We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place, Great Price!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Duane Street Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Duane Street Hotel
Ranked #129 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Place, Great Price!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

My friend and I stayed at the Duane Street Hotel, which is a nice walk from where we were researching vital records at the Municipal Archives on Chambers Street. The room was small and on Church Street (busy street side), but we didn't need a large room to spend a lot of time in, but in the future, I would request an inside room. The room was clean and modern. Everyone was pleasant, from the receptionist to the manager, who came over to talk with us. We didn't have breakfast, but there is a cute place on the main level for eats and drinks. I will go back again!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KathleenCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    312
    203
    43
    14
    22
See reviews for
90
208
52
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2011

The limited number of rooms makes the hotel nice, friendly and personal. Good service from all staff, restaurant food was good and nice atmosphere in the bar. Room clean, modern and tasteful, bathroom very nice. What else can I say just a great all-round stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crgedge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quincy, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2011

Having stayed at 5-star hotels throughout the world I can tell you that this hotel competes with them for service. I think the front desk staff memorizes the name of every guest in the hotel. They are very friendly and accomodating and our concierge was one of the best. The level of service is on par with any hotel, anywhere. If I have anything to say about it our group will stay here every year for our training sessions.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark1028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2011

I stayed here for a week and thoroughly enjoyed the stay. The staff were friendly and the service was excellent. The rooms are modern, comfortable, well appointed and quite roomy for NYC. The location is very good, close to the Broadway shopping district, the financial district and within walking distance to Soho and the Village. There is an excellent gym with free access from the hotel a block away and plenty of nearby cafes, bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WhichWayNext
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2011

I would say GOOD as opposed to Very Good. We had a room with two queen beds, which were comfortable for our family (2 adults, 2 kids 10 and 13). We enjoyed the area - residential and convenient to subways. However, if your trip is more centered to Times Square, Broadway, Rockefeller Center, definitely stay farther north. Not many extras here except good cookies in the evening which we did enjoy. Seems kid friendly from website but not much space for them to hang out a bit - sitting area is next to the small bar. . . I think couples would enjoy more.

Room Tip: Ask for room on top floors to avoid street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank QDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, California
Level Contributor
69 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2011

A wonderful small hotel. The rooms are compact, but beautifully appointed. The staff are very helpful, the location is good. I love the small and cozy and friendly feel about the place.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HereWeGo282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2011

The hotel is a block from a friend's apartment so we decided to give a go to avoid the cab ride home after a party. The rooms are super Manhattan small, and there is no fridge in the rooms - as there is nowhere to put one! We were in an 'Executive King' but the bathroom was so small that it did make us wonder how small a real queen would have to be to fit in the bathroom at all! The bed has sharp wooden corners which you WILL hit your shin on as the room is too small to walk around the bed without doing so.

On the plus side the staff were very helpful when I needed emergency dry cleaning and pressing of a suit, and the shoe shine they organised for my old brown brogues was stunning. In all honesty the downstairs bar and restaurant is a bit smaller than the impression you'd get from the website - this is a small hotel. But if you want to be in the heart of Tribeca and stay somewhere quiet, friendly and discreet this might be for you...

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hypercritical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
TriBeCa
Smyth, a Thompson Hotel
Smyth, a Thompson Hotel
#59 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
TriBeCa
The Roxy Hotel Tribeca
The Roxy Hotel Tribeca
#15 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
TriBeCa
Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca
Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca
#230 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
TriBeCa
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribeca
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribe...
#184 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,344 reviews
SoHo
11 Howard
11 Howard
#36 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
#84 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duane Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duane Street Hotel

Property: Duane Street Hotel
Address: 130 Duane St, New York City, NY 10013-3808
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > TriBeCa , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Business Hotel in New York City
#54 Green Hotel in New York City
#76 Family Hotel in New York City
#103 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#128 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Duane Street Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TravelUp, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Duane Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Duane Street

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing