We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea
Ranked #260 of 470 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 18 September 2011

Checked in for four days last week. Was in town for business. Its located a couple blocks away from Madison Square Garden. Hotel is ok and decent location. Room was small but quiet. Not a lot of noise from the street. No microwave or fridge. All in all, just ok.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank joshuaelee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,074)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,080 - 1,086 of 2,076 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2011

The hotel has a great location 2 street corners from Penn Station. We came to NYC by train and had tickets to the US Open so the location was perfect!! The hotel itself is nothing special. It is a bland, but clean place. We got a wheelchair accessible room which means that it was a bit larger than the standard. The free Wifi in the room was great. There is also breakfast included in the price of the room, but 1) it is chaos (too many people, too few places to sit) and 2) the food was not very good. There are so many affordable places to eat breakfast/brunch in NYC that we did this instead. I would probably try another hotel when I go back to NYC next time.

Room Tip: Don't get a room on the first floor - very noisy!
See more room tips
Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Giraffe26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2011

Express must mean bare bones. No safe in the room, no cups in the bathroom, just a generic bar of soap and generic shampoo. The room was reasonably sized but the carpet and walls were stained. The bathroom had a bad odor because the weak ceiling fan did not ventilate the moisture out of the room. There was no security at all - no one manning the front door, no restrictions on entering the elevator or the floors. The floor in the elevator was filthy as were the rugs in the hallway. That said, I was happy they had a room available on a moment's notice when we fled a bedbug infested hotel. On the plus side, the bed was comfortable, the maid was helpful, and Tenille at the front desk was very attentive. We only stayed a night and then moved on to a nearby far superior hotel at a lower rate (Hilton Fashion District). This is basically a Manhattan Motel 6, not worth the $300 deal price we paid for the night, and certainly not worth the full price of $550 since it has no amenities at all.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarita53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2011

I have to agree with the customer below, during our stay at the hotel the staff were excellent very helpful especially during the hurricane when we had to re-book a few extra night as our flight was cancelled.

This hotel was a perfect location and price for NYC was reasonable. Bonus was the breakfast included to which was ideal to set you up for the day.

The rooms was ideal size.

Big thank you to Jason for all your help. Wouldnt hesitate to come back to this hotel again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ElizabethJonny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2011

I was really happy with the location of the hotel when we arrived - right in the middle of midtown and near a lot of the major attractions. Then we got to our room! This hotel smells old and musty - the air con smells like damp and is really noisy. The walls in the room need repair/redecoration and are paper thin - you can hear whatever is going on around you. We asked for a wheelchair accessible room. The bathroom is accessible, with a walk-in shower - but nowhere to transfer to, unless you count the floor. The room is very dark with one small window at the back so we have to have all the lights on even in the morning. The good points: comfortable bed, TV that works, iron and ironing board in room, lots of plug sockets. However, for an accessible room, the light switches are too far away from the bed, and the bed is really quite high - having to transfer up to it. The housekeeping service leaves something to be desired - we got clean towels and they remade the bed. They didn't clean the coffee pot or anything else. Breakfast is fair - a bit of a free for all - with the standard offerings. I guess you could say, "you get what you pay for" but this hotel was not at all cheap!! The staff are very friendly and helpful, and always very busy. A few things to note: if you are staying in midtown NY, expect to lose your mobile signal frequently, apparently everybody knows this (we didn't). In this particular hotel, the guest wifi password changes every few days (they didn't tell us this, we found out). If all you want to do is have a place to rest your head for a few hours at night, this hotel is ok. This hotel does not offer the same Holiday In Express standard we have experienced in the UK and Europe, which has always been much much better. What a shame.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2011

We recently stayed here with two kids and the location worked very well. Space is tight in New York City and for the money this is about as good a deal as you will likely get for a room with two full beds (we paid about 280 per night with all the taxes included). There is a parking garage right next door for $25 per day. The hotel was one block away from subway, which we used to go to Battery park for Statue of Liberty Cruise and ground zero. I would not try to drive and park in the city. The hotel was also close to Time Square, Empire State building, and Rockefeller Center. We loved the Statue of Liberty tour with access into the statue foundation and we loved the Top of the Rock from Rockefeller at night. We also used a pedicab in central park and thought it was well worth the $100 after walking around all day.

Room Tip: Keep your window shut and AC on to reduce street noise level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DONBSAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2011

Just a short trip to New York ended up being a small adventure due to hurricane Irene, however the staff at HEI Madison Square were second to none in making everybody feel safe and comfortable for the duration of the hurricane.

Aside from the 'adventure' the hotel itself was great, evrything you can imagine in New York, smart, spotlessly clean and amazingly helpfull and friendly staff. The food, well what can I say, fabulous, huge, very very good indeed almost to the point of not being able to stop eating - need to throw away the scales now!

Thanks to everyone at the hotel for everything.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank citygal234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#288 of 470 in New York City
2,196 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Ti...
#196 of 470 in New York City
1,210 reviews
Chelsea
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manha...
#197 of 470 in New York City
2,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Holiday Inn Express New York City-Wall Street
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#364 of 470 in New York City
523 reviews
Chelsea
Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th Avenue - Chelsea
Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th ...
#338 of 470 in New York City
1,342 reviews
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area
Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison ...
#147 of 470 in New York City
2,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea

Address: 232 West 29th Street, New York City, NY 10001-5201 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express NYC Madison Square Garden)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#64 Green Hotel in New York City
#143 Business Hotel in New York City
#178 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#190 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £102 - £325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea 3*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thank you for choosing the newly renovated Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea hotel located right in the heart of Chelsea and Madison Square Garden area. We include a complimentary hot and cold Express Start Breakfast for all guests of the hotel. Our recently refreshed 15-story high-rise hotel with amenities include free high speed wired and wireless Internet access, free local calls, fitness center, rear garden terrace and a full business center. We are just ten short blocks from Times Square. Also within walking distance is Penn Station, the Empire State Building, Jacob Javits Convention Center, Fashion Institute of Technology, Theatre District, Macy's, mid-town and 5th Avenue shopping. Rockefeller Center is just one mile away! We are also centrally located to many fine restaurants, entertainment venues and some of the finest shopping the city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, IHG, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Nyc - Madison Square Garden Hotel New York City
Holiday Inn New York City
New York City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing