We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did not meet expectations”
Review of Hotel Hugo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Hugo
Ranked #210 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Pros:
-friendly staff
Cons:
-thermostat was broken and stayed at 78 degrees on an 88 degree day
- valet parking price was more than quoted on site and the in/out policy was not explained during purchase
-shower design causes bathroom floor to flood

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Ali K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George K, Director of Sales at Hotel Hugo, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

I am so sorry that you were disappointed in your stay with us. As a brand new hotel, we did find ourselves experiencing several bumps in the road upon opening, and I wanted to let you know that several issues you mentioned have been addressed. After hearing several guests point out the air conditioning issues, our cooling system has been entirely reprogrammed, and the issue has disappeared. Also, we scripted more detailed information about valet parking for our guests, and trained the front desk and bellman on delivering that information. I share this because I did want you to know that your feedback was heard and listened to.

If you would consider giving us another shot, I would be delighted to handle your reservations personally to ensure that have an enjoyable experience. Or, if you would like to discuss your past experience further, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Best regards,
George Kurth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,352)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,208 - 1,214 of 1,352 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

My wife and I had an excellent experience at this hotel! It is ideally located next to all that soho and tribeca has to offer. You can even take a run along the river. Cant wait for the rooftop bar to open it is going to be a great feature and hangout. The restaurant downstairs, Principe, has amazing food and so is the room service. Every room has pillows that are embroidered with "HH" which also gives the hotel a nice tough to go along with the new finishes. Highly recommend to other guests!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelHugoManagement, Director of Sales at Hotel Hugo, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Hello Alex,

Thanks for the kind words. It's very nice to know that you and your wife enjoyed the location so much, as well as the restaurant. And thanks for noticing all of the details. I'm sorry the roof top bar was not open at the time of your visit. But it's the perfect reason to come back and visit us. :-) We hope to see you again soon. Thanks for taking the time to rate us on tripadvisor.

Sincerely,
G. Kurth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My husband and I stayed there for 2 nights (5/25-26) and our room exceeded all expectations. It was most comfortable, very quiet (despite several reviewers claims to the contrary), and very nicely furnished. The elevators were fast and large (again, contradicting some reviewers complains). The staff was very charming and helpful. Reading OOBonomist review, I am sorry we missed the breakfast, especially since there were very few breakfast places in the walking distance (less than a mile). Hope to stay there again on the next visit to NYC. Ruth N

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rut20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelHugoManagement, Director of Sales at Hotel Hugo, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Hello Ruth,

Thanks for taking the time to rate us on tripadvisor. We sincerely appreciate the feedback. It's always nice to hear that we were able exceed expectations. Thanks for the many kind words. We hope to see you again on your next visit to NYC as well.

Sincerely,
G. Kurth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed 5 days . Beds were very comfortable but rooms lower than 10th floor facing Hudson River were noisy because of UPS godown operations in the wee morning. The hotel is very new and location was a bit far from from the shopping fare but if you wanted a less hectic experience, this is a good base to check out NYC. Its a 10min walk to Greenwich Village and Spring street boasts of the best eateries. The Hotel is also within walking distance (25mins) via Hudson River to High Line and Chelsea markets.
The service was notable especially the front office staff who helped us with a lot of bookings and arrangements. Special thanks to Travis we managed to get our flights and other hotels arranged.
The hotel has its limitations in terms of amenities and provisions for kids and elderly and we had an overall good stay thanks to the staff.

Room Tip: Choose rooms above 10th floor for a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gillian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelHugoManagement, Director of Sales at Hotel Hugo, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Hi Gillian,

I just wanted to thank you for choosing Hotel Hugo and for taking the time to rate us on tripadvisor. I am especially pleased to hear that the service was the stand out feature of your stay. And I will certainly give Travis your thanks for assisting with your travels plans. WE hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,
G. Kurth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights for a work trip. It's a boutique hotel in Soho, a few blocks from all the hustle and bustle but walking distance to everything. The room was very clean, modern, and they had the softest bath towels I've ever had in a hotel. Overall, I loved the hotel - plus, value was very good. Paid $360, which I'm sure will go up once the get a good base of customers.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank heathweb78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelHugoManagement, Director of Sales at Hotel Hugo, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Hello heathweb78,

Thanks for taking the time to share some thoughts about your recent stay at Hugo. I'm very pleased to hear how much you enjoyed the location. It's such a unique area and was always our first choice. Also, thanks for the compliments regarding the bath towels. I'm so pleased that they made such an impression. We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
G. Kurth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I traveled here on business and stayed for 7 nights. I found the hotel to be instantly charming and welcoming. The staff, especially Travis, were so helpful and tentative. There was a leak in my room the first night, and when I mentioned it the next morning it was fixed by the time I was back from the office. It is a new hotel, but they seem to be getting the hang of it. Although the rooms were small, they were clean with comfortable beds and stunning features. The hotel was conveniently located near SoHo and the West Village so it was easy to find different options for food and activities.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jayne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelHugoManagement, Director of Sales at Hotel Hugo, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Hi Jayne S,

First of all, I just wanted to thank you for taking the time to rate us on trip advisor and for sharing some thoughts about your recent stay. We sincerely appreciate the feedback. I'm so pleased to hear that your initial impression of the property was charming and welcoming. We couldn't ask for a better compliment than that. I also wanted to apologize for the leak, but I am so pleased to hear that our staff responded promptly and corrected the issue. Your patience and understanding in this matter is greatly appreciated. We hope to see you again on your next visit to the area.

Sincerely,
G. Kurth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

This hotel, on what could charitably be called the edge of TriBeCa, is betting on the renaissance of a section of the Lower West Side that seems to have escaped the gentrification sweeping over the rest of lower Manhattan. It quixotically rises, beautifully designed with street seating, right across the street from a UPS depot that is ugly even by the standards of UPS depots. (If you get tired looking out at that, you can always look at the Fedex depot up the street.)

Judging from the other reviews, they still have some kinks to work out in the accommodations (I wouldn't know -- I didn't stay here), but I'm here to tell ya that the breakfast -- the ricotta pancakes in particular -- are world-class, gravity-defyingly light and accompanied by an exquisite fruit-and-pecan compote. The restaurant service is also excellent. (It isn't exactly cheap but if you want cheap, walk over to Hudson Street.)

Room Tip: I didn't stay there but just looking at it, I can tell you do NOT want to face Greenwich Street...
See more room tips
Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
Thank OOBonomist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelHugoManagement, Director of Sales at Hotel Hugo, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Hello OOBonomist,

I'm not sure we could ask for a more wonderful or more eloquent review of the ricotta pancakes at Il Principe. We thank you kindly. We look forward to hearing from you again in the future.

Sincerely,
G. Kurth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Manhattan
Arlo SoHo
Arlo SoHo
#71 of 469 in New York City
668 reviews
SoHo
Soho Grand Hotel
Soho Grand Hotel
#173 of 469 in New York City
3,035 reviews
SoHo
The James New York - SoHo
The James New York - SoHo
#180 of 469 in New York City
1,439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
#93 of 469 in New York City
990 reviews
TriBeCa
The Roxy Hotel Tribeca
The Roxy Hotel Tribeca
#30 of 469 in New York City
576 reviews
Chinatown
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
#5 of 469 in New York City
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hugo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hugo

Address: 525 Greenwich St, New York City, NY 10013-1002
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #210 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: £168 - £412 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Hugo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked between SoHo and the Hudson, Hotel Hugo is a stylish and sophisticated newcomer in Manhattan's stylish SoHo neighborhood. Echoing the area's rich history and industrial vibe, Hotel Hugo exudes the contemporary luxury and bohemian chic that make Lower Manhattan a modern-day mecca for artists, publishers and design enthusiasts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, TravelUp, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Hugo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing