We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Experience at Duane Street Hotel”
Review of Duane Street Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Duane Street Hotel
Ranked #220 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 January 2014

I really enjoyed my stay at the Duane Street Hotel. I thought the value was excellent for a Manhattan hotel. The rooms, as others have noted, are on the small side, but my room was well laid out, well maintained, and more than adequate for sleeping and doing some in room work. I did miss having an in hotel exercise facility, but otherwise this was a perfect place for me to stay. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikey412014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas D, General Manager at Duane Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Duane Street and looking forward to your next visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (626)
There are newer reviews for Duane Street Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

328 - 334 of 626 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2014

Sexy and chic meet comfort and location in this residential style Tribeca hotel. Epitomizing boutique, it was slim on amenities and room size, but the efficient and friendly staff, sexy finish work, and bed like a cloud more than made up for the size of the room and lack of in-house Sunday dining options. No problem, really, as the front desk set me to a cool place around the corner called Tiny's that served a killer brunch and has a log burning fireplace. Walking distance to the 9-11 memorial and anything you could possibly need were an added bonus. This is the type of hotel you return to again and again because it is more like staying in a hip city B&B than a boring branded box hotel. I was happy to find out it is part of a small collection of hotels up and down the East coast (Boston, Philly, DC, Miami) so will try out their other hotels for sure. And the social responsibility program was in line with the cool factor: I was able to buy a sexy one of a kind T-Shirt with proceeds benefitting the Autism Society, soft sold by the front desk. Love this place and can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Stay in Executive corner rooms for walls of windows and a little more square footage.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OneGladiator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas D, General Manager at Duane Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Thank you for your great feedback and the entire team is looking forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

I long ago concluded that the term "boutique" is simply a convenient euphamism fo describing a hotel with small rooms and short on facilities (e.g. Gym). Well, this hotel takes this to the limit. I have NEVER seen such tiny rooms in ANY hotel in ANY country. Don't bother to bring much by way of clothing as there is virtually no cupboard space. We had booked for two nights as part of a block booking for a family function but were not prepared to spend a single night in a tiny room overlooking a busy and noisy street. The hotel "graciously" agreed to charge us "only" one night of the two booked.
I can best summarise our experience by quoting what my wife said on seeing the room: "maybe, when I was a student, I would have been prepared to stay in a room like this"
Don't bother to bring a cat; as the saying goes "noi room to swing it".

Room Tip: Don't bother; there aren'rt any
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travel-agent-boris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas D, General Manager at Duane Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Thank you for taking time to write a review.

We appreciate honest feedback so that we can work harder to improve our facilities and provide the best customer service.

I am very sorry to hear about your experience and we like to think the smaller sizes of our rooms are made comfortable by our excellent luxury amenities such as our Scandia bedding, REN bathroom products, and complimentary Wi-Fi.

Additionally, please note that despite lacking the space for an adequate in-house gym the hotel does offer complimentary access to Tribeca’s Equinox Gym & Spa.

Again, thank you for your response, and I am saddened that we did not assist you better in making your stay with us more enjoyable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

This wonderful hotel is like your european pension. Its in a convenient location, inexpensive by NYC standard, clean and the rooms tend on the small side but that's all you need in NYC. The people that work here all have sunny disposition and are very helpful and polite, which makes for a lovely stay. I was here with my two kids and they were very accommodating, some might think thats expected but you would be surprised how many kid hostile places are around once you have kids. I will definitely use this more often

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eurore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas D, General Manager at Duane Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Thank you for your wonderful comments and are looking forward to seeing soon with your kids

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

First time being in New York and I was there, tagging along my wife for her business trip.

Rooms:
The size of my room was slightly too small for 2, probably will book a bigger room the next time but it's all good as I'm out most of the time. The beds were awesome and our sleep was great!

The only problem we had during our stay was that the aircon was down twice in the middle of the night but it was fixed by the handyman the following day.

Service:
The staff was amazing. Dominica and Kelly were really helpful, thoughtful and pleasant! Kelly -Going the extra mile to research comedy shows timing, location, how-to-get there when I mentioned I was looking forward to comedy shows in NY! Dominca - really helped with advices on the places that I can explore along Lower Manhattan, which is where I've enjoyed the most on Day1 by walking along the beautiful Hudson River.

Neighbourhood/Location:
Plenty of food options nearby, shophouses were literally opposite the hotel. Starbucks, delicious breakfast options (which I've tried almost all), pizza joints which were all walking distance. A nice Japanese restaurant nearby too.

Location:
Lower Mahanttan is superb in my opinion, It's probably a good 15-20mins walk to Brooklyn Bridge and a couple of subway down to the Wall Street, Stock Exchange, South Seaport, Piers that will take you to Statue Of Liberty and further down south-east into Brooklyn neighbourhood.

Subway:
The hotel is in Tribeca area and there are many subway 'lines' that crosses the stations in this area - which means it's easily accessible to most areas within Manhantten!

Overall stay was great, simply love the weather and my hotel location. Will definitely return to stay and look forward to see the pleasant staff of Duane Street Hotel!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JLim83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas D, General Manager at Duane Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

We are glad you enjoyed your stay in Tribeca and the entire staff is looking forward to greeting you the next time you are in town,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

My husband and I stayed at Duane Street Hotel recently for a long weekend. We were looking for something cozy and convenient away from the touristy areas, and this was it.

The room itself was small, but nice. The linens were clean and good quality, the bed was comfy, the shower had plenty of hot water, and for a NYC room it was very quiet. Free WiFi in the rooms was nice and good signal. The only slightly negative thing was that the hotel room doors open and close really loudly so we could hear people coming and going at all hours of the day and night.

The hotel is in a great location - close to several good restaurants, close to subway lines, walking distance to Chinatown, Little Italy and the Brooklyn Bridge, a short cab ride to the Village, etc. If you're looking for a good place to stay away from the touristy areas, this is it.

We'll definitely return to Duane Street Hotel for our next trip to the city.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grateful_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas D, General Manager at Duane Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2013

We appreciate your great recommendation and looking forward to having you back next year

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

10 of us stayed at the Duane Street Hotel for 5 nights during our recent stay in NYC Christmas week. The hotel is in Tribeca and close to many subway lines. We easily were able to get to the Freedom Tower, Greenwich Village, Soho, Lower East Side, Rockefeller Center, Midtown west and east (basically all over the city). The rooms are small but big enough for a king size bed (many hotels we looked at only had queen beds). The bed, and pillows were extremely comfortable. The bar is in the lobby, the bartender was extremely friendly and so was every other employee we met. (I am sorry I did not get their names to personally acknowledge them all in this review). We did not eat in the restaurant but it has a high Zagat rating! This is the first time we have not stayed in midtown. It was nice to be able to visit the madness of midtown but even nicer to not stay in it! I would HIGHLY recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Manhattan looking to stay in a great boutique hotel in a "neighborhood" accessible to all.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vacationingisthebest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas D, General Manager at Duane Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2013

Thank you for your great comments and appreciate your recommendation. Lookig forward to having you and friend back next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
TriBeCa
Smyth, a Thompson Hotel
Smyth, a Thompson Hotel
#73 of 468 in New York City
484 reviews
TriBeCa
The Frederick Hotel
The Frederick Hotel
#240 of 468 in New York City
1,949 reviews
TriBeCa
The Roxy Hotel Tribeca
The Roxy Hotel Tribeca
#20 of 468 in New York City
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
TriBeCa
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribeca
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribe...
#180 of 468 in New York City
1,441 reviews
SoHo
11 Howard
11 Howard
#69 of 468 in New York City
515 reviews
SoHo
Soho Grand Hotel
Soho Grand Hotel
#169 of 468 in New York City
2,991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duane Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duane Street Hotel

Address: 130 Duane St, New York City, NY 10013-3808
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > TriBeCa , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Business Hotel in New York City
#75 Family Hotel in New York City
#126 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#157 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £162 - £423 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Duane Street Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Duane Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Duane Street

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing