We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean But...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea
Ranked #273 of 467 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Clean But...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2011

First off, let me say the hotel was very clean and well kept. In NYC, that is a big plus. Having said that, there are couple of things worth mentioning about.

The rooms are tiny, I understand it is NYC and real estate is premium, but the fact of the matter is the rooms are small. If you are planning your visit with family or a group of people, given the circumstance, you may want to consider something a little bigger. The rooms are very close to each other, and the walls are not the best for sound proofing. If you are a light sleeper, consider that.

The hotel is very large, but the breakfast area is just an extension of the lobby, therefore you may end up eating in your room, given the lack of seating area. The quality of the breakfast is no frills. A lot of questions were asked in regard to what certain things are?? But having breakfast is better than not, so that's a plus.

On the first night, we had to be moved to a different hotel because everything was booked sold out. The second night we had to wait quite a while for the room to be ready. This gives you a taste of the popularity of the place. It is fairly convenient, close to Penn Station, Macy's and other attractions.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank McBerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony L, Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea, responded to this review, 6 January 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your previous stay at the Holiday Inn Express Madison Square Garden We are happy to see you had a pleasurable stay with us. It is our commitment to provide every guest with superior accommodations and service. We hope this will prompt you to return to the Holiday Inn Express Madison Square Garden and, even more, to our great city to stay with us again! We are very appreciative of your comments as it helps us to ensure our future guests do not run into the same issues! Please feel free to contact me with any questions or concerns in regards to your past stay or in making future plans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,958 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    603
    908
    313
    73
    61
See reviews for
631
534
136
225
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

Clean hotel, good beds and pillows, nice (but small of course) bathroom, free wireless connection, all are plusses. Location so-so, south of Madison Sq. Garden. Free breakfast nice idea, with decent choices, but extremely cramped. Price ok but hardly "low," even for NYC. One major plus: front desk personnel were extremely warm, friendly AND helpful, and always with a smile.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diant53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony L, Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea, responded to this review, 10 January 2012
Dear Traveler,

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy day to review our Holiday Inn Express Madison Square. We appreciate your comments from your past stay, they are most welcomed. If you ever find yourself returning to NYC please don't hessitate to contact us, we would love to have you back. If you would like to talk more about your experience, please contact us. Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool UK
Level Contributor
61 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2011

I stayed for 5 nights at this hotel from 19th Dec 2011. I arrived at 0900 in the morning and was allowed to check into my room (Thanks Jackie). The reception staff were helpful and friendly. Rooms were clean as were the bedding and towels.Housekeeping good ( thanks Ivette). It is not the Grosvenor House, nor are its prices. A decent hotel, in a great location. I never got up for breakfast as there are plenty of cheap options outside to make sleeping in a pleasure. Free coffee in reception all day and an area to chill out , inside and outside. What's not to like?

Room Tip: Our room was on the 15th floor which evaded mostof the passing guest traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeremiahLiverpoolUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony L, Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea, responded to this review, 10 January 2012
Dear reviewer,

Thank you for wirting an amazing review for the Holiday Inn Express Madison Square Garden. We accomodate many guest every evening and our principal goal is to provide dependable service at reasonable prices, and we are delighful to see that you had a pleasant experience. You kind words will make our team members day for sure. Thank you again for your words, we hope to see you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2011

after a long flight and 2hours in line for security we arrived at this hotel to be informed no rooms. we booked in july 2 rooms with 2 beds. eventually we had 1 double bed and 1room with 2 beds on the lower floor next to house keeping. carpets in corridor and rooms were heavily stained, central heating very noisy so no sleep. we were informed no manger on duty until monday! i have been to nyc 4 times and stayed in 4 different hotels 3 i would return to.... not this one. we were not the only ones that weekend to have difficulties

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank famousuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony L, Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea, responded to this review, 6 January 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time out of your day to write a review of your previous stay at the Holiday Inn Express Madison Square Garden. We are saddened to see that your time with us was less than satisfactory. It is our commitment to provide every guest with exemplary service and amenities. I would like to assure you that we have addressed your concerns with the appropriate department heads, as this will enable us to prevent future guests from experiencing similar inconveniences. I would love to speak with you in regards to your experience. Please feel free to contact me at your earliest convenience. Thank you again for your time and patronage. I look forward to hearing from you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2011

I recently stayed in trip hotel for 4 days with 3 friends for a short trip. The rooms are a bit small and walls were thin so we can hear alot of noise but after reading the reviews, it was expected which was fine. The one thing that was really awful was when we arrived to check in on the first day, the room we had booked with 2 double beds was not available so they split us up into two separate rooms each with a king bed. The next day after having breakfast we wanted to go back into the room to get ready before heading out. Without notification, the hotel had disabled our room key card. Confused, I went to the reception desk to get it reactivated only to be told that we had only booked the hotel for one evening and we had to check out by noon. After asking them to double check because we had paid to stay for 3 nights and we only stayed 1, the reception had a look and told us we only had the room change for one night, and we were told we had to pack and up and moved out of our room to a new one within ONE HOUR. We were furious; when we checked in, the girl who checked us in did not say anything about moving rooms again the next day, it was assumed if they gave us a room we would stay in it for the entire time. We ended up spending 2 hours of our time packing up and moving to another room, it was a extreme hassle and we wasted our entire morning doing something unnecessary. In the evening we discovered the new room's washroom had worm like bugs!!! When we asked to speak to the manager we were told that they were not in and had to wait till he/she was back to speak to him/her. In the end our concerns were not addressed.This was an awful experience. Do not stay here.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wchoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony L, Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea, responded to this review, 6 January 2012
Thank you so much for taking the out of your day to write a review of your previous stay at the Holiday Inn Express Madison Square Garden. We are saddened to see that your time with us was less than satisfactory. It is our commitment to provide every guest with exemplary service and amenities. I would like to assure you that we have addressed your concerns with the appropriate department heads, as this will enable us to prevent future guests from experiencing similar inconveniences. I would love to speak with you in regards to your experience. Please feel free to contact me at your earliest convenience. Thank you again for your time and patronage. I look forward to hearing from you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vernon, Connecticut
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2011

We stayed at this hotel and were extremely disappointed as well as sleep deprived. The walls in this hotel are as thin as a tissue and the sound of slamming doors, people walking on the floor above us and sounds of opening and closing drawers kept us awake all night. We finally turned the TV on around 3AM to try to drown out some of the constant noise.
The room was small and clean. The staff was also pleasant.
The elevator in the hotel seemed to be built in the year 1905. It moved extremely slow and was extremely small as well. If an elevator is full you'll have a long wait ahead of you until the next elevator comes.
Good luck if you are trying to call the front desk. We tried on the way into NYC to see if valet parking was available and no one answered. We also tried to call the front desk from our room. The phone just rang and rang.
There was a lot of food available for the free breakfast if you wanted to fight the crowd to get some food. There are very few tables available in the breakfast area so plan on taking your food back up the extremely slow elevator to your room.
There was an abundance of non-English speaking people staying at the hotel and they cut in front of lines at the front desk and at the breakfast buffet. We were also pushed by some of these guests as they tried to get into the elevator ahead of us rather than wait their turn.
We only stayed here for one night and we could not wait to leave!

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingbunny16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony L, Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea, responded to this review, 6 January 2012
Dear valued traveler,

Thank you for taking the time from your busy day to write a review from your past stay at the Holiday Inn Express Madison Square Garden. It unfortunatly to hear about the issues you experienced during your stay. Please accept our sincerest apologies. Be assured that we have addressed all the issues you have mentioned, in order to prevent furher downfall to future guest. If you would like to further discuss your previous stay with us, feel free to contact us. Thank you again for your comments, they are greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ft. Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2011

Finding a hotel in Manhattan in December that was reasonably priced and met my standards for location and cleanliness was quite a challenge... I stayed here with my husband, kids, and parents (2 rooms) from Dec.3-6 and paid USD330 per room taxes included. To me that was insane but it is the going rate for a moderate hotel in Manhattan in December. After getting past the sticker shock I realized that staying in Manhattan was the best choice. We had considered staying in Queens, Brooklyn, or even New Jersey. This hotel is near a subway station around the corner (on the same block). I was hesitant to take the subway after dark with the family and had very low expectations. I was happily surprised that we got around quite well taking the subway, buses, and walking A LOT and we felt safe. This hotel is off a busy street. After dark it's a bit too dark and walking from the busy corner to the middle of the street where the hotel is located was a bit too quiet and dark. But we were a large group so we felt safe. I probably would not walk it alone however.

Re inside the hotel my first impression when getting out of the elevator was that the halls were very narrow. But as other reviewers have commented all accommodations are small. It was decent and clean. The carpet was dirty but the beds and bathroom were very clean and comfortable. My sister and family stayed at the Pennsylvania Hotel two blocks away and although they got a better price and their lobby was nice, her room was very old in need of many repairs and not very comfortable. Also breakfast was not good either.

Although breakfast was crowded it also moved quickly so it never took too much for a table to open up and contrary to other hotel breakfasts that I've been at, the attendants kept restocking and did not rush to close. The cinnamon roles were my kids favorites. The staff was always very helpful and friendly at check-in, check-out, breakfast, and when leaving our luggage after checkout (very convenient!) so that we can sightsee some more before our departure flight.

I recommend if you are staying more than 3 days you buy the Metro unlimited subway/bus rides for 7 days for $29 but be sure to pay with credit card and get a receipt. Unfortunately our tickets became void after a problem with the first bus we took and had to mail them in to claim a refund. We are still waiting on the resolution for that... we only had 1 receipt (we had bought a ticket for each person) and that helped to identify the machine where it was purchased. I also overheard someone with a similar issue but that had paid cash and were basically told that if the ticket got damaged it's their loss. We did not purchase the $29 per person again and instead only filled 2 cards with $10 or so at a time and we shared it (it's not required per person). In the end we spent around $25 in 3 days per person.

Also, if you are visiting the Museum of Natural History, I found out after the fact that the price of admission is a suggested contribution. You may pay a different amount. Since we only had 1 hour to visit it my husband and I stayed behind and sent our kids ahead with the grandparents - thinking it would be a waste of money for us to pay admission to only breeze through the museum in under an hour. Had I known this I would have made a smaller contribution and had gone along. According to the kids it was nothing like the movie Night at the Museum but it was still very interesting and they enjoyed it very much. (Please do make a contribution!)

Also fyi, I recommend visiting the 9/11 Memorial - very beautiful. You need free passes to attend so make sure you book them as soon as possible since time slots do fill up quickly and well in advance.

Room Tip: It's true about the paper thin walls... luckily (or not) our loud neighbors were our own family...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Everglades22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony L, Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea, responded to this review, 6 January 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time out to review our hotel. Your kind words are most greatly appreciated! It makes us very happy to see that you had a pleasurable time with us as it is our commitment to provide every guest with superior accommodations and service, and it is great to see other recommendations for future guest. We hope this will prompt you to return to the Holiday Inn Express Madison Square Garden and, even more, to our great city to stay with us again! Please feel free to contact me with any questions or concerns in regards to your past stay or in making future plans. Thank you again for your time and patronage. We look forward to having you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area
Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison ...
#168 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,848 reviews
Chelsea
Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th Avenue - Chelsea
Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th ...
#336 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Che...
#122 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
#158 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,814 reviews
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#203 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Penn Station
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#109 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea

Property: Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea
Address: 232 West 29th Street, New York City, NY 10001-5201 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express NYC Madison Square Garden)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Green Hotel in New York City
#147 Business Hotel in New York City
#182 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#195 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea 3*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea hotel located right in the heart of Chelsea and Madison Square Garden area. We include a complimentary hot and cold Express Start Breakfast for all guests of the hotel. Our hotel is a new 15 story high-rise hotel with amenities to include free high speed wired and wireless Internet access, free local calls, fitness center, rear garden terrace and a full business center. We are just ten short blocks from Times Square. Also within walking distance is Penn Station, the Empire State Building, Jacob Javits Convention Center, Fashion Institute of Technology, Theatre District, Macy's, mid-town and 5th Avenue shopping. Rockefeller Center is just one mile away! We are also centrally located to many fine restaurants, entertainment venues and some of the finest shopping the city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, IHG, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Nyc - Madison Square Garden Hotel New York City
Holiday Inn New York City
New York City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing