We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“At last a great hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lex NYC

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Lex NYC
Ranked #36 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Kew, London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“At last a great hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Just finished a quick trip to NYC and tried out The Lex. What a delightful hotel. None of the typical New York attitude where front of door staff feel they should be on the silver screen rather than dealing with you. No attendants who are more bothered about tips than service and no room so small you have to take turns in the bathroom.
From the moment we arrived we were met with smiles and genuine warmth. Front desk could not have been more pleasant and offered good advice with plenty of local knowledge. They seemed to care about us having a good time.
Breakfast is good coffee (no "brown drinking fluid" here) and pastries in a self serve set up where staff are happy to help you up to your room should you accidentally overload.
Some rooms have balconies which is great but don't expect a beautiful vista - you're not in Kansas now Dorothy. More to the point they are big enough that you don't have to move bags and clothes each time you want to walk around the bed. Genuine space.
As you may be able to tell. I loved it.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank BrentfordBoyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt S, General Manager at The Lex NYC, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
What a fantastic review. We cant thank you enough for your kind words. All of your comments touch on our goals at the property. There is nothing more important these days than genuine service where you can create memories for your guests/friends. I am delighted that you were on the receiving end of our teams dedication at providing perfect stays for all of our guests. Please contact us directly next time you are in NYC and we will ensure another memorable stay.

Regards,

Matt Slippoy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    426
    165
    21
    3
    3
See reviews for
71
316
54
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

I stayed 9 nights in this hotel on a solo vacation. The staff were friendly, very professional and always helpful. Location was great and I was very impressed overall by the level of service and the cleanliness of the room. Travelling solo, it was always comforting to come back to a friendly face at the desk and staff whom after a few days, greeted you by name. Before I went, I read reviews that it could be noisy, and being a light sleeper, I asked for a quiet room. All 9 nights I was there on the highest floor, I was never disturbed be it by hotel guests or traffic outside. During the day, you can hear occupants in the next room on their tele-conferences quite clearly, but at night, it is very quiet. If I could rank the things I found impressive about this place it would be first and foremost the professionalism and warmth of the staff, the cleanliness of the room and the comfort of the bed, and hotel location. One thing which I felt could be improved was the shower - water pressure could have been stronger. Overall, I would recommend it to anyone visiting, and I would myself return to stay at the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

I spotted The Lex on TripAdvisor by accident, and i'm so glad I did. It's in a great location near Madison Sq Park, near the 4/5/6 and N/Q/R trains. Walking distance to everything if you want. Tons of awesome restaurants nearby. The hotel itself if totally great. Rooms are bigger than average and brand new. And the staff is great. Super find. I plan to stay there again.

Helpful?
Thank frankopotato
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Matt S, General Manager at The Lex NYC, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
wanted to personally thank you for your stellar review on our hotel. It is comments such as yours that motivates the team at the hotel to achieve excellence. We all have pride and passion when it comes to servicing our guests and it is great to see that this proved true during your visit. We would love to have you back as our values guest shortly and we wish you well until that time comes.

Regards,
Matt Slippoy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

We stayed at the Lex for 3 nights last week, We could not fault anything about the Hotel. The staff are so friendly and helpful, the hotel is spotless and the rooms was big compared to more expensive hotels in NYC
We were given a room on the second floor at the front of the hotel initially, i was slightly worried that we would be kept awake by the road noise as we had spent the previous 3 nights at another hotel in the city and had not got much sleep.
i went down to reception and the lady kindly moved me to a room at the rear of the hotel without fuss. We slept like babies every night, it was lovely and quiet and the bed was lovely and comfortable.
Thank You the Lex for making our stay so special.

Room Tip: if you want a guaranteed good nights sleep chose a room at the rear
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stuart w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiverton, Rhode Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

Imagine an upscale, chic hotel with sizeable rooms and bathrooms and rates under $300 in NYC. That's the Lex. Conveniently located on Lexington and 25th, it's walkable to everywhere, save maybe Tribeca and Wall Street. Impressed with the friendlilness and helpfulness of the staff. The hotel has only been opened about 3 months, so everything was in excellent condition and very clean. Some rooms have balconies, but the view isn't much. Still it is nice to have a sliding door and window you can open for "fresh" (it's in NYC remember) air. I would return whenever in NYC

Room Tip: I stayed in a superior queen on the top floor in the back with a balcony. It was good size for NYC...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank LikeItLuxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt S, General Manager at The Lex NYC, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Hello and thank you for your kind comments regarding our property. We pride ourselves at offering all guests/friends warm genuine service and deluxe accommodations at an affordable price point. We always want our guests to feel like they received a good value for their money spent. I am glad that you enjoyed your visit with us. Please feel free to contact us directly next time you visit NYC and we will ensure another perfect stay.

Regards,

Matt Slippoy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

We had a great 5-day stay at The Lex NYC. Our room was small, but it was nice to have a balcony, esp this time of year. The hotel is fresh and new, still in great shape. Washrooms are immaculately clean and comfortable. I like this place because it has the feel of a 4 or 5 star hotel, but not the price tag, and with all the attractions of downtown Manhattan, this place was a comfortable, quiet place to sleep and unwind. The staff are all super friendly and accommodating, too! We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: For a quiet room, ask for a higher floor at the back of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maryam-getaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt S, General Manager at The Lex NYC, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
I wanted to personally reach out to you and thank you for sharing your comments on your recent visit with us. As a new hotel, nothing is more important then receiving feedback from our valued guests. It was a true pleasure to have met you and to have the chance to talk to you each morning in the hotel lobby. We take a great deal of pride when it comes to servicing our guests and it is great to see that we hit our goal of 100% satisfaction during your stay. Please don't be a stranger and come back to us again soon.

Regards,
Matt Slippoy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

friendly / helpful staff; clean, well appointed rooms; decent size for Manhattan
close to Lexington line, walking distance to Flatiron + Greenwich Village; Dos Caminos + Penelope good recommendations!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kris4travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt S, General Manager at The Lex NYC, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Hello and thank you for your review. We are delighted that our hotel worked out well for your travel needs. We all strive to provide each guest with a great stay and I'm glad we were able to do that during your recent visit. Please feel free to contact me directly should you find yourself back in NYC and our team will ensure another great stay while turning that 4 star review into a 5 star review. Our team does not stop until we hit perfection and I am confident that we can get there with your next visit.

Regards,
Matt Slippoy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Manhattan
Edge Hotel
Edge Hotel
#38 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Little Italy
NobleDEN Hotel
NobleDEN Hotel
#18 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel
Distrikt Hotel
#55 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Innside New York Nomad
Innside New York Nomad
#64 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,267 reviews
Chelsea
Chelsea Pines Inn
Chelsea Pines Inn
#31 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,063 reviews
Financial District
Q&A Residential Hotel
Q&A Residential Hotel
#21 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lex NYC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lex NYC

Property: The Lex NYC
Address: 67 Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10010-1833
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lex NYC 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Complimentary coffee Complimentary Bottled water ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Odigeo and Superbreak UK so you can book your The Lex NYC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing