We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family visit”
Review of Hotel Hugo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Hugo
Ranked #209 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2014

The hotel has potential, but much improvement needed. Poor first experience.
The staff were eager to help, but the room was very uncomfortable, very hot.

We had a poor night sleep, and certainly did not get our money worth.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Abraham K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelHugoManagement, General Manager at Hotel Hugo, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Abraham,

I just wanted to take a moment to apologize that you had some issues with your thermostat. I can easily understand how being uncomfortable or hot in your room can sour your experience. Please accept my sincere apologies. I hope that our staff was able to make up for the inconvenience. If not, please feel free to contact me directly.

Sincerely,

David McManus
dmcmanus@hotelhugony.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,437)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,217 - 1,223 of 1,437 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2014

This gorgeous little hotel has been so thoughtfully designed. The small rooms are perfectly appointed and quite beautiful. Quiet enough to get some sleep with just the right amount of lively during waking hours.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Diane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelHugoManagement, General Manager at Hotel Hugo, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear Diane,

Your kind words are warmly received. I will never grow tired of hearing from guests like you who have such attention to detail. I'm so pleased to hear that you enjoyed the hotel's unique and stylish design and that you found it to be as warm and as comfortable as it is beautiful. We could not ask for a more perfect review. WE hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,
David McManus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Great new hotel in a slightly off best area near the Hudson. Impeccable service. Rooms are tiny but very well thought out with high tech functionality. Great bed and linens and very thoughtful staff. Get a room with a view of the Hudson, pretty extraordinary. Loved the restaurant as well. The rooftop bar basically has a 360 view of the city but the music was so shrill and loud it made it impossible to stay there though it is well worth checking out. A bit pricey but I would stay there again for the right deal.

Room Tip: Get a room on a high floor with a view of the Hudson!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank travellinghopefully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelHugoManagement, General Manager at Hotel Hugo, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear Guest,

I just wanted to take a moment to thank you for sharing some thoughts about your most recent stay with us here at Hotel Hugo. In particular, I wanted to thank you for your feedback regarding the rooftop experience. We've been waiting and waiting for it to finally be ready and now that it's open, we are very excited to see the reviews and feedback trickle in. Thank you for being one of the first! We hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,
David McManus

P.S. If you are interested in keeping in touch for special offers, be sure to visit our website and follow us on Facebook.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Great place to stay for business or pleasure. You have everything you need for a good stay without even leaving the hotel. I took advantage of the amazing roof top bar and dinning. In the mornig i was able to get a great workout in the gym and start my day with a gourmet breakfest. Overall great experience.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Jeremy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelHugoManagement, General Manager at Hotel Hugo, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Hi Jeremy,

I can't thank you enough for the wonderful review. I'm so pleased to hear how positive your stay was all around. Your kind words are very warmly received. Whether business or pleasure, we hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,
David McManus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Nice, new, fresh, hotel located 5 min from the well frequented shopping area in Tribeca. I stayed there for some days and can only recommend the hotel, try to get a room over the 18th floor facing Hudson River.

The hotel should serve breakfast on the rooftop during summer time. Now you could use the restaurant connected with the hotel or go to Essen two blocks away.

Room Tip: Try to get a room over the 18th floor facing Hudson River
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richards_remarks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelHugoManagement, General Manager at Hotel Hugo, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Hello Richard,

I'm so glad you enjoyed the rooftop! We have been waiting and waiting for the rooftop to open and are so excited to see positive reviews like yours pouring in. I wanted to personally thank you for your recommendation and for all your kind words. We hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,
David McManus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

The room was clean and decent with adequate amenities. It even had a complimentary iPad to use. A nice iPhone 5 dock, radio, alarm, speaker system, good shower, ironing board, etc. One drawback is the room is not spacious. Bed was very comfortable.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dinesh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelHugoManagement, Director of Sales at Hotel Hugo, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Hello Dinesh,

Thanks for taking the time share some thoughts about your most recent stay with us. We very much appreciate your feedback and the many kind words. We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
David McManus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Boutique elegance is a composition of building/room aesthetics, professional service and neighborhood ambiance. The Hugo has it all. Manager Xander and his staff of professionals dish up an exquisite customer experience the moment you walk past its decorative pines and into its welcoming entrance way. The guest rooms are chic and conveniently appointed to suit your electronic needs and then offer you a way to drench away the stress with a soothing rain shower. We bounced downstairs to the Principe restaurant for a swirl of dry pink wine and grilled octopus then to the rooftop for a spectacular view of the river, the skyline and the brilliant moon. The Hugo's secluded neighborhood lets you easily access other gems in Tribecca, Soho and the East Village. The Hugo and its professional team put the Es in ELEGANTE !

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jfsoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelHugoManagement, General Manager at Hotel Hugo, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear Guest,

On behalf of the whole team, I just wanted to let you know that we all very much enjoyed reading your eloquent review. I can't thank you enough for all of your wonderful remarks. We are very flattered. I hope to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,
David McManus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Manhattan
Arlo SoHo
Arlo SoHo
#44 of 473 in New York City
822 reviews
SoHo
The James New York - SoHo
The James New York - SoHo
#207 of 473 in New York City
1,456 reviews
SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
#78 of 473 in New York City
1,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
#7 of 473 in New York City
696 reviews
SoHo
Soho Grand Hotel
Soho Grand Hotel
#164 of 473 in New York City
3,094 reviews
TriBeCa
The Roxy Hotel Tribeca
The Roxy Hotel Tribeca
#28 of 473 in New York City
656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hugo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hugo

Address: 525 Greenwich St, New York City, NY 10013-1002
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #209 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: £155 - £344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Hugo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked between SoHo and the Hudson, Hotel Hugo is a stylish and sophisticated newcomer in Manhattan's stylish SoHo neighborhood. Echoing the area's rich history and industrial vibe, Hotel Hugo exudes the contemporary luxury and bohemian chic that make Lower Manhattan a modern-day mecca for artists, publishers and design enthusiasts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Odigeo, Southall Travel, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Hugo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing