We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hip, happy hangout”
Review of Duane Street Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Duane Street Hotel
Ranked #254 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Princeton, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hip, happy hangout”
Reviewed 22 March 2011

Stayed here with a best friend. Loved everything about the hotel: clean, airy rooms that, while not huge, are fresh and perfectly-appointed--and have wood floors...no skeevy carpeting to tiptoe across! Fabulous, arty colors on all of the walls--even the hallways are cool. Everyone we dealt with was helpful, friendly, easy-going. The whole vibe was chill and relaxing, but not lax. We had appetizers and wine in the lobby/Metaphor restaurant. Felt like we were in a friend's living room; our wine glasses were constantly topped off, and the food was really delicious.
The area is without parallel: great people-watching, boutique-bopping, crazy-great restaurant options.
I will beeline it back to the Duane!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    323
    208
    43
    14
    22
See reviews for
94
214
54
158
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hampton, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 14 February 2011

Very clean hotel. Hardwood floors instead of questionably clean carpet. Small but efficient room. Comfortable bed with pristine white bedding. Friendly and helpful but unobtrusive staff. Nice, relatively quiet neighborhood with good restaurants. Near the subway and easy to grab a cab.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wmyrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, PA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 February 2011

Duane Street Hotel is a hidden treasure in the heart of Tribeca. The hotel was beautifully clean and the service excellent. One of the lightbulbs burned out in the bathroom (wasn't a big deal because there were two lights), without even mentioning a word, the room service checked the room mid-day and replaced the bulb. Great attention to detail!
The location is fabulous - nestled right in a great location but the room was so quiet.
Only one complaint - the room was quite hot. If you turn your thermostat way down before going out, you will be fine.

Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SandraD1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 February 2011

I stayed at the Duane St. Hotel while i was in town for some business meetings. Since it is in Tribeca it was a little inconvenient for some of my midtown meetings but it is convenient to subway and i never had trouble getting a taxi.
The room was small (aren't they all in the city), but always clean and nicely decorated.
Bar and restaurant attracted cool people, and was fun.
i had the opportunity to stay an extra two days because of a blizzard and canceled flights and the desk was very helpful and I wound up having a great time and enjoying the city and neighborhood in the snow.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marathonmanalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bear, DE
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2011

We (hubby, 3 yr old, & I) were looking for a weekend NYC getaway & choose to stay at the Duane Street hotel per a Cyber Monday deal I'd found. While it was very small (I've stayed in similar small rooms closer to Times Square), it was very clean & welcoming. Upon check-in, we were informed of books available for check out for our little one, which was a first. Our room was nicely painted, bright, & made practical use of the space available. At first, we thought it was quiet, but upon returning at night, were surprised that it has a bit of nightlife (trendy & upscale crowd). We would've sat & had a drink had we not had the little one with us. In the morning, we were able to walk to the World Trade Center, which is just a few blocks away. All in all, I'd recommend this small gem of a hotel!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn1123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2011

We paid nearly US$600 a night for what is a very ordinary hotel. i am stunned to see others received turn down service, a newspaper, breakfast - we did not receive any of these. In 30 years of travelling absolutely the worst value hotel i have ever stayed in, anywhere on the planet. the windows were very dirty - not cleaned for a long time. the aircon was incredibly noisy. the first room we were shown was microscopic - eventually given a room where you could at least get the suitcases in. the bed is badly designed with a sharp edge that protudes - both hurt our legs, and also a very saggy experience to sleep on. the shower produced a miniscule dribble. VERY NOISY from traffic - hard to sleep. Staff would shout and argue very loudly in corridors at all hours - were woken several times a night. view of run down buildings outside. the front desk staff were all young, some quite aggressive, and mostly unghelpful. would not call a taxi on departure - waved us to the street where we stood for nearly 45 minutes in vain. it was so uncomfortable and so expensive for so little, we decamped to the Royalton mid town, paid $150 LESS per night and got full 5 star service, great room, great staff, and CLEAN.

I would not pay any more than $150 per night for this dump. not only overpriced, but actually was so unpleasant we had to move. Had booked 3 days. After first horrible night they insisted that if we checked out they would charge us at least for two nights, even if we stayed one - they would charge my credit card regardless. Forced to stay two nights. Made it clear that we were not happy with the poor condition of the hotel, but staff did not care. emailed management, never had a reply

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MrFox99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHoustonNYC, Manager at Duane Street Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2011
Dear Mr.Fox99,

I am very sorry to hear of your rather disappointing experience at the hotel. Please accept my greatest apologies for not giving you the trip and experience you had expected. Unfortunately, I did not receive any correspondence from you directly or I would have certainly responded to you and appreciated your feedback so that we can better ourselves and the service we offer our guests. If you would allow, I would appreciate hearing from you, so please feel free to call me directly (212-542-9302) or email me (maggie.houston@duanestreethotel.com). While I can not take back your experience, I would appreciate the opportunity to speak with you to take measures at resolving at least some of your displeasure.

Regards,
Maggie Houston
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2011

Impossible to sleep, constant noise from heater, street cars, shaking from the metro down, no air so small is the room, no space at all even to put luggages, no views, curtains didn't close light, no sound insulation, shower was small and wAter flooding the toilet, odd noises coming from street and neighbors, room too hot an tv wasn't working, price for standard room in low season 230 dollars. just can't sleep no matter how tires you are

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pigna1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHoustonNYC, Manager at Duane Street Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2011
Thank you for sharing your experience. I'm very sorry to hear of the issues you encountered during your stay. While I'm sure many NYC hotels wish that they could offer larger room space in all guest rooms, this is an unfortunate obstacle that most can not overcome. While this is a rather unsurmountable task, we can certainly work to eradicate many of the other issues you encountered. I will certainly share your feedback with my corporate office as well as all staff members to see what improvements we can make to ensure future guests do not experience the same problems. Please accept my sincerest apologies. We have many repeat guests who have enjoyed their stays with us and I am very sorry to hear that we dropped the ball during your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
TriBeCa
Smyth, a Thompson Hotel
Smyth, a Thompson Hotel
#72 of 467 in New York City
453 reviews
TriBeCa
The Roxy Hotel Tribeca
The Roxy Hotel Tribeca
#15 of 467 in New York City
466 reviews
TriBeCa
Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca
Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca
#238 of 467 in New York City
1,922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
TriBeCa
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribeca
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribe...
#183 of 467 in New York City
1,409 reviews
SoHo
Soho Grand Hotel
Soho Grand Hotel
#168 of 467 in New York City
2,955 reviews
SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
#76 of 467 in New York City
877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duane Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duane Street Hotel

Property: Duane Street Hotel
Address: 130 Duane St, New York City, NY 10013-3808
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > TriBeCa , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Business Hotel in New York City
#75 Family Hotel in New York City
#126 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#167 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Duane Street Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Duane Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Duane Street

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing