We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique and personal”
Review of Duane Street Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Duane Street Hotel
Ranked #197 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2011

The limited number of rooms makes the hotel nice, friendly and personal. Good service from all staff, restaurant food was good and nice atmosphere in the bar. Room clean, modern and tasteful, bathroom very nice. What else can I say just a great all-round stay.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crgedge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (642)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

502 - 508 of 642 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2011

Having stayed at 5-star hotels throughout the world I can tell you that this hotel competes with them for service. I think the front desk staff memorizes the name of every guest in the hotel. They are very friendly and accomodating and our concierge was one of the best. The level of service is on par with any hotel, anywhere. If I have anything to say about it our group will stay here every year for our training sessions.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark1028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2011

I stayed here for a week and thoroughly enjoyed the stay. The staff were friendly and the service was excellent. The rooms are modern, comfortable, well appointed and quite roomy for NYC. The location is very good, close to the Broadway shopping district, the financial district and within walking distance to Soho and the Village. There is an excellent gym with free access from the hotel a block away and plenty of nearby cafes, bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WhichWayNext
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2011

I would say GOOD as opposed to Very Good. We had a room with two queen beds, which were comfortable for our family (2 adults, 2 kids 10 and 13). We enjoyed the area - residential and convenient to subways. However, if your trip is more centered to Times Square, Broadway, Rockefeller Center, definitely stay farther north. Not many extras here except good cookies in the evening which we did enjoy. Seems kid friendly from website but not much space for them to hang out a bit - sitting area is next to the small bar. . . I think couples would enjoy more.

Room Tip: Ask for room on top floors to avoid street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank QDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2011

A wonderful small hotel. The rooms are compact, but beautifully appointed. The staff are very helpful, the location is good. I love the small and cozy and friendly feel about the place.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HereWeGo282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2011

The hotel is a block from a friend's apartment so we decided to give a go to avoid the cab ride home after a party. The rooms are super Manhattan small, and there is no fridge in the rooms - as there is nowhere to put one! We were in an 'Executive King' but the bathroom was so small that it did make us wonder how small a real queen would have to be to fit in the bathroom at all! The bed has sharp wooden corners which you WILL hit your shin on as the room is too small to walk around the bed without doing so.

On the plus side the staff were very helpful when I needed emergency dry cleaning and pressing of a suit, and the shoe shine they organised for my old brown brogues was stunning. In all honesty the downstairs bar and restaurant is a bit smaller than the impression you'd get from the website - this is a small hotel. But if you want to be in the heart of Tribeca and stay somewhere quiet, friendly and discreet this might be for you...

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hypercritical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2011

My husband and I spent one week there in may 11. The hotel is great: room is large, shower very big, great internet connection and very kind stuff. I'd go there again next time!

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maccinelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
TriBeCa
The Frederick Hotel
The Frederick Hotel
#243 of 469 in New York City
1,984 reviews
TriBeCa
Smyth, a Thompson Hotel
Smyth, a Thompson Hotel
#73 of 469 in New York City
512 reviews
TriBeCa
The Roxy Hotel Tribeca
The Roxy Hotel Tribeca
#27 of 469 in New York City
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Aloft Manhattan Downtown Financial District
Aloft Manhattan Downtown Financi...
#321 of 469 in New York City
199 reviews
TriBeCa
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribeca
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribe...
#169 of 469 in New York City
1,470 reviews
TriBeCa
Sheraton Tribeca New York Hotel
Sheraton Tribeca New York Hotel
#316 of 469 in New York City
2,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duane Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duane Street Hotel

Address: 130 Duane St, New York City, NY 10013-3808
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > TriBeCa , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Business Hotel in New York City
#75 Family Hotel in New York City
#126 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#144 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £138 - £387 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Duane Street Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Splitty, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Duane Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Duane Street

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing