We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My home away from home...”
Review of Duane Street Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Duane Street Hotel
Ranked #251 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“My home away from home...”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

I live in New York one week every 3 weeks and the Duane Street Hotel is my second home. I love it ! The rooms are beautiful and the staff very friendly. It is in the heart of Tribeca, a great neighborhood...

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank SGanter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas D, General Manager at Duane Street Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Thank you for your feedback and we are always happy to host you and your family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    325
    208
    43
    14
    22
See reviews for
94
215
54
159
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Herndon, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

The Duane Street Hotel was my very first experience staying at a boutique hotel. Its small size created a homey atmosphere, and the staff were personally very friendly and helpful. The décor made me feel as if I were staying at an art museum or were even part of an art exhibit. The location is excellent for a business as well as a recreational visitor to Lower Manhattan. The restaurant prepared its meals at lightning speed, and the menu contained very delicious creative items for the tourist to sample. The building insulation was perfect, and the bed was one of the most comfortable I've ever slept in.

Room Tip: My own room was the right size for my needs, and I never ever heard any street noise.
See more room tips
Green Features: The hotel was very interested in saving energy regarding, for example, lighting and towels water conservation, and the guest was not exposed to any noise pollution from the outside. The air in the room was very clean and fresh.
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank historylinguistravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas D, General Manager at Duane Street Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Wonderful comments and hope to see you very soon in NYC or any of our others boutique hotels on the East Coast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

A belated posting... stayed here late January 2014... what a wonderful location, comfortable room (& quiet - I did NOT hear anything from the outside which is always a plus in NYC!) & great service. Will defiantly be returning

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DH1065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas D, General Manager at Duane Street Hotel, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Thank you for your wonderful note and appreciate all your comments. We are looking forward to seeing you very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

A friend and I had a double Queen room (2 queen beds) and it was a good fit for us. A bit cramped but it was expected.The location is great for walking, and there are a lot of good places for dining and drinking nearby (Telepan Local was fantastic).

The beds were comfortable, and the staff was lovely. There are a couple of things I would suggest for the hotel: 1) they need to put full length mirrors outside of the bathroom. There was only one, behind the bathroom door, even thought we had blank walls that easily could have been used. 2) Some hooks in the bathroom! There was no place to hang a towel or robe. Also, when the heat went on it would make a loud bang noise which woke me up throughout our first night. After that, I slept with earplugs. :)

Room Tip: a south-facing, higher up room is the best choice. The rooms on the 2nd floor have really low ceilin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Kilikina73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas D, General Manager at Duane Street Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Thank you for your great feedback and comments. We are in the process to add new towel racks and hooks to ensure our guests have plenty of space to hang towels and clothes. Also we have looked into the heating unit noise level and have made appropriate repairs, Thank you for bringing those issues to our attention and hope to have you back in Tribeca very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here December 2012 and it was a last minute booking after being let down last minute. Totally enjoyed the stay, very modern, clean, well lit and the bed was the comfiest I have ever slept in, I would love to know who made the mattress and bedding! Didn't eat at the hotel as we were only in the room minimal time as were out shopping. Would recommend.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dannycoates1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas D, General Manager at Duane Street Hotel, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Thank you for your note and greatly appreciate your comments about our room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

We stayed a full week a familly of four in a two queen bed superior room.
Fantastic beds and good sound isolation. Heater could not keep up when
the outside temp sunk under 30F. The room was a little to small for four people,
but apparently this was still one of the bigger ones we could find when searching
the web before picking this one. Staff was friendly and helpful, an all in all we were
very happy with our stay. Recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henning O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas D, General Manager at Duane Street Hotel, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Thank you for your great feedback . As well we appreciate your comment regarding our heating system and we will investigate immediately
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed 11 March 2014

My partner and I recently returned from a romantic NYC getaway. The hotel was perfect. Fantastic location and hip vibe. The room was sexy and fun. The staff was beyond wonderful and accommodating. Will definitely stay there again. Have already told several friends about it ! A true Tribeca gem.

Room Tip: We stayed in 605. Great city view with awesome weekend rate !
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Charmane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas D, General Manager at Duane Street Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Thank you very much for your wonderful feedback and we are looking forward to greeting back in NYC very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
TriBeCa
Smyth, a Thompson Hotel
Smyth, a Thompson Hotel
#72 of 466 in New York City
453 reviews
TriBeCa
The Roxy Hotel Tribeca
The Roxy Hotel Tribeca
#15 of 466 in New York City
468 reviews
TriBeCa
Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca
Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca
#237 of 466 in New York City
1,923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
TriBeCa
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribeca
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribe...
#182 of 466 in New York City
1,412 reviews
SoHo
Soho Grand Hotel
Soho Grand Hotel
#168 of 466 in New York City
2,955 reviews
SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
#79 of 466 in New York City
880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duane Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duane Street Hotel

Property: Duane Street Hotel
Address: 130 Duane St, New York City, NY 10013-3808
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > TriBeCa , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Business Hotel in New York City
#75 Family Hotel in New York City
#126 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#168 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Duane Street Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Duane Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Duane Street

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing