We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Unhappiest Place on Earth.”
Review of Duane Street Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Duane Street Hotel
Ranked #139 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Paradise
Level Contributor
127 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“The Unhappiest Place on Earth.”
Reviewed 24 February 2010

Like spending six nights in the 7th layer of hell. We dreaded returning to this hotel every night. We actually had to take sleeping pills each night to try and sleep through the night. In February, the room was a steady 90 degrees, all day and all night. I cannot imagine what temperatures it rises to in the summer!! When we complained, we were told that air conditioning was not available during the winter and to try turning off our heat. We never had the heat on to begin with!! We spent every waking moment in the room naked with the lights off trying not to stir up any extra energy to cause heat. We woke up drenched in sweat every morning (that is, if we were able to sleep).

The bed itself only had a topsheet, so it moved and we were exposed to the mattress anytime we slept in it, and when I asked the maid about it she replied that she didn't have any other type of sheet. They did not offer to move us after our second complaint, and we obviously should have left. A horrible situation, we frequently visit NY to see family and this was the worst experience at a hotel we have ever had. SKIP IT.

We we on the 2nd floor, room was very clean, decent size. The staff are extremely friendly. Great location, close to subway, restaurants.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wwrrkd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    314
    203
    43
    14
    22
See reviews for
90
209
52
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Albany, NY
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2010

The hotel is in a wonderful location downtown 3 blocks from SoHo. A few of the bad things with the hotel: No parking garage, A little worn out, every 10 minutes or so you can hear the subway and the floor vibrates. It's a do it yourself type of hotel you must go downstairs to the restaurant in order to get ice. The positives of the hotel are: Location, Cleanliness, Big Bathroom, the staff although sparce is friendly. This place will do if you know your way around the city and don't mind doing everything on your own.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christina1225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
long island
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2010

Never stayed so far downtown before, but what a nice place!!! Small rooms are no concern, who cares? we just slept there anyway. The showers are awesome, the only thing is if you dont want to wash your hair tough luck the shower head is built into the ceiling! Breakfast was included and definitely worth the price of the room. The parking downtown is much less than midtown, we left the car for 24 hours for $25, midtown this would have been at least double. There is a totally awesome french bakery/cafe right down the street, forget the name, its right next door to a bike shop. If you run or walk, the runpath on the west side is about 4 blocks away, with a great view of statue of liberty. The only thing is if you want to go to the museums (and many are on the upper east side) it's a long walk or take a train/cab. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bypasskid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
82 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2009

We stayed at the Duane Street Hotel for a weekend in December. It's well located in Tribeca close to SoHo. Chambers subway station is around the corner. The staff was friendly, relax and helpful. This hotel is new and modern and the rooms have a great design especially the bathroom. The bed and pillows are very comfortable! The negative point goes to the size: tiny! It was hard for to 2 adults to move around without bumping into each other. Breakfast in the morning was good, consider choosing the package room + breakfast because the prices are high. WiFi worked well. We had a great time in NY and I would probably choose this place again.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank courcellesqc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
71 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2009

as a former new yorker who now only comes to visit, manhattan hotels are a new experience for me. Having stayed at Gild Hall, Sofitel, Smyth and Renaissance 57, Duane Street was a drastic departue but gave me exactly waht i was looking for.

the rooms were clean but tiny, and that was reflected in the price! windows were thin & allowed for a draft and street noise (again, not entirely unexpected), and the door to the hall was very thin & gave the impression of every passerby being in your room (being right next to the elevator didnt help) ... but again, what do yuo expect for $220/night.

Location was great & very convenient to the subway, while avoiding the mmidtown tourists. staff was unhelpful & not very poised, but i had no expectations of anything more.

This hotel is for those who know what they are doing & where they are going in new york, but just need a base of operations ... but be advised that rooms are almost too small for a couple.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DQC_76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2009

Excellant hotel in every aspect, size of room, spotless clean, modern, everything worked! Anna on reception was a star other girls nice but not as chatty
Try the Ninja restaurant on hudson street you wont be disappointed and try the chicken wings from Mudville 9 again just around corner. Close to subway and loads of bars we liked Ward 111 great personal service from the guys.
If you go to NY a personal tour from REAL NEW YORK TOURS is a must

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank broadwithdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cali
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2009

Well.... We went to NYC for a fun weekend adventure and we got a little bit more than we bargained for. Aside from my wife being convinced a camera crew would pop up to tell us we were on "Reality Hell" (google it), we sure had much of the adventure we were looking for.

We checked in and dropped off our bags earlier in the day and when we returned around 11pm to pick up the keys, everything was fine. The girl at the front desk was the sweetest thing, Ana, was her name (same as my daughter), she engaged into a delightful conversation while she handled our questions about the city and made us keys. She assured us if there was anything we needed to better our stay, do not hesitate to contact her directly. That made my wife happy, which is all that matters. We decided to retire early and get ready for a busy saturday of sightseeing and our "Big City Adventure" that my wife prepared a scheduled itinerary, covering everything from time to sleep and shower to bathroom breaks and meals.

Upon entering our Guest Room, my wife began unpacking her things. I, on the other hand, was scheduled to shower. After retrieving my pajamas, and headed into the beautiful shower, with minimal water pressure (not by choice), the fire alarm ruptured both of my eardrums with the echo in that bathroom. Of course, my wife calls the lady at the front desk to see "What's Wrong?" to find out they are not certain, but to be cautious we should come downstairs until further notice. She informed us the elevators were not working, to take the closest stairwell to the 1st floor.

We found the closest stairwell and began to walk calmly down the stairs. Once we got to the lobby, there were about 3 fire trucks outside and about more fireman than you can imagine. The poor girl that gave us the keys was playing the role of SuperWoman. Making phone calls to management, calming down scared guests and handling all the requests of the firemen. She was real trooper, no joke, to the point that in the midst of all this chaos, one guest asked her from a room change. Surprisingly, her response to the guest was very calm and she informed her once things settled down, she would be more than happy to fulfill that request. If I was her, I would be singing a totally different tune.

Turned out there was no fire in the hotel. We were not on any Fear Factor or Reality TV Show, which I think disappointed my wife. But we definately had the Big City Adventure, just not the one that was planned. We want to give alot of credit to the Front Desk Agent, who handled this event with the utmost professionalism and courtesy. She was the only person there and was able to multi-task without any guidance. She is truly an assest to this property.

It was a scary situation for my wife and I, worrying if all of our things would be okay as we took nothing but a cell phone downstairs. I was wearing nothing but boxer shorts outside of the Duane Street Hotel. Other than that, I now see why New York City is the City that never sleeps, or was it Sin City? Either Way. The one thing that does worry me, although the Front Desk Agent handled everthing well, was if this was a real emergency. Duane Street Hotel is a Death Trap waiting to happen.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HotelGuestCali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
TriBeCa
Smyth, a Thompson Hotel
Smyth, a Thompson Hotel
#64 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
TriBeCa
The Roxy Hotel Tribeca
The Roxy Hotel Tribeca
#14 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
TriBeCa
Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca
Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca
#242 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
TriBeCa
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribeca
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribe...
#178 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,369 reviews
SoHo
11 Howard
11 Howard
#41 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
#74 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duane Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duane Street Hotel

Property: Duane Street Hotel
Address: 130 Duane St, New York City, NY 10013-3808
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > TriBeCa , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Business Hotel in New York City
#76 Family Hotel in New York City
#109 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#128 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Duane Street Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TravelUp, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Duane Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Duane Street

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing