We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect location and good price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
U Hotel Fifth Avenue
Ranked #298 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 10 November 2011

Yes the rooms are small but not redicously so - I've seen much smaller. The bed was on the short side but no difficulty finding a good sleeping position.
Room extremely well kept and everything felt very clean.
Very friendly staff, and a bargain for the location.
I really recommend the Hotel 373 and would certainly consider staying here again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trieste_rules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gdesoiza, General Manager at U Hotel Fifth Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2011

You rule Trieste_rule!
Thank you for such an outstanding review. We hope that you visit us again and again. Happy Holidays!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,076)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

513 - 519 of 1,076 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2011

Hotel 373 is in a great location. Empire State Building was over the road!! Very central being on 5th Avenue, all major attractions are in walking distance, would recommend it to everyone. Staff are very helpful. Room was small but to be fair, it's New York, why would you want to be in the room other than to sleep!! Bed very comfy, clean crisp sheets, clean bathroom, fresh towels everyday what more could you ask for. Great that Starbucks was downstairs, its open until 11p.m. Also plenty of places to eat nearby. Overall, fab holiday, already checking prices for next year!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spilmore20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gdesoiza, General Manager at U Hotel Fifth Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2011

Thanks Spilmore20!
We think you're totally 5 star too! We hope that you'll visit us again; whenever you cross the pond. Happy Holidays and Happy New Year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2011

Rooms were a bit small and there was not much storage space, but everything was in good order and clean - no insects of any kind. All rooms are towards a busy street and traffic was quite loud, but it didn't bother us. Service was kind and professional. Not many bars around, so nightlife in the neighbourhood was nonexistent, but good cafées for breakfast were next door (Oxford café especially).

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Essi V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gdesoiza, General Manager at U Hotel Fifth Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2011

Thank you Essie V!
We're so happy that you enjoyed our Property, Oxford Cafe, and the lack of insects. Next time you return, we'll help you find the nightlife. There's a great number of pub's, bars, Karaoke and dancing on the neighboring side streets (within a block or two). We'll make sure you get enough choices to pick a favorite place to hang out. Happy Holidays!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2011

Come on, I do understand this is a small hotel, but you can afford building or designing a special closet.
This was the smallest hotel room I have ever been into. Luckily I asked for an upgrade to a king size bed, but I could barely go from one side of the bed to the other without hitting my toes with something.
My suitcase didn't fit into the room!
The hotel is nice, just a place to sleep, the bathroom curtain doesn't fit well, so every time you get in the shower, the bathroom converts into Venice...
The amenities are great, I loved the Tea and Coffee in the room, loved the pillows bar, even the comforter. But...
The corridor's floor was uneven....it has only one elevator, and they only have 5 safe deposit boxes....
The internet was free, a great deal, but it was extremely slow.
The breakfast was included, even though it was only a bagel or muffin and juice or coffee... but very appreciated.
Will I go back? Probably.
The people working at the hotel are amazingly courteous, very nice and always tryinng to help us.

Room Tip: Call the hotel directly, they will offer you a better deal! Ask for a king size bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mexicandesigner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gdesoiza, General Manager at U Hotel Fifth Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2011

Thank you dise adora!
We really appreciate such a great review, even though you would have wanted a larger room. We love the way that you compared our bathroom to Venice. We appreciate the warning to others about the shower curtain. A little special effort is need to keep the bathroom floor dry, but the white marble does make it more romantic. We've upgraded our wifi, so were happy that you appreciated it. Thanks for mentioning "Call the hotel directly..." in your review!
Happy Holidays! Please come back and stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2011

Hotel 373 exceeded all my wildest expections! Let's start by caging the white elephant - is it small? You bet it is. Does that matter? Absolutely not because it is EXCEPTIONALLY clean (ZERO bed bugs) and you just cannot beat the view of the Empire State Building & 5th Avenue! Also, if your primary motive for staying in NYC is for the sheer pleasure of exploring the concrete jungle, you certainly won't notice its diminutive nature after an exhausting day in the city...you'll simply want to rest your weary head!

The beds are wonderfully plush and firm. My 6' tall husband barely moved during the night in our heavenly double bed! Yes, I said DOUBLE bed...you don't even notice because the bed is so incredibly comfy cozy.

The staff as a whole were amazingly friendly and very approachable! They also have a tremendous knowledge of the city and are quick to assist if you request their help.

And did I mention it shares a lobby with Starbucks? You can't BEAT this location! If you want bright lights/big city/crazy people, stay in Time Square. If you want a peaceful end to the day's adventures in the heart of the city without breaking the bank, Hotel 373 is where you should rest your happy, adventurous soul. xoxo

Room Tip: Corner rooms have the best views, no doubt
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KobraAndDaisyCutter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2011

Very near to major attractions, the subway, etc. Very small room but would not complain, as it was affordable. It would be perfect if they had breakfast included and kitchen facilities.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacqui H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

Stayed here during Christmas season and it was perfect location, nice ammenities but a small room... to be expected in the area. It still had everything we needed and would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MarySEverett_Wa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hotel Stanford
Hotel Stanford
#312 of 469 in New York City
1,643 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#187 of 469 in New York City
812 reviews
Midtown
The Gregory Hotel
The Gregory Hotel
#297 of 469 in New York City
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Washington Jefferson Hotel
Washington Jefferson Hotel
#272 of 469 in New York City
1,841 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Central Fifth Avenue New York
Hotel Central Fifth Avenue New Y...
#362 of 469 in New York City
1,200 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
#149 of 469 in New York City
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to U Hotel Fifth Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about U Hotel Fifth Avenue

Address: 373 5th Ave, New York City, NY 10016-3307
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#193 Business Hotel in New York City
#198 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#235 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £99 - £299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — U Hotel Fifth Avenue 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deluxe boutique hotel on world-famous Fifth Avenue. The hotel features 70 queen-bedded rooms in a sleek contemporary design. We are located at 35th and Fifth Avenue. All rooms feature free WiFi, bathrobes, I-pod docks, on-site Starbucks. Across from the Empire State Building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your U Hotel Fifth Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
373 Hotel New York City
Hotel 373 Fifth Avenue
Hotel 373 New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing