We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, clean and comfortable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Manhattan Midtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Wingate by Wyndham Manhattan Midtown
Ranked #328 of 467 Hotels in New York City
London, UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice, clean and comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2008

Stayed here in mid Sept, we had a standard 2 bed room, which was shared by 3 people. The room was quite small especially when we were all there at the same time, but was perfectly fine in every other respect. It was clean with very comfortable beds, the bathroom was small but adequate (also very clean), and our room was right at the back so no street noise at night at all, apart from when they had a live singer in the bar downstairs one evening. Helpful front desk staff, breakfast wasn't great but not bad considering it's complimentary. We usually had breakfast down at Andrews? Coffee House just one block away from the hotel. Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone on a mid range budget.

  • Liked — Midtown location and very comfortable rooms
  • Disliked — Free breakfast
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ANSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,967 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    655
    785
    343
    113
    71
See reviews for
708
541
97
260
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2008

Nice hotel and friendly staff but a few problems. The noise in this place is terrible at least in the front rooms as garbage trucks seem to go all night. They have a white noise generator in the room but it still doesn't drown out the noise.
I stayed 5 days and never got clean towels.

  • Liked — clean
  • Disliked — noise
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Stebron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santiago
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2008

Nice room and amenities. Very warm staff. The noise was awful all day , but unbeareable at night with the garbage trucks working all night in front of the rooms located at the front.

never return to this place.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank amantedelanaturaleza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nashville TN
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2008

my stay at this hotel was one of the best parts of my trip to NYC. The people that work there seemed to be the only friendly service personel we met. We were on the back side of the hotel and did not hear any noise from dump trucks, and my phone(at&t) picked up fine. You can walk to almost everything, but I don't suggest it. you will end up walking or standing in line the whole trip. we took a bus tour and got some great pictures. there was plenty of space to hold our clothes and the beds were fantastic. it was a nice haven to go back to after an exhausting day of sightseeing.

  • Liked — staff, location
  • Disliked — no views
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Equusfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2008

Having read many good reviews we booked to stay at Wingate for 2 nights and I've got to say I will stay here again. Reception were very helpful. Rooms were clean, decor was good. Rooms were not cramped. Free breakfast was a bonus but we were up early everyday so did not have problem of breakfast running out. Free internet access / computor was also so useful. It's right next to Macy's - which is so convenient. I would highly recommend this place. Next time I go to NYC I will be staying here again

  • Liked — convenience, clean
  • Disliked — no pool
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sha-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philadelphia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2008

We stayed at the Wingate last weekend for the U.S. Open, and the convenience to Penn Station and the LIRR was unbeatable. The front desk was helpful and friendly, the rooms were bigger than many in NY, and the free breakfast was, well, free.
There were, however, some problems. I realize that $250/night is fairly cheap for midtown NY standards, and I am all for ecologically friendly hotels, but . . . . we were given two used soaps in a new soap box. The other issues were that the shower curtain had lots of mildew on it, the bathroom was generally not clean, the air conditioner was extremely loud, and the walls were paper-thin. Moreover, as everyone else has noted, they often run out of breakfast food.
Overall, a decent experience -- but the hotel could use some improvements.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Kendra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cowboynyc, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Manhattan Midtown, responded to this review, 10 September 2008
We strive to provide the best possible customer experiences for each and every one of our guests. We are always disappointed when one of our guests expresses unhappiness with their stay at our property, but we take their comments and use them to assist in training for the future. Our housekeeping department is trained to place new soap boxes into the bathroom, we do not open the boxes and inspect them for defects due to sanitary reasons. It is unfortunately the guest believes the soap they received was used soap and if that is indeed the case, it had to happen during the manufacturing of the soap. We have contacting the soap manufacturer to determine if they have changed how they process and deliver soap to us. The hotel has also conducted a thorough inspection of all guest rooms to ensure that there is no mildew growth and that all rooms are cleaned to the highest possible standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2008

I am sitting in my room this very minute writing my review because I am so pleased with our experience here that I could not wait until I got home. I just came upstairs from eating my fantastic FREE continental breakfast. Eggs, sausage (bacon yesterday) bagels, toast, cereal, muffins, belgian waffles, fresh fruit, 4 kinds of juices, coffee and specialty teas. I am not even sure if I got everything. The room is exceptionally clean, and very roomy by NYC hotel standards. The front desk people have been more than kind and friendly. I personally booked this room based on these reviews only, so that is why I am writing mine so quickly. Everything is within walking distance and for the price I don't think there is a better deal out there. My husband and our 2 young daughters were here for a yankee game and the american girl doll store. It has just been a wonderful experience and I am so sad to leave tomorrow. I would highly recommend this hotel and for sure would stay here again. Oh and the fridge is great for leftovers with the microwave on top to reheat them. Free wireless internet also worked perfectly. If I could give this hotel 10 stars I would. Not one single complaint about anything. This is the best hotel in midtown and a great value for the money.

  • Liked — free breakfast
  • Disliked — liked everything
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jim4966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Penn Station
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#115 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,215 reviews
Midtown
Renaissance New York Midtown Hotel
Renaissance New York Midtown Hot...
#67 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#273 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area
Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison ...
#170 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,821 reviews
Midtown
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Square
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Squa...
#104 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,576 reviews
Midtown
Comfort Inn Times Square South
Comfort Inn Times Square South
#265 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wingate by Wyndham Manhattan Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham Manhattan Midtown

Property: Wingate by Wyndham Manhattan Midtown
Address: 235 W 35th St, New York City, NY 10001-1901
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#229 Business Hotel in New York City
#230 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Wingate by Wyndham Manhattan Midtown 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wingate by Wyndham Manhattan Midtown New York City Hotel is located just 1/2 block from Macys and Herald Square in the heart of the Garment/Fashion District, two blocks from Madison Square Garden and Penn Station and just moments away from such famous landmarks as the Empire State Building - 4 blocks, Times Square - 7 blocks, Bryant Park - 10 blocks, the Theater District - 10 blocks, and the Jacob Javits Convention Center - 10 blocks. At Wingate by Wyndham, we know you mean business. Our ninety-two spacious guestrooms and suites feature a well-lit work area, complimentary high speed internet access-wired and wireless, two line phones and remote printing from your room. The Wingate by Wyndham Manhattan Midtown is now offering FREE long distance calls to our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel and Odigeo so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham Manhattan Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Manhattan Midtown Hotel New York City
Wingate New York City
Wingate Manhattan Midtown
Wyndham New York City
New York City Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing