We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big on Space -- Just Short on 5 Star Luxury”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The London NYC

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The London NYC
Ranked #158 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
239 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 311 helpful votes
“Big on Space -- Just Short on 5 Star Luxury”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

The London… in New York? Is there a New York in London? This is a great choice for a nearly 5 Star property that offers a perfect location for those venturing to the theater every night, without wanting to stay in the fray and hassle of Times Square. I only wish I could love this hotel, instead of really liking it.

Is it perfect? No. Is it a lovely hotel with spacious accommodations with posh interiors? Definitely. I only wish this fine property would up the service and luxury aspect to make this a must-stay New York hotel.

The rooms are the main selling point here—they are very large for any city. Most are suites, if not all. The décor is seemingly understated contemporary. Unfortunately, the “for looks only” living room furniture is poorly made and totally uncomfortable. I could also call it “cheap.” There is also not enough lighting anywhere except the bathroom in this hotel room. It is as if they forgot lighting or someone stole the lamps. This is not acceptable for a supposedly 5 star hotel. Dimmers good. Dark bad.

The bed is comfortable, if not luxurious. Unlike other luxury hotels, you will not crawl in the bed and be taken to a land of “I wish my bed felt this good.” The televisions are also incredibly small. Tiny.

The bathroom was nicely laid out and we really appreciated the double person shower.
As far as service it is friendly, not polished. There is also a feeling that there is no manager on duty—I have no idea if there is, but that is the feeling.

We also had a problem with cigarette smoke in our non-smoking room. On two of our three mornings we had a definite smell of cigarettes being pumped into our ventilation. I called both mornings and was informed that several other people called, but that “this happens sometime.” Not good.

Then there is breakfast and the lobby restaurant. Our deal from Amex came with breakfast. Unfortunately, the breakfast room and offering at The London reeks of low effort and has the presentation of a Marriott. The service is also just standard – at best. Several guests around us were upset with their service and lack of it. The manager also seemed completely incompetent. The food was fine—for the Hilton across the street, and the café itself (doubles for the bar) is worn and in need of a minor makeover. The vinyl on the banquettes should have been replaced a few years ago. The menu is also very limited, and makes you feel they really just want you to get the mediocre buffet laid out on the bar. Yes, it was free. But it was not special in any way.

So, there, that’s The London in New York. If you demand a 5 star property that delivers New York luxury effectively and with all pistons firing – this isn’t for you. But, if you want a perfectly located hotel that is just far enough from Times Square so you can walk to the theater, but not stay there – this is for you. It’s also a great choice for those seeking room size over luxury. I would stay again, but if someone else was paying, and price was no issue – there are 5 star hotels that deliver much more service, luxury and detail to attention.

Room Tip: High floor, or facing the park side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TRVLtruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,369 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,025
    871
    269
    119
    85
See reviews for
717
1,310
144
737
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (800)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
74 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

The London was once my favorite hotel in NY with its spacious rooms, excellent location, very good food and outstanding service. The rooms and the location are still attractive, but the service and restaurant experiences during our last visit were not very good. To be fair, whenever we complained about a service issue, the hotel tried to address it. Unfortunately, a lot of small issues piled up faster than we had the energy to deal with. Examples: housekeeping took away all the soap and the shower cap without replacing them; four used towels (for three people) were taken but replaced with only two; the room charge on the final bill was wrong; there were rarely newspapers available on our floor or at our door in the morning. Somewhat more discouraging was the truly awful service we had at afternoon tea. The server forgot our order until reminded, so it took 30 minutes to arrive. When we requested a refill of hot water, it took another 25 minutes just to get hot water. It was impossible to get her attention to get the bill because she was too busy chatting with another server, so we finally just left payment on the table. One other problem was that there was work being performed on the building, and no mention of this was made until after we checked in. Starting at 8 am each weekday morning, there was extremely loud drilling noise in the room that lasted for hours. It was impossible to sleep or even talk on the phone for most of the day due to the noise levels. I sincerely hope the London can address the service problems that detract from an otherwise wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank atw100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

Stayed at London for 3 nights and even though there was construction around the hotel, as some guests have pointed out, we didn't have any complaints (although we did ask for a quiet room when we first checked in). Room was spacious and modern and staff were generally very helpful. Location is fantastic, close to 5th Ave, Times Square and also walking distance from Central Park. Also close to several subway stations. The continental buffet breakfast has an okay selection (bagels, toast, cold meats, yogurt, cereal), nothing too fancy but sufficient. They also have a decent size gyms with several cardio machines and weights as well as a punching bag!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mm_travel8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston-Super-Mare
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

My husband and I came to New York to get married in March this year. The staff at the London NYC were extremely welcoming and accommodating for our needs, and even provided us with a chilled bottle of wine and a fruit platter as a pre-wedding gift, including a little note wishing us well.

We were in a London suite and it was clean and tidy when we arrived. We love minimalist decor but perhaps some people might find it a bit sparse and not terribly comfortable in the lounge area. I must add, we spend so much time out and about that we only really used the lounge area of the suite on the morning of our wedding when my wedding planner arrived, otherwise the room was a bit redundant.
The bed was nice and big and very comfortable. The bathroom was perfect and can even fit two people in the shower - there was a shower head at each end! All was very clean and we felt like it was excellent value for money. We wouldn't normally spend that much money on a hotel in NYC but as it was a special occasion we went for it. So glad we did. We felt really special and we would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: See what deals are on, we got the London suite for the price of a standard room. We didn't noti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

My Wife and I have just returned to the UK after a great trip to the Big Apple. The Room was large and very comfortable and the Staff were very courteous but I’m afraid it misses the simplest of creature comforts ALL Brits enjoy, Tea and Coffee making facilities, none. it's an easy one London and the investment is miniscule. One other point, i cannot remember a Hotel anywhere in the World, even the most basic that has NOWHERE to sit in Reception, we sat on the Fireplace waiting for our transport to JFK, shoddy. Sorry London, you're missing the simplest of basics.

Room Tip: "Corner suites are large and sunny"
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
374 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 734 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

Just returned from 7 nights in one of this hotel's studios and highly recommend it to others who want to splash some cash to feel the benefits of a high class hotel. We had a very spacious studio room with a large lounge in which to relax after an arduous day's sightseeing and shopping. Double doors opened out into a good size bedroom with a massive bed. Off this was a small dressing room and a well appointed bathroom with separate shower and tub. The toiletries were first class. Robes and slippers were replaced each day. Room service came in twice a day and it was great to come in each night to find the duvet turned down, bathroom cleaned again and towels replaced; and the mess we had left behind tidied up! On our arrival there was a bottle of bubbly and chocs awaiting us with a happy anniversary greeting. That was a nice touch and got our holiday off to a good start. The hotel is excellently situated for visiting all the popular tourist spots. We enjoyed our stay at London NYC very much. Good service, clean and vey comfortable. There were a couple of items added to our bill which we did not incur but these were removed. This is an expensive hotel but it is five star and we felt, value for money. Recommended. PS: also has a very good gym which we made use of most days.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CliveT64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

We love Manhattan...everytime we come fall in love with it more. This time, due to circumstances we had the privilege of staying at The London. In a word. Brilliant!
We celebrated my wife's birthday in NYC this weekend. Hit all our usual haunts and a few new ones over the course of our extended stay.
We both have never experienced this sort of service and friendliness when coming in the doors.
It seemed to be the place to be with a few celebrities, a boy band, etc.
Food is one reason why we come to NY, of course the Maze didn't disappoint !
We watched the Masters from the comfort of our sitting room, it was more like another reviewer said "more like an apartment" . Well stated.
With everything close by, it makes the location easy to get to all the places in mid town you'd need to experience NYC to it's fullest
It is without a doubt..our new favourite.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prtcrdit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Blakely New York
The Blakely New York
#154 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,337 reviews
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#44 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,521 reviews
Midtown
WestHouse Hotel New York
WestHouse Hotel New York
#93 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#37 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,310 reviews
Midtown
The Hilton Club - New York
The Hilton Club - New York
#204 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#91 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The London NYC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The London NYC

Property: The London NYC
Address: 151 West 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019-5302
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#74 Family Hotel in New York City
#80 Business Hotel in New York City
#119 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The London NYC 4.5*
Number of rooms: 561
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sophisticated urban luxury in the heart of midtown Manhattan, the award-winning London NYC sets a new standard for New York luxury hotels. Named to several "Best of" and "Top 10 lists", you'll find detailed design, attentive service and The London Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The London NYC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The London Nyc Hotel New York City
London Nyc New York City
London Hotel New York
London Nyc Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing