We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Costs a lot but delivers”
Review of The London NYC

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The London NYC
Ranked #170 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
133 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Costs a lot but delivers”
Reviewed 19 October 2010

An excellent but not cheap hotel. Rooms are large (by New York standards), the beds comfortable and the bathroom wonderful. Staff very efficient but also friendly. Great gym and breakfast a pleadure to eat. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marduk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,435 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,051
    889
    285
    122
    88
See reviews for
735
1,334
149
750
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (814)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
WI
Level Contributor
76 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2010

This was my 3rd time staying here. Rooms are very large by NYC standards. Very quiet...in the middle of 54th St so you don't hear as much street noise. Close enough to walk to Broadway shows, many restaurants, and Central Park. Staff very helpful.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Go-GBP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 14 October 2010

My daughter booked a suite for her and her boyfriend and we decided to stay there too during a recent long weekend. For the price, it was by far the nicest Manhattan hotel suite I have ever stayed in. Right around the corner from great attractions like radio City Music Hall, walking distance to MOMA, Central Park, Times Square, great shopping on fifth avenue, the theatre district, etc. we never had to take a cab. Loved the seperate living room and bedroom, walk in closet and huge bathroom. Great sunday brunch at Gordon Ramsey's in hotel restaurant. We will be back! SR in Plymouth, MA

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharonplymouth41773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2010

As a typical traveller, I read most reviews and did my research before booking the hotel. I am also a frequent business travellers so I understand what to expect and what is expected at specific price points.

Overall the London is a great place to stay in NYC. Its centrally located, close to subways and central park as well as the theatre district. The street is quiet whcih is also important in NYC. The bed is the best I have ever had in any hotel. The room is spacious and large and the shower is great for two ( if the mood hits you ). Also the room very clean and maid service is unobtrusive.

On the issue of staff bing rude I found quite the opposite. The staff are friendly and helpful and gave me some good directions on where to eat close by. I suspect the attitude comes from how you approache them. Be rude and you will get it back, be friendly and expect that in return. I had also told the hotel before arriving that it was a special occasion for me and the staff did indeed go the extra mile to make it memmorable.

All in all, a great stay and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mandcwolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2010

Loved this hotel. Very sleek and hip boutique hotel near Central Park, Times Square, Rockerfeller Center, and shopping. Nice rooms with a very comfy bed, great high thread count sheets and upper floor very quiet. We walked everywhere uptown and in the park from here. Short walk to subway or doormen will grab you a cab just outside the front. Very cool bar with great drinks (expensive though, but it IS NYC). Restaurant onsite. Service was a little sketchy and concierge was sometimes off, but we did get a great recommendation for a rooftop bar, 230 Fifth, with spectacular views of the Empire State Bldng.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank domrocsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2010

I had read a couple of negative reviews on this hotel with respect to staff being rude and not helpful. I am not sure where these comments came from but we had an amazing time. Three of us went to NY for a 50th birthday. We chose this hotel because of the size of the rooms as they were huge in comparison to others in this price range.We wanted to be together in one room. We were able to put a cot in the living area so we all had our own bed and still lots of room to be comfortable. The bathrooms were huge with double showers and large counter and mirrors.

Anytime we asked for additional towels or a DVD player so we could stay in one night and watch a movie the staff literally did everything to help us. We never had to wait for a thing. All of them were helpful and very accommodating I really can't say enough. We also received a bottle of champagne for our celebration "on the house" which we thought was a nice touch!

We were also concerned given all the talk about bed bugs...but this hotel was very clean and high end....no issues at all. This is a great hotel and we would highly recommend it. I think if you go with a good mindset you will have a great time. We did not eat at the hotel because we decided to be keep things as unscheduled as possible. The bar next door to the hotel was very good and reasonable. Close to wonderful deli's as well as Central Park.

The location was excellent. This is a large noisy city and if you are close to Times Square you have to accept it will be noisy which is why we chose this hotel. It is within walking distance to everything you need but far enough away that it is relatively quite for a big city.

Fatastic!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mymango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moorestown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2010

We had always wanted to stay at the Riga Royal, but by the time we were able to get to NYC, alas, it had been purchased by The London Hotel. Any worries we may have had disappeared at the moment of check-in. We have stayed at The Plaza (stuffy), Waldorf Astoria (unimpressive and cold rooms), and the Marriott Marquis (humongous) in the past, and we would never stay anywhere but The London in the future. Friendly, efficient, clean, smart, and great food.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueFay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#39 of 468 in New York City
2,641 reviews
Midtown
The Blakely New York
The Blakely New York
#137 of 468 in New York City
1,383 reviews
Midtown
WestHouse Hotel New York
WestHouse Hotel New York
#98 of 468 in New York City
1,547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#89 of 468 in New York City
4,250 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#38 of 468 in New York City
3,434 reviews
Midtown
1 Hotel Central Park
1 Hotel Central Park
#26 of 468 in New York City
1,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The London NYC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The London NYC

Property: The London NYC
Address: 151 West 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019-5302
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#74 Family Hotel in New York City
#80 Business Hotel in New York City
#127 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The London NYC 4.5*
Number of rooms: 561
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sophisticated urban luxury in the heart of midtown Manhattan, the award-winning London NYC sets a new standard for New York luxury hotels. Named to several "Best of" and "Top 10 lists", you'll find detailed design, attentive service and The London Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Ebookers, TravelUp, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The London NYC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The London Nyc Hotel New York City
London Nyc New York City
London Hotel New York
London Nyc Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing