We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amex platinum members watch out!”
Review of The London NYC

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The London NYC
Ranked #181 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Goshen, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amex platinum members watch out!”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

American Express Platinum customers - very bad experience for us. We took the 4pm check out for today when we checked in, and housekeeping opened our door 3 times before we left. The third time was very, very embarrassing. Daniel the manager on duty blamed it on it not being in the notes, well not our fault at all. Also had a false charge for tea at the London Bar which we were never at. This was before we used our $100 Amex credit, and it looked like we weren't going to use it when they put the bill under our door. We did later for room service so they fixed it. Ownership should investigate if Managment is inflating their food and beverage report with unused Amex redemptions. But we're most upset about the compromising situation!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JoshandLisaNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,497 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,077
    905
    298
    125
    92
See reviews for
758
1,352
152
762
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (823)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

I stayed at the london for a week and I found the hotel to be exceptionally well located with particularely friendly staff at the reception, concierge desk and doormen. The rooms are really spacious.

The casual restaurant is ok, but welcome desk staff hardly ever look up from their computer screens to look at clients, hardly a hello or goodbye, let alone a thank you.

Also, in room breakfast is exorbitantly expensive and of average quality. For a continental breakfast with an omelet in your room, I paid in excess of 70$ excl service and the coffee in the room service is undrinkable. After 3 days I ended up doing to Starbucks.

Overall I had a very nice stay and will definitely use the hotel again, but will ensure my breakfast and dinner arrangements elsewhere....

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yannick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

I have stayed at the London many times. The staff is just terrific. Always willing to help and greet you with a smile. They go out of your way to make you feel welcome. The rooms are all suites with a living room and french doors that can be closed to the bedroom. This is very helpful if traveling with children. Rooms are very large for hotel in New York. The bathrooms are also large with great shower and some have tubs. Very clean. Nice sheets and towels. The restaurant has great food too. Yes it is New York so there are many places to eat but if you get in late or just need a quick bite it is nice to have such good food right downstairs. Great lication too. Right near the theater district and many subway lines.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HotelExpert224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 April 2014

All the 5* reviews about the Hotel & Staff are very accurate and true but I would particularly like to single out one member of staff, Christopher. On arrival, he greeted my son and I in the reception and took us to our room.It was our first visit to New York and Christopher went out of his way to make us welcome.He pointed out the many places of interest and helped us with directions to find them. He was very polite and always took an interest in how our day had been.
He deserved a bigger tip than I could afford to give him but hopefully the management will recognise his qualities and reward him accordingly.
Credit where it's due, thanks Christopher keep up the good work, we did appreciate it.
Nigel & Calum

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nigel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Have stayed here several times and it never disappoints. The location is wonderful - out of the theatre district but still proximate and Central Park is at the door. The hotel room are spacious with separate bedroom, lounge and walkin wardrobe. The set up is perfect for business person or tourist. The quality of fit out is exceptional. Staff are professional. The restaurants within the hotel are very good with the Gordon Ramsay worthy of a special occasion visit.

Room Tip: For a special treat choose a room with a view of Central Park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank warwickSR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Montesinos, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Excellent location for getting around as much as you can if you are only in NY for a short stay.

Staff all very friendly, rooms with a separate suite are good, comfortable bedding, lovely bathroom and get the highest floor you can for the best views across the city.

We didn't eat in the restaurant which is a Gordon Ramsey Maze restaurant but it looked good.

Room Tip: Get the highest floor you can and you will get views of Central Park from the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miami florida
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We have stayed at the London over the years..dating back when it was the Rhiga Royal. Ever time we come back Johnny, one of the doorman, welcomes us like old friends.
The security is excellent and it is clear that only guests get past the front desk.
Breakfast is extensive.
The rooms are lovely.
Great location as we can walk to all the shows.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank retirein1year
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#42 of 467 in New York City
2,748 reviews
Midtown
The Blakely New York
The Blakely New York
#135 of 467 in New York City
1,418 reviews
Midtown
WestHouse Hotel New York
WestHouse Hotel New York
#110 of 467 in New York City
1,657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#43 of 467 in New York City
3,517 reviews
Upper East Side
Loews Regency New York Hotel
Loews Regency New York Hotel
#33 of 467 in New York City
1,539 reviews
Midtown
1 Hotel Central Park
1 Hotel Central Park
#25 of 467 in New York City
1,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The London NYC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The London NYC

Property: The London NYC
Address: 151 West 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019-5302
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#73 Family Hotel in New York City
#80 Business Hotel in New York City
#136 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The London NYC 4.5*
Number of rooms: 561
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sophisticated urban luxury in the heart of midtown Manhattan, the award-winning London NYC sets a new standard for New York luxury hotels. Named to several "Best of" and "Top 10 lists", you'll find detailed design, attentive service and The London Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The London NYC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The London Nyc Hotel New York City
London Nyc New York City
London Hotel New York
London Nyc Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing