We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and staff”
Review of Duane Street Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Duane Street Hotel
Ranked #135 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great location and staff”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Loved staying in a quiet spot in Tribeca with easy access to all of Manhattan.

The staff were fabulous and helpful as well as discreet when I asked for assistance with something.

The room was fine, bed comfy and sizeable by NY standards with a lovely large corner aspect and city view through floor to ceiling windows.

It was well priced and the products, complimentary toiletries were all of high quality.

Room Tip: corner rooms on upper floors are larger and have better views - get a deal for booking early / stayi...
See more room tips
Green Features: Standard as far as I could ascertain.. Towels and linen changed regularly unless requested not to. Recycling bin in room etc.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2014EleanorM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony M, Public Relations Manager at Duane Street Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
On behalf of Duane Street Hotel I would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us. It was our pleasure to have you as our honored Guest, and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    315
    205
    43
    14
    22
See reviews for
90
209
53
157
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights and found the front desk staff incredibly helpful and polite. The room was twin but incredibly small. The bathroom was well appointed as was the bedroom. The street noise is quite loud but New York always is. Pleasant hotel that was nice to stay in. Cleaners should probably check with front desk on the number of desks as having to ask for towels everyday is a chore.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Andre B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony M, Public Relations Manager at Duane Street Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
The information we receive from you will be reviewed by the Management staff of our Hotel to ensure that we are consistently offering the highest levels of service, in functional and relaxing surroundings.

Thank you for choosing Duane Street Hotel and for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkland, WA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My husband and 2 older daughters loved this hotel. It has a fantastic location, as we walked to many sights. The front staff bend over backwards to be helpful. They are the most friendly hotel front desk staff that I have ever encountered. The rooms are small but very clean and updated with the most comfortable beds. I would not hesitate to stay here again. Also, many great restaurants in the area if you want to stay close by.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angelKirkland_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony M, Public Relations Manager at Duane Street Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
On behalf of Duane Street Hotel I would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us. It was our pleasure to have you as our honored Guest, and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
120 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed two nights at the DSH. Staff are friendly though not overly knowledgeable in respect to local restaurants and places of interest. Rooms are modern, small, very clean, and minimalistic with everything one needs - excellent internet, modern bathroom, fluffy towels and robe, good appliance connectivity and very comfortable bed. On issue is why take up so much space in the tight room surroundings by promoting snacks and drinks etc. when this could be done at reception. All that said I will definitely be back as it is very convenient to downtown and just a short walk to Soho.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Christopher M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas D, General Manager at Duane Street Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for your feedback and we value your comments as we always strive to further improve our service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Nothing worse than flying all night and getting to your hotel and the person at the front desk seems to be locked out of the computer and she can't get you into your room. Worse, she said "well, tonight's my first night here so...." Meaning this was her first time running the front desk and the entire hotel. No manager in sight or anyone else to help remedy the problem. Literally she was the only person on staff at the hotel. Where is the manager?????

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank miamiscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas D, General Manager at Duane Street Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you for bringing this issue to our attention and regardless of the computer situation, you should have been checked in right away. This is not what Duane Street Hotel stand for. Please accept my sincere apologies and would like to invite you back for one night as our guest the next time you are in town. Looking forward to hosting you back on your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

The hotel is located in Tribeca which makes it desirable for downtown and Brooklyn visits to NY. The staff was extremely welcoming and kind. The rooms were super small but included everything you need. More room could be devoted to closet space for guest clothes rather than hotel items for sale. The bar is attractive but also takes up space. Restaurant was closed for renovation yet coffee, tea, muffins were available until 9 am. Would like to be able to open the window, but this is not an option.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluesquare2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas D, General Manager at Duane Street Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you for your feedback and actually our windows open in all our rooms at the exception of the 2nd floor. Please let's us know the next time you book a reservation and will ensure you stay on our higher floor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delaware City, Delaware
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Short stay, but very comfortable - no disturbances as we had worked all night and then checked-in very late without any issues.
Found the room to be well equipped, the staff were friendly, and the decor throughout was pretty cool. There was almost no street noise in the room at...

Room Tip: Not very sure as stayed for a very shot time.
See more room tips
Green Features: Very good, linen and towel change options very eco-friendly.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaideep R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas D, General Manager at Duane Street Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you for your comments and looking forward to having you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
TriBeCa
Smyth, a Thompson Hotel
Smyth, a Thompson Hotel
#60 of 468 in New York City
442 reviews
TriBeCa
The Roxy Hotel Tribeca
The Roxy Hotel Tribeca
#15 of 468 in New York City
446 reviews
TriBeCa
Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca
Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca
#240 of 468 in New York City
1,904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
TriBeCa
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribeca
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribe...
#182 of 468 in New York City
1,393 reviews
SoHo
Soho Grand Hotel
Soho Grand Hotel
#165 of 468 in New York City
2,936 reviews
SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
#84 of 468 in New York City
844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duane Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duane Street Hotel

Property: Duane Street Hotel
Address: 130 Duane St, New York City, NY 10013-3808
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > TriBeCa , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Business Hotel in New York City
#76 Family Hotel in New York City
#110 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#128 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Duane Street Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Duane Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Duane Street

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing