We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BBQ and Beer”
Review of Dinosaur Bar-B-Que

Dinosaur Bar-B-Que
Reserve with OpenTable
Dinosaur Bar-B-Que is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #61 of 13,826 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$25
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 12th Avenue
Transit: 1 train @ 125th Street
Bronx, New York
Level 6 Contributor
283 reviews
199 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“BBQ and Beer”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The food here is very good.... It is a hidden gem that a lot of people don't know about.... They have a wide selection of food and an even bigger selection of beer... The food here is very flavorful they have quite a few sources that you would like to try... This place is worth the trip for that barbecue comfort food.... Getting seated could be tough there is usually I wait for a table... But don't let this discourage you it's definitely worth waiting for.... Parking in the area it can be tough allow extra time to find a suitable parking space

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

984 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    552
    346
    65
    17
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Delicious Food and Friendly Staff”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

This is a great family place because it is fun for the grown ups and the kids. The atmosphere is lively, the service is excellent despite long waits for tables ,and the food is delicious. We love getting the big platters to share so we can have a variety of different selections. I highly recommend Dinosaur.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MarieAnne225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The wait is very long, but worth it!”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We had to wait over an hour for our table, but the ribs were definitely worth it. Some of the best ribs I've ever had...and I've had lots of ribs. Great cornbread, if you like honey. You must order the potato salad. Best ever!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Slibno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Amazing food ”
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Went with my girlfriend for the first time and was blown away with with the food definitely recommend it to everyone

Helpful?
Thank DARIO D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great BBQ in NYC + A Unique Location”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Dinosaur BBQ has really good food. I first went to one of the locations in Upstate NY back in 2008. I never got around to going to the one in Manhattan until yesterday. My wife and I were on a long walk from the Upper East Side and up Riverside Park. When you get up to 125th Street, it transforms into a cool little place on the river, with a few new, great places to shop and eat, this being one of them.

The food, location, atmosphere, and people all make this a great place to go. The BBQ is excellent- not too salty or oily- and perfectly smoked. They also have an excellent selection of drinks. Since it was a hot summer day, I ordered one of the cocktails which hit the spot. The waiter was one of the nicest I've met in a long time. The only slight negative is that it took a long time for our food to come out- 45 min +. But in this case it was fine since we were enjoying ourselves.

Check this place out if you're looking for great BBQ and a unique NYC location.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eric M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dinosaur Bar-B-Que also viewed

 

Been to Dinosaur Bar-B-Que? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing