We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The wait is very long, but worth it!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Dinosaur Bar-B-Que

Dinosaur Bar-B-Que
Reserve with OpenTable
Dinosaur Bar-B-Que is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #79 of 13,554 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$25
Cuisines: American, Bar, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Brunch, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 12th Avenue
Transit: 1 train @ 125th Street
Level Contributor
59 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The wait is very long, but worth it!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

We had to wait over an hour for our table, but the ribs were definitely worth it. Some of the best ribs I've ever had...and I've had lots of ribs. Great cornbread, if you like honey. You must order the potato salad. Best ever!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Slibno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

939 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    517
    340
    61
    17
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Amazing food ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Went with my girlfriend for the first time and was blown away with with the food definitely recommend it to everyone

Helpful?
Thank DARIO D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
76 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great BBQ in NYC + A Unique Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Dinosaur BBQ has really good food. I first went to one of the locations in Upstate NY back in 2008. I never got around to going to the one in Manhattan until yesterday. My wife and I were on a long walk from the Upper East Side and up Riverside Park. When you get up to 125th Street, it transforms into a cool little place on the river, with a few new, great places to shop and eat, this being one of them.

The food, location, atmosphere, and people all make this a great place to go. The BBQ is excellent- not too salty or oily- and perfectly smoked. They also have an excellent selection of drinks. Since it was a hot summer day, I ordered one of the cocktails which hit the spot. The waiter was one of the nicest I've met in a long time. The only slight negative is that it took a long time for our food to come out- 45 min +. But in this case it was fine since we were enjoying ourselves.

Check this place out if you're looking for great BBQ and a unique NYC location.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eric M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great food , warm people”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Came here after graduation...the server accommodated us even without reservation on a fairly busy night . Fried green tomatoes was super, salmon fritters great, ribs was juicy and tender, flavorful. Burgers were delicious.Price is reasonable, menu has lots of option. Appreciate no smoking inside, there were people smoking at the entrance though. Our server was Luke, very attentive and warm. They ran out of cheese cake and icebox cake, but that's ok with us because we were so full.great place to dine with teenagers and young adult. Lighting to me is dim could use more bright happy lights:)overall it is a good experience.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Juan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walden, Vermont
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great cue on the edge of Harlem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

Great food, service, ambiance, decor. At the end of the # 15 busline, down the street from the Apollo.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank BBQfanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dinosaur Bar-B-Que also viewed

 

Been to Dinosaur Bar-B-Que? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing