We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for couples - Not the greatest with kids” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Duane Street Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Duane Street Hotel
Ranked #130 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good for couples - Not the greatest with kids”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2011

I would say GOOD as opposed to Very Good. We had a room with two queen beds, which were comfortable for our family (2 adults, 2 kids 10 and 13). We enjoyed the area - residential and convenient to subways. However, if your trip is more centered to Times Square, Broadway, Rockefeller Center, definitely stay farther north. Not many extras here except good cookies in the evening which we did enjoy. Seems kid friendly from website but not much space for them to hang out a bit - sitting area is next to the small bar. . . I think couples would enjoy more.

Room Tip: Ask for room on top floors to avoid street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank QDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    309
    200
    42
    14
    22
See reviews for
89
205
52
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Albany, California
Level Contributor
69 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2011

A wonderful small hotel. The rooms are compact, but beautifully appointed. The staff are very helpful, the location is good. I love the small and cozy and friendly feel about the place.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HereWeGo282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2011

The hotel is a block from a friend's apartment so we decided to give a go to avoid the cab ride home after a party. The rooms are super Manhattan small, and there is no fridge in the rooms - as there is nowhere to put one! We were in an 'Executive King' but the bathroom was so small that it did make us wonder how small a real queen would have to be to fit in the bathroom at all! The bed has sharp wooden corners which you WILL hit your shin on as the room is too small to walk around the bed without doing so.

On the plus side the staff were very helpful when I needed emergency dry cleaning and pressing of a suit, and the shoe shine they organised for my old brown brogues was stunning. In all honesty the downstairs bar and restaurant is a bit smaller than the impression you'd get from the website - this is a small hotel. But if you want to be in the heart of Tribeca and stay somewhere quiet, friendly and discreet this might be for you...

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hypercritical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2011

My husband and I spent one week there in may 11. The hotel is great: room is large, shower very big, great internet connection and very kind stuff. I'd go there again next time!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maccinelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2011

small rooms, but comfortable, quiet, clean with all the amenities. The location is great to walk to everything in lower Manhattan and close to the subway. Can't beat that on a short trip.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BridgetCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2011

I had never heard of Duane Street Hotel before. I made a reservation through Magellan Vacations. I was looking for something in lower Manhattan because we had already toured upper and midtown area earlier in the week. Duane Street is perfectly located in Tribeca off a quite street but within waling distance of Soho, Little Italy, Chinatown and the Financial District. I felt very comfortable and safe at this hotel. It is not flashy and does not come with a chocolate on your pillow but we did not come to sit in a hotel during our visit to NYC. Duane Street Hotel was cozy and cooperative with all our needs. Elvin, the front desk concierge, gave us great maps and recommendations. Make sure you visit Petite Abeille for some fantastic Belgian fare.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aboespfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2011

I'd recommend this hotel. Clean, quiet at nights, easy-going friendly staff, nice interiors in bedrooms, nothing fancy, wood floors, quite neat lobby. Serves decent breakfast. Tried to use the off-premises gym they're associated with and met with very surly staff there; but apart from that, my stay was just what I wanted. Hotel is ideal for lower Manhattan. I'd recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zeugmation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
TriBeCa
Smyth, a Thompson Hotel
Smyth, a Thompson Hotel
#60 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
TriBeCa
The Roxy Hotel Tribeca
The Roxy Hotel Tribeca
#22 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
TriBeCa
Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca
Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca
#223 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
TriBeCa
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribeca
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribe...
#188 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,325 reviews
SoHo
11 Howard
11 Howard
#35 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
#69 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duane Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duane Street Hotel

Property: Duane Street Hotel
Address: 130 Duane St, New York City, NY 10013-3808
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > TriBeCa , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Business Hotel in New York City
#53 Green Hotel in New York City
#77 Family Hotel in New York City
#103 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#129 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Duane Street Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, Hotels.com and LoveHolidays so you can book your Duane Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Duane Street

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing