We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great acting, very entertainiing”
Review of Mothers and Sons on Broadway - CLOSED

Mothers and Sons on Broadway
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: MOTHERS AND SONS is a timely and provocative new play that explores our evolving understanding of family in today’s world.Written by Terrence McNally, MOTHERS AND SONS stars Tony and Emmy winner Tyne Daly (Gypsy, Master Class, “Cagney & Lacey”) alongside co-stars Frederick Weller (“In Plain Sight,” Glengarry Glen Ross) & Bobby Steggert (Big Fish, Ragtime). Tony nominee Sheryl Kaller directs.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
101 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great acting, very entertainiing”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

The set was amazing, and the 4 cast members did an excellent job. This was only my second play ever (first was a school trip with my kids to Beauty and the Beast many years ago) and, although I was a bit unsure on the subject matter, it turned out to be unnecessary. Can't wait for play number 3!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank richg635
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    4
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Downpatrick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Brilliant Tyne Daly”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Only ever seen Tyne Daly in Cagney and Lacey. She really is a fabulous stage actress. This is a very moving and at the same time funny play. Well worth seeing!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mary_MD4904HU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans
Level Contributor
69 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Loved this play! Wish I could see it again.”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This is a never-to-be-forgotten play. I remember the prequel "Andre's Mother" and this is the sequel. The acting is stupendous, Tyne Daly is superb, as is Bobby Steggert and the rest of the cast! A beautiful, touching, heart felt play....... There was audible sniffing in the audience the day i went, that is how touched we were. Thanks Mr. McNally for such a great life-affirming play.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank AshtonNewOrleans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Superb performances,moving and funny”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

This play was recommended to us by our hotel and was our only Broadway experience on this trip. We enjoyed every minute of it, with its humour and tragedy. It could be described as a Gay play inasmuch as it looks as the issues facing Gay men in America through the devastation of the AIDS epidemic up to present day when they can marry and seek to be parents. Tyne Daly plays the Mother of a long-dead (from AIDS) actor who still feels bitter and confused about his homosexuality and his death. She is simply tremendous converting wit, anger, conservatism and a secret wish to have been someone else. Brilliant, tight, well-paced script. Go and see it.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Brainyperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midland Park, New Jersey
Level Contributor
68 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Fantastic Play!”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Tyne Daly is fantastic in this play! Her dry delivery provided some comic relief to a very serious topic. This definitely demonstrated how unacceptance can seriously impact a family's life. Quite sad:( The little boy was adorable but needs to work on his pitch and quality (nasality).

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mothers and Sons on Broadway also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing