We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location, Wonderful Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Lex NYC

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Lex NYC
Ranked #34 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Mahomet, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Location, Wonderful Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Totally enjoyed a three day stay. Room was clean and fresh, crisp linens, comfortable bed and most important- quiet.
Bathroom was much larger than any other hotel I've visited. Simple continental breakfast.
I would highly recommend and plan to stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy1205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt S, General Manager at The Lex NYC, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Greetings from The Lex NYC,

I wanted to personally thank you for your stellar review on our hotel. It is comments such as yours that motivates the team at the hotel to achieve excellence. We all have pride and passion when it comes to servicing our guests and it is great to see that this proved true during your visit. We would love to have you back as our valued guest shortly. Please contact the hotel directly and we will ensure another perfect stay! We wish you well until that time comes.

Regards,
Matt Slippoy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    437
    164
    22
    3
    3
See reviews for
73
322
55
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

I stayed there for 9 days. Very good location. Perfect and helpfull staff !!! - thanks guys !
Clean, safe, friendly place to stay in NY.
Good continental breakfast (coffe, de-cofee, tee, cookies, fruits)
If I ever would be in NY again for sure I will stay there !

Room Tip: A bit noicy room from the street side ...but this is the city not a country side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CezaryCezary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt S, General Manager at The Lex NYC, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Hello and thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. It is nice to see that you enjoyed your visit and that our staff treated you with the service that you have come to expect while staying at a hotel. I will be sure to share your comments with them as they take a great deal of pride at making each guests stay a perfect 10. Please dont be a stranger and come back to see us shortly.

Regards,
Matt Slippoy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

My daughter and I stayed here for three nights while she was apartment hunting. The room was comfortably clean, the bathroom was a good size, the bed comfortable, the breakfast adequate. The thing I liked the most however was the staff. They were friendly and helpful, and greeted me by name each time I entered the building. Loved the generous supply of wAter bottles too!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liznkate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt S, General Manager at The Lex NYC, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Wow! what a great review. We love to see happy guests and are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please don't be a stranger and give us call next time you are in NYC. We will ensure another perfect stay for you and your family.

Regards,

Matt Slippoy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallmadge, Ohio
Level Contributor
112 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

We really enjoyed our 4-night stay last week here.

Pros:
SUPER staff, friendly, helpful, anticipated our every need.
CLEAN. Bathroom, room, carpets were all very clean.
WATER. Loved the bottled water that appeared bedside every day.
Wine & cheese on Tuesday night! Nice spread.
BREAKFAST: good supply of coffee, fruit & pastries (the pain au chocolat was my fave.)
STREET NOISE was MINIMAL. I don't know where the other posters live who complained, but NYC is loud. This place is in a quiet area and across the street from an Armory. It was very quiet at night & didn't disrupt our sleep AT ALL. We were on the Lexington side, btw.

CONS
The walls ARE thin. Thank God our neighbors were fairly quiet. We could see that this might be an issue. Ask for a room ending in "01" or "04" --- that way, you'll only have neighbors on one side of you.
ONE CHAIR. There was only one chair in this tiny room, so one of us had to sit on the bed. Yes, the rooms are small, but there was so much to love about this place, that we'd stay here again, if the price & timing were right.

All in all, a GREAT find.

Room Tip: If noisy neighbors and thin walls are a problem, ask for a room on the Lex side ending in "01&q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janbo19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt S, General Manager at The Lex NYC, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Greetings from The Lex NYC,

I wanted to personally thank you for your stellar review on our hotel. It is comments such as yours that motivates the team at the hotel to achieve excellence. We all have pride and passion when it comes to servicing our guests and it is great to see that this proved true during your visit. I wanted to apologize for the noise issues that you experienced. We are aware of the noise concerns from room to room and our ownership group is currently working on a solution to this issue. We would love to have you back as our valued guest shortly and we wish you well until that time comes.

Regards,
Matt Slippoy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

I've stayed in Manhattan many times and this is the best little hotel I've ever stayed in. The room is small, but plenty big enough for my purposes. Huge TV (that I never watched; who watches TV on a NYC vacation?). The bed and pillows were absolute heaven - so clean and super comfy. Bathroom was sparkling and very pretty with all necessary amenities and great powerful shower.
The location is ideal, on Lexington between 25th and 26th in a quiet neighborhood and easy walking distance to Times Square, Penn and Grand Stations as well as a couple of lovely parks: Madison Square and Washington Square (both of which always have fun events on weekends).
The staff are all really friendly and go out of their way to be helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Br0phie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt S, General Manager at The Lex NYC, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Hello and thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent visit with us. Nothing is more important to the team at the hotel then receiving feedback from our valued guests. It is great to see that we were able to accommodate all of your expectations while in NYC. We strive hard to ensure that all of our guests request are not only met but exceeded. Please let us know if we can ever be of assistance in the future and until that time, we wish you the best.

Regards,
Matt Slippoy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

The Lex hotel has only recently openned and is on Lexington Avenue between 25th and 26th Streets.

First of all, location - It is about a mile and a half from Times Square and all of the attractions there, making it a $10-$15 cab ride (including tip) or 45-50 min walk away. The Lex is also right next to the Number 6 line (lesss than 5 min walk away) which can take you straight to Grand Central Station, downtown to the Brooklyn Bridge or uptown to Central Park and Museum Row. So while it may seem a little out of the way it really isn't once you learn to get around. Additionally, there are plenty of restaraunts located nearby and if you are a fan of Curry this place is right next to Little India so you can take your pick of about 10-15 different Indian restaraunts. Finally if you want a good Espresso, Stix Cafe is just up and around the corner on 23rd Street.

Next, the Room - The room is small but that is apparently the way it is in New York City. Having said that it is modern, clean and well appointed. The Bed is of a good standard and the 40" Samsung LCD in the room means that staying in, for what ever reason, is pretty comfortable. The bathroom is also in great condition with a very good shower (with half size tub) and well appointed basin. Here they have also made good use of space so you don't feel like you are shuffling around and making it quite easy to get yourself ready for your time travelling around New York.

Finally, the hotel and staff. The Hotel itself is fairly basic, there is no hotel restaurant, fitness room or any other type of ammenity. It has a lobby that is easily accessable from the street, and always manned, and your room - that is it. But if you just need somewhere to stay in New York that is all you need. The hotel does do Breakfast in the lobby every morning , where you can get a cup of coffee and a pastry, and also does welcome drinks on a Tuesday night..

This brings me to the best thing about this hotel - the Staff. The staff were attentive, informative, friendly and ever ready to help. If you need advice on anything New York they are happy to provide; every time you come back from your travels around the city they are there to welcome you back; and if you need help or anything is lacking in your room, they fix it immediately. I cannot emphasise enough how good they were.

Overall this is an Excellent boutique hotel - you get a great room, with great service at a great price. You need to work a little to get around but once you have it sorted it is easy. This is not the Ritz, so you don't get a heap of other ammenities, but I found it to be a great place to base myself for a week exploring NYC.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jason_of_Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt S, General Manager at The Lex NYC, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Hello from NYC,

I wanted to personally reach out to thank you for your fantastic review. Your in depth comments pretty much hit on all of our goals while opening the hotel. We are very proud of our product and location but even more proud of the team at the hotel. We are aware that we lack some of the amenities of a Ritz and because of that we worked hard at finding the best talent in NYC. I truly believe that we have knocked that goal out of the park. Our team is dedicated at providing all guests with a perfect stay and your great review shows that all the hard work has paid off. I will be sure to share your comments with the team as they pride themselves at making memories for our guests. Please feel free to contact me directly should you find yourself back in NYC and our team will ensure another perfect stay for you. Thanks again, for your comments and we hope to have you back as our valued guests shortly.

Regards,
Matt Slippoy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

We were very happy with this hotel and will definitely stay here again. Very pleasant and good size room; nicely decorated; very clean and comfortable; good price; friendly and helpful staff; good area; 20 minute walk from GCT.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RML9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt S, General Manager at The Lex NYC, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Hello and thank you for your great review. We are delighted that our hotel worked out well for your travel needs. We all strive to provide each guest with a perfect stay and I'm glad we were able to do that during your recent visit. Please feel free to contact me directly should you find yourself back in NYC and our team will ensure another great stay.

Regards,
Matt Slippoy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#29 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Manhattan
Edge Hotel
Edge Hotel
#38 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Little Italy
NobleDEN Hotel
NobleDEN Hotel
#20 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gramercy Park
Park South Hotel
Park South Hotel
#48 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,114 reviews
Chelsea
Innside New York NoMad
Innside New York NoMad
#69 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,383 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel Times Square
Distrikt Hotel Times Square
#53 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lex NYC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lex NYC

Property: The Lex NYC
Address: 67 Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10010-1833
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lex NYC 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Complimentary coffee Complimentary Bottled water ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, LoveHolidays, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, TravelUp, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Lex NYC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing