We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel peaked a few years ago”
Review of The London NYC

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The London NYC
Ranked #191 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2009

I really like this hotel's location, the large reasonably priced suites and for the most part the staff are excellent, but the rooms in this hotel are starting to get worn. Mine was downright dirty, with several unclean surfaces (e.g. finger prints). The carpets were a bit frayed and the hardwood floors were scratched and scuffed. I wanted to work on my computer but found the tiny desk and chair with no back rather difficult for this purpose. The bar and restaurant are excellent but when it comes to room service, the portions can be small for the price charged. I used to recommend this hotel enthusiastically, but feel much more ambivalent now.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Homat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,569)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,067 - 3,073 of 3,570 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2009

This was my first visit to the London NYC after friends recommended we try it and we could not have been more impressed! From the moment we arrived, the courteous staff made us feel right at home. The rooms are beautiful, large and luxurious and not what we are used to when we stay in NYC. Let me make this clear this is a luxurious hotel with all suites and the staff could not be any friendlier and makes you feel like nothing is ever a bother. Had room service which was pricey but great food. The gym is one of the best hotel gyms with all the latest equipment and was never busy and very clean. We will be back.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank floridasun84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2009

In many ways this is a great hotel.

BUT - I stayed here 3 or 4 times before I realised, its no coincidence that there is always an extra item slipped onto your bill, or an unexpected $170 taken from your credit card by the concierge after you've checked out.

I'm happy to pay a transparent charge, and I realise that times are tough in the hotel industry, but I won't tolerate this kind of petty thieving.

  • Stayed: July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank ohplan3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2009

Absolutely beautiful Hotel! Ordered Breakfast in the room and it was wonderful! Breakfast cost $120, but hey, that's the way it is in a top notch hotel in NYC, right. So then we come back to the suite after shopping and the room is cleaned very nicely, except, our breakfast dishes, coffe cups, etc. are still right there on the table where we left them. I called the front desk and they suggested i put all the dishes, etc. in the hallway. i said Ok at first and then called back and asked if maybe they could send someone to get them. She thought that was a good idea and did just that.
That evening the concierge suggested a restaurant on a barge in the East River. I called a car service that a friend had recommended to take us to dinner. The car service said that they had a contract with the hotel so i must go through the hotel. So i did. It cost $108 for the 15 minute ride to the Restaurant. That's fine, except when we got to this restaurant, there was literally trash blowing against the front door and the place was deserted. I called our car back 5 minutes after he left us and was told by the driver that i would have to call the hotel and pay them again if i wanted him to come get us and take us somewhere else. I got a cab instead who took us to a great place in Little Italy.
I related these problems to the Concierge on duty when we returned. He said that he "was sorry we had a bad experience" and that he would "take care of it". When checking out the young lady asked how was our stay and i said not too good. I then explained it to her and she said that she "was sorry that i had a bad experience".

If we had paid $99 a night, it wouldn't be a big deal, but at their prices they should do a better job of the small things. They certainly should have some procedures in place for a guest that is less than happy.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TrickisDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2009

The rooms are very nice - and particularly spacious for a nyc hotel. Beyond the rooms, the hotel doesn't have a great deal going for it.

Some of the staff are pleasant, as other reviewers have mentioned, some of them are rather self-important - for example I was told by Vittorio the front-desk manager that we couldn't move a chair from a colleague's room to my room to hold a meeting because it would make it look untidy.

Of course, New York is expensive, but there's a difference between transparent costs and bill-fiddling. Check your bills very carefully - wherever possible someone will have added an additional, spurious charge - whether bogus items on a dry-cleaning bill or an extra $170 on an un-itemised limo hire.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rssa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2009

The London offered a lot for what we paid. We stayed for 4 nights in a Vista Suite with partial views of Central Park and the NY skyline. The room was a true suite with a living room, bedroom, and large bathroom with shower and separate tub. Very clean, contemporary, and inviting spaces. We were on the 47th floor and never had to wait for the elevators. Free internet connection, continental breakfast, local phone service, and late check out(4 PM) were included in our stay. The ample breakfast consisted of many types of breads, cheeses, fruit, cereal, juice, coffee etc and saved us some money every morning.
The location was perfect for us---just blocks away from Central Park, Times Square, Theatres, Shopping, Columbus Circle, et al. Again, this saved us money for cab fare.
A special thank you to Mannie(Concierge) who provided us with information and tidbits every morning with a smile and a very friendly demeanor.
The London is not a 5 star Hotel, do not expect this and you will be very happy with your stay. I would label it a nice 4 star Hotel. The reasons are small and trivial but to some people they might matter: No offer to assist with luggage to the room upon arrival, waitress at breakfast constantly chewing gum while serving coffee, no one in the Hotel would remember your name or reason for stay, etc. These points do not matter to me, but I simply want to allow the reader to know the what to expect in case they were thinking 5 star service.
Very happy with my stay!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank L B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2009

We would defifntely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting new york! The rooms were quiet, and clean. The staff went above and beyond to acommidate our needs. Jacob at the front desk was AMAZING! Way better than anything on times square

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank srwjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#44 of 469 in New York City
2,860 reviews
Midtown
The Blakely New York
The Blakely New York
#134 of 469 in New York City
1,447 reviews
Midtown
WestHouse Hotel New York
WestHouse Hotel New York
#115 of 469 in New York City
1,759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#46 of 469 in New York City
3,621 reviews
Upper East Side
Loews Regency New York Hotel
Loews Regency New York Hotel
#37 of 469 in New York City
1,597 reviews
Midtown
Viceroy Central Park New York
Viceroy Central Park New York
#209 of 469 in New York City
1,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The London NYC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The London NYC

Address: 151 West 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019-5302
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#73 Family Hotel in New York City
#80 Business Hotel in New York City
#140 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £300 - £589 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The London NYC 4.5*
Number of rooms: 561
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sophisticated urban luxury in the heart of midtown Manhattan, the award-winning London NYC sets a new standard for New York luxury hotels. Named to several "Best of" and "Top 10 lists", you'll find detailed design, attentive service and The London Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Southall Travel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The London NYC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The London Nyc Hotel New York City
London Nyc New York City
London Hotel New York
London Nyc Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing