fan so room was very quiet. Breakfast includes waffles one has to make them but great to kick off the morning walks around the big apple, eggs , toast , bagels etc all available with price of room. staff is friendly ... walking distance to time square liked the fact it was so close to the Javit center as i was there for a conferance.

Room Tip: if you want a room with a view 301 is not it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmandaRhodeIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WingateMgmt235, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Manhattan Midtown, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Dear Amanda,

Thank you so much for staying with us at the Wingate by Wyndham Manhattan! We appreciate the positive feedback in regards to our cleaniness and accomodations. I'm glad that our complimentaty breakfast was able to kickstart your days. I hope to see you soon for other conferences you attend at the Javits Centers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,098 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    684
    818
    383
    131
    82
See reviews for
768
573
104
280
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Silver Spring
1 review
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Overall very good stay, friendly and helpful staff, but the exhaust fan in the bathroom was extremely noisy And would automatically get turned on when we turned the light switch ... It made a terrible racket.


  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham

Helpful?
Thank Marie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WingateMgmt235, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Manhattan Midtown, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Dear Marie,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave us a review! We are delighted that you had a very good stay and found our staff helpful and friendly. I want to apologize for the noisy fan and we will look into to it immediately. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New England
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

So, mistakes were made.

Mine was in hastily clicking through a very finicky web reservation system. I knew Wyndham had taken over management of a prior favorite NYC hotel on East 45th , the Alex, rebranding it as the Wyndham Midtown 45. I saw what would have been an acceptable rate, jumped on it and printed off the confirm. When I arrived in NY some weeks later and grabbed the confirm, I saw my mistake: I had booked the room at Wingate by Wyndham Midtown on West 35th.

Wyndhams's mistakes were at least threefold: (1) in its front desk people looking at me like an idiot when I explained my error and asked if they could transfer the reservation to East 45th St; (2) site placement of the property, and (3) its HVAC system. I won't even quibble about the filthy stains on the floor corridors, or the poor guest on the floor who must share the door entry with an icemaker, or the inclusive breakfast that one might expect if traveling the rural outposts of the hinterlands. But if you want to stay on a dingy, dirty, noisy street with lots of renovating and hustle noise, this is your place. The fabric district may be gentrifying up, but I'd not choose to be a pathfinder, at least at these prices. And the HVAC system was beyond absurd. I should have known when I checked in and the first thing I saw was a set of earplugs on the nightstand. I didn't realize until I returned late that evening from meetings that they were meant to drown out the sound of the air return system which produced a not so gentle roaring wall of sound when on - no way to adjust the flow or noise level, just the plugs. And when you turned on the light in the bathroom, which given the room ambient level of light was a necessity, on came an exhaust system which outdid the room system. Really, would two switches have been that difficult?

So, good luck to you if you book at this property thinking you got a good deal. Maybe I was having a tough day.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ValuingTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Vermont, Usa
1 review
Reviewed 19 October 2013

The hotel is in a great location for show and shopping. Also convenient to all transportation.
Great staff and very responsive to any requests.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham

Helpful?
Thank Joy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Best Western Premier Herald Square
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Penn Station
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#118 of 466 in New York City
1,319 reviews
Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#265 of 466 in New York City
2,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Em...
#165 of 466 in New York City
2,094 reviews
Midtown
Renaissance New York Midtown Hotel
Renaissance New York Midtown Hot...
#63 of 466 in New York City
614 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#272 of 466 in New York City
11,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wingate by Wyndham Manhattan Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham Manhattan Midtown

Property: Wingate by Wyndham Manhattan Midtown
Address: 235 W 35th St, New York City, NY 10001-1901
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#225 Business Hotel in New York City
#226 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Wingate by Wyndham Manhattan Midtown 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wingate by Wyndham Manhattan Midtown New York City Hotel is located just 1/2 block from Macys and Herald Square in the heart of the Garment/Fashion District, two blocks from Madison Square Garden and Penn Station and just moments away from such famous landmarks as the Empire State Building - 4 blocks, Times Square - 7 blocks, Bryant Park - 10 blocks, the Theater District - 10 blocks, and the Jacob Javits Convention Center - 10 blocks. At Wingate by Wyndham, we know you mean business. Our ninety-two spacious guestrooms and suites feature a well-lit work area, complimentary high speed internet access-wired and wireless, two line phones and remote printing from your room. The Wingate by Wyndham Manhattan Midtown is now offering FREE long distance calls to our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham Manhattan Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Manhattan Midtown Hotel New York City
Wingate New York City
Wingate Manhattan Midtown
Wyndham New York City
New York City Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing