We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Will definitely be back, however...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Duane Street Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Duane Street Hotel
Ranked #130 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
1 review
“Will definitely be back, however...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

I had just a few little things to critique, but will definitely stay there on my next business trip. My toilet ran all night and day, which was very annoying and easily heard given the rooms are a bit cozy. It drove me nuts but the hotel was sold out so they could not switch the room.

There are also no vending machines inside the hotel so you'd have to buy drinks about 1/2 block away.

I was on the second noise and felt the subway quite a bit. However you get used to it and was totally fine. I'd probably request a room higher up next time.

The bed, as most said, was fantastic. Really good night's sleep.

Overall comfy, good location, nice employees and some lovely little touches. A few things to improve on but a quality stay. Will recommend to friends.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank ericam0369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas D, General Manager at Duane Street Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Thank you ver much for bringing this issue to our attention and please let's us know in advance when you decide to come back, so we can assign you to a higher floor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    309
    200
    42
    14
    22
See reviews for
89
205
52
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
97 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Staying at the Duane st. Hotel I can only say this property has the most amazing bed ever...
Hotel facilities are pretty standard and basic , lobby feels outdated and very small sized but when you go up to your room you find yourself with a nice,well decorated room which invites to enjoy it. The bed and duvet is just the best one I have ever tried in NYC... I highly recommend this property and the service in general from the front desk was fantastic. Good job!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GiancarloA330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas D, General Manager at Duane Street Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your nice comments. We are so happy to hear that you had an excellent night’s sleep on our bed! Our Front Desk staff will be happy to hear that you appreciated their service. We look forward to welcoming you back to New York during your next trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Really great value for money. Will defo go again! Why? Location, location, staff, rooms, shopping - and the beds :-)

The room and hotel facilities were very clean and well kept. The location was very convenient - walking distance to Soho, City Hall, Financial District, easy access by Subway everywhere else. So nice to come back to freshly baked cookies after a day of adventures. Plenty of great neighborhood restaurants in the area at very reasonable prices.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kornleif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas D, General Manager at Duane Street Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments! Our housekeeping will be happy to hear your nice words. We love our location given its convenience to so many of our favorite New York neighborhoods and are happy to hear that you felt the same way. We are excited to welcome you back (with more freshly baked cookies!) during your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
66 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Too expensive considered what you pay for. The positive is its location in Tribeca, no doubt it's among the best. And on the 4th floor you only hear street noise faintly and the subway you can hardly feel. Last but not least, the bed was really good!
That's about it. Our Superior king room was very small. I would call it tiny! Interior has an Ikea finish and he bathroom need to be renovated, it looked very used.
And while the outside noise was minimal, the noise from neighboring rooms was indeed a nuisance — especially late at night.
The restaurant Metaphor was interesting, but breakfast way too expensive.

Room Tip: Rooms facing church street have morning sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mogens B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas D, General Manager at Duane Street Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you for taking time to post comments, we appreciate the feedback as it helps us to constantly improve our product. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your bed, given that the rooms are small we try to compensate with excellent amenities such as very comfortable linen and mattresses. I am sorry to hear that you found neighboring rooms noisy late at night as we pride ourselves as a peaceful sanctuary away from the busy streets of New York. We will take action based on your comments to ensure that any future stay will prove more comfortable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed here for just one night and i must say it was fabulous. All the staff was helpful. The room was modern and clean. Italian linens and down pillows. I have stayed at many hotels in New York but this is now my go to hotel. It is also very accessible to many downtown sites.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pygdus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas D, General Manager at Duane Street Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your lovely comments! We are very proud of our Bellino linen and are glad that you enjoyed it. We are happy to hear that we are now your go to hotel in the city and cannot wait to welcome you back to Tribeca during your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

What a great hotel. Every detail, down to the shampoo and soap, feels like quality. My only problem was the elevators music was quite loud and I could hear it from my first room. They moved me the next day without problems.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that isn't close to the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IDontDoUgly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas D, General Manager at Duane Street Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you so much for taking time to leave your comments! We are so happy that you enjoyed our stay and enjoyed our bathroom amenities, we put great thought in to all the little details of the room! I’m glad to hear that we were able to accommodate you and we will certainly look in to the level of the music playing from the elevator. We are excited to welcome you back during your next trip to Tribeca!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

great hotel, great people at the desk- everywhere extremely helpful cannot wait to stay there again I appreciated the cheerful person who held my luggage for me ; offered to secure a taxi for me as well.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank wendy d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas D, General Manager at Duane Street Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
I’m so glad to hear you had a great stay! Our staff will be happy to hear that you had a lovely time and that they were able to provide great service. Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
TriBeCa
Smyth, a Thompson Hotel
Smyth, a Thompson Hotel
#60 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
TriBeCa
The Roxy Hotel Tribeca
The Roxy Hotel Tribeca
#22 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
TriBeCa
Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca
Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca
#223 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
TriBeCa
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribeca
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribe...
#188 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,325 reviews
SoHo
11 Howard
11 Howard
#35 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
#69 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duane Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duane Street Hotel

Property: Duane Street Hotel
Address: 130 Duane St, New York City, NY 10013-3808
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > TriBeCa , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Business Hotel in New York City
#53 Green Hotel in New York City
#77 Family Hotel in New York City
#103 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#129 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Duane Street Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Duane Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Duane Street

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing