We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good amenities”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Hugo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Hugo
Ranked #220 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Good amenities”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

The room was clean and decent with adequate amenities. It even had a complimentary iPad to use. A nice iPhone 5 dock, radio, alarm, speaker system, good shower, ironing board, etc. One drawback is the room is not spacious. Bed was very comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dinesh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelHugoManagement, Director of Sales at Hotel Hugo, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Hello Dinesh,

Thanks for taking the time share some thoughts about your most recent stay with us. We very much appreciate your feedback and the many kind words. We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
David McManus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    576
    318
    139
    71
    50
See reviews for
198
394
65
290
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Boutique elegance is a composition of building/room aesthetics, professional service and neighborhood ambiance. The Hugo has it all. Manager Xander and his staff of professionals dish up an exquisite customer experience the moment you walk past its decorative pines and into its welcoming entrance way. The guest rooms are chic and conveniently appointed to suit your electronic needs and then offer you a way to drench away the stress with a soothing rain shower. We bounced downstairs to the Principe restaurant for a swirl of dry pink wine and grilled octopus then to the rooftop for a spectacular view of the river, the skyline and the brilliant moon. The Hugo's secluded neighborhood lets you easily access other gems in Tribecca, Soho and the East Village. The Hugo and its professional team put the Es in ELEGANTE !

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jfsoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelHugoManagement, General Manager at Hotel Hugo, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the whole team, I just wanted to let you know that we all very much enjoyed reading your eloquent review. I can't thank you enough for all of your wonderful remarks. We are very flattered. I hope to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,
David McManus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

The hotel is well located, in a secluded street. The staff is very friendly and always willing to help you. Rooms are small, althgoug very clean and nicely decorated. The A/C system needs repair --it's extremely noisy. The roof-bar has a fantastic view. Overall I had a very good experience --I would come back.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Gustavo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelHugoManagement, General Manager at Hotel Hugo, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Gustavo,

I just wanted to take a moment to thank you for taking the time to share some thoughts about your recent stay. We very much appreciate the feedback as well as the kind words. I'm very pleased to hear that you would consider us again for future stays. We couldn't ask for a better recommendation. We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
David McManus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

Good location , very slick modern new Yorker , very very small rooms but well laid out roof top bar fantastic view of manhattan but could only afford one drink good staff but the restaurant attached need some one to show the Americans how to make a hot drinkable coffee ( I tried !!! ) :)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Leelowther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelHugoManagement, Manager at Hotel Hugo, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Guest,

I just wanted to take a moment to thank you for choosing Hotel Hugo. We very much appreciate your feedback. I'm so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Also, thanks for your note regarding the coffee. We will certainly look into it. :-) We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to NYC.

Sincerely,
David McManus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

Hotel Hugo was a beautiful gem in downtown Manhattan. I chose it for its location, but would go back for property. The rooms were spacious and comfortable (compared to other NYC properties), and the rooftop bar offered stunning views of the Manhattan skyline and the Hudson River.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Stuart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelHugoManagement, Manager at Hotel Hugo, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Stuart,

I'm so pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. Your kind words are warmly received. From everyone here at Hotel Hugo, we hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,
David McManus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New york
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

Best hotel on NYC .... This from a person who has spent then 100 nights a year staying various hotels in NYC .David McManus the hotels GM has created a unique atmosphere that reminds me of the Morgan hotel when it first opened

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 87899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelHugoManagement, General Manager at Hotel Hugo, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the entire staff, your flattering comments are warmly received. We hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,
David McManus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

The hotel is a true gem. I stayed 10 days and it was a bit bumpy the first 2 nights but after that
it went from good to awesome.
The rooms do lack closet space and there is more desk furniture than needed. I would have designed the room with less desk and added a small place for drawers.The restaurant could use
a bit more variety in the menu.
Despite the "growing pains" the new hotel is going thru..the staff is great!!! Melissa at the front desk made all the difference in me staying or leaving. After I spoke to her about some issues she turned
my stay into: GREAT ! She went beyond her duties to accommodate me into a much nicer room,gave me VIP treatment with a big smile. Melissa even went as far as making my hair appointment . This young lady made the difference. The entire staff is new but are eager to help
and they enjoy what they do. They made all the difference by always being helpful in their own way. Matt,Xander,Travis,and Jose congrats!
One thing...the menu in the room is different than in the restaurant ,this needs to be corrected. Overall I would return and tell my friends about it. Enjoy the new rooftop bar WOW !!! The view, the ambiance !!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the courtyard are dark,if possible ask for a view of the Hudson River.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beba5353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelHugoManagement, Director of Sales at Hotel Hugo, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very kindly for the thoughtful review. I'm so pleased to hear that our staff was so warm and accommodating. I could not ask for a better compliment and I thank you on their behalf. You are absolutely correct, we are a brand new hotel and are still working through some of the kinks, so your patience and understanding is greatly appreciated. Thank you for taking the time to share such kind words about your stay. On behalf of all of us at Hotel Hugo, we hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,
Hotel Hugo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Manhattan
Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo
Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoH...
#210 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
Manhattan
Arlo SoHo
Arlo SoHo
#63 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
#85 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoHo
The James New York
The James New York
#143 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,346 reviews
SoHo
Soho Grand Hotel
Soho Grand Hotel
#162 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,903 reviews
Manhattan
Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan SoHo Village
Four Points by Sheraton Manhatta...
#344 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hugo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hugo

Property: Hotel Hugo
Address: 525 Greenwich St, New York City, NY 10013-1002
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #220 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Hugo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked between SoHo and the Hudson, Hotel Hugo is a stylish and sophisticated newcomer in Manhattan's stylish SoHo neighborhood. Echoing the area's rich history and industrial vibe, Hotel Hugo exudes the contemporary luxury and bohemian chic that make Lower Manhattan a modern-day mecca for artists, publishers and design enthusiasts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Agoda, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Hugo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing