We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bizarre blend of cleanliness and bad design”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea
Ranked #260 of 470 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 9 January 2012

A blend of cleanliness and neglect, friendly staff and toxic food, fresh new furniture and appalling engineering flaws. I gave it 3 stars mostly for the impressive cleanliness of the room (carpet excepted). Other than he usual ground in dirt and stains in the carpet, the room, bed, and fixtures were immaculate. Bathroom clean and no mold, no peeling paint nor wallpaper, heat and AC worked well.
We booked a nonsmoking room, but the minute we walked in the bathroom was full of fresh cigarette smoke as if someone just had one in there. Running the fan dissipated it. Then after a day out, we returned to find the room cleaned and the AC turned on at 60 degrees! It was November at the time, and the room was an icebox. Also, for some bizarre reason, the housekeeper took our hotel provided shampoo away. We had conditioner, soap, lotion, no shampoo, even the tube we had already opened was gone. Weird. Front desk cheerfully gave us more.
The odd parts: the curtains don't close. Really. There are very thin see thru sheers, but the heavy curtains are attached to a rod the is fixed in place in the casement. The hooks go in little holes in a plastic strip which is screwed into place on either side of the window, there's not even a short rod to slide them on. They are there to look pretty while the streetlights stream into your window and the people across the street peep at you! We used some binder clips to hold them sort of closed every night.
The noise in the hall every night was unbelievable. The door was loosely fit in its frame and both light & noise came thru like the door was paper. The guests had a habit of having private conversations all night in the hallway, and houskeeping felt the need to collect trash bags from a closet every night between midnight & 1am.
There's a free hot breakfast in the morning: biscuits, cereal, eggs, sausage, coffee, etc. However a couple hours later both my husband and I had severe indigestion. We've travelled the world and eaten some really strange things (see our Japan reviews), but this "normal" food did us in! You get what you pay for. This is NY, go anywhere else for breakfast!
All this together made it completely unenjoyable, even though we barely spent any time in the room. Again, 3 stars, but I would NOT recommend it!
As of our stay they had no bedbugs.

Room Tip: One away from the elevators, of course, but maybe one with a view to the rear of the hotel would be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Calliope20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony L, Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2012

Dear Valued Traveler,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our Holiday Inn Express Madison Square Garden. We are saddened to see that your time with us was less than satisfactory. It is our commitment to provide every guest with exemplary service and amenities. I would like to assure you that we have addressed your concerns with the appropriate department heads, as this will enable us to prevent future guests from experiencing similar inconveniences. We greatly appreciate the fair manner in which you have evaluated us! I would love to speak with you in regards to this matter, please feel free to contact me at your earliest convenience. Thank you again for your time and patronage. I look forward to hearing from you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,074)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,041 - 1,047 of 2,076 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights, just before Christmas. First of all, the hotel is perfectly located. You are close to subway station and between major attractions. If you like walking, you can do that easily to see Statue of Liberty, Wall st., UN and Central Park. However, the big problem is the proximity of the rooms. The walls are so thin you can hear your neighbor. And when he closes his door, the lock is so noisy. The first night we didn't sleep very well because the other room went in and out without take care to hold the door. But, the other night, it was perfect. (we had new neighbor ;)) Also, the room is tiny, but for us it was ok in fact we went there just to sleep and didn't have a lot of luggage. The room is clean, the service excellent. When we checked in, we got a room near the elevator. We asked for another one and the man at the front desk was very kind and helpful. The breakfast is nice even if the breakfast room is very small. Parking next to with special rate. A must!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the end of the hall, you have just one neighbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie2803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony L, Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your stay at our Holiday Inn Express Madison Square Garden. Your kind words are most greatly appreciated! It makes us very happy to see that you had a pleasurable time with us as it is our commitment to provide every guest with superior accommodations and service. We hope this will prompt you to return to the Holiday Inn Express Madison Square Garden and, even more, to our great city to stay with us again! Please feel free to contact me with any questions or concerns in regards to your past stay or in making future plans. Thank you again for your time and patronage. We look forward to having you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2011

First off, let me say the hotel was very clean and well kept. In NYC, that is a big plus. Having said that, there are couple of things worth mentioning about.

The rooms are tiny, I understand it is NYC and real estate is premium, but the fact of the matter is the rooms are small. If you are planning your visit with family or a group of people, given the circumstance, you may want to consider something a little bigger. The rooms are very close to each other, and the walls are not the best for sound proofing. If you are a light sleeper, consider that.

The hotel is very large, but the breakfast area is just an extension of the lobby, therefore you may end up eating in your room, given the lack of seating area. The quality of the breakfast is no frills. A lot of questions were asked in regard to what certain things are?? But having breakfast is better than not, so that's a plus.

On the first night, we had to be moved to a different hotel because everything was booked sold out. The second night we had to wait quite a while for the room to be ready. This gives you a taste of the popularity of the place. It is fairly convenient, close to Penn Station, Macy's and other attractions.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank McBerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony L, Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your previous stay at the Holiday Inn Express Madison Square Garden We are happy to see you had a pleasurable stay with us. It is our commitment to provide every guest with superior accommodations and service. We hope this will prompt you to return to the Holiday Inn Express Madison Square Garden and, even more, to our great city to stay with us again! We are very appreciative of your comments as it helps us to ensure our future guests do not run into the same issues! Please feel free to contact me with any questions or concerns in regards to your past stay or in making future plans.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2011

Clean hotel, good beds and pillows, nice (but small of course) bathroom, free wireless connection, all are plusses. Location so-so, south of Madison Sq. Garden. Free breakfast nice idea, with decent choices, but extremely cramped. Price ok but hardly "low," even for NYC. One major plus: front desk personnel were extremely warm, friendly AND helpful, and always with a smile.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank diant53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony L, Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2012

Dear Traveler,

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy day to review our Holiday Inn Express Madison Square. We appreciate your comments from your past stay, they are most welcomed. If you ever find yourself returning to NYC please don't hessitate to contact us, we would love to have you back. If you would like to talk more about your experience, please contact us. Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2011

I stayed for 5 nights at this hotel from 19th Dec 2011. I arrived at 0900 in the morning and was allowed to check into my room (Thanks Jackie). The reception staff were helpful and friendly. Rooms were clean as were the bedding and towels.Housekeeping good ( thanks Ivette). It is not the Grosvenor House, nor are its prices. A decent hotel, in a great location. I never got up for breakfast as there are plenty of cheap options outside to make sleeping in a pleasure. Free coffee in reception all day and an area to chill out , inside and outside. What's not to like?

Room Tip: Our room was on the 15th floor which evaded mostof the passing guest traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeremiahLiverpoolUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony L, Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2012

Dear reviewer,

Thank you for wirting an amazing review for the Holiday Inn Express Madison Square Garden. We accomodate many guest every evening and our principal goal is to provide dependable service at reasonable prices, and we are delighful to see that you had a pleasant experience. You kind words will make our team members day for sure. Thank you again for your words, we hope to see you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2011

after a long flight and 2hours in line for security we arrived at this hotel to be informed no rooms. we booked in july 2 rooms with 2 beds. eventually we had 1 double bed and 1room with 2 beds on the lower floor next to house keeping. carpets in corridor and rooms were heavily stained, central heating very noisy so no sleep. we were informed no manger on duty until monday! i have been to nyc 4 times and stayed in 4 different hotels 3 i would return to.... not this one. we were not the only ones that weekend to have difficulties

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank famousuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony L, Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time out of your day to write a review of your previous stay at the Holiday Inn Express Madison Square Garden. We are saddened to see that your time with us was less than satisfactory. It is our commitment to provide every guest with exemplary service and amenities. I would like to assure you that we have addressed your concerns with the appropriate department heads, as this will enable us to prevent future guests from experiencing similar inconveniences. I would love to speak with you in regards to your experience. Please feel free to contact me at your earliest convenience. Thank you again for your time and patronage. I look forward to hearing from you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2011

I recently stayed in trip hotel for 4 days with 3 friends for a short trip. The rooms are a bit small and walls were thin so we can hear alot of noise but after reading the reviews, it was expected which was fine. The one thing that was really awful was when we arrived to check in on the first day, the room we had booked with 2 double beds was not available so they split us up into two separate rooms each with a king bed. The next day after having breakfast we wanted to go back into the room to get ready before heading out. Without notification, the hotel had disabled our room key card. Confused, I went to the reception desk to get it reactivated only to be told that we had only booked the hotel for one evening and we had to check out by noon. After asking them to double check because we had paid to stay for 3 nights and we only stayed 1, the reception had a look and told us we only had the room change for one night, and we were told we had to pack and up and moved out of our room to a new one within ONE HOUR. We were furious; when we checked in, the girl who checked us in did not say anything about moving rooms again the next day, it was assumed if they gave us a room we would stay in it for the entire time. We ended up spending 2 hours of our time packing up and moving to another room, it was a extreme hassle and we wasted our entire morning doing something unnecessary. In the evening we discovered the new room's washroom had worm like bugs!!! When we asked to speak to the manager we were told that they were not in and had to wait till he/she was back to speak to him/her. In the end our concerns were not addressed.This was an awful experience. Do not stay here.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wchoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony L, Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2012

Thank you so much for taking the out of your day to write a review of your previous stay at the Holiday Inn Express Madison Square Garden. We are saddened to see that your time with us was less than satisfactory. It is our commitment to provide every guest with exemplary service and amenities. I would like to assure you that we have addressed your concerns with the appropriate department heads, as this will enable us to prevent future guests from experiencing similar inconveniences. I would love to speak with you in regards to your experience. Please feel free to contact me at your earliest convenience. Thank you again for your time and patronage. I look forward to hearing from you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#288 of 470 in New York City
2,196 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Ti...
#196 of 470 in New York City
1,210 reviews
Chelsea
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manha...
#197 of 470 in New York City
2,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Holiday Inn Express New York City-Wall Street
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#364 of 470 in New York City
523 reviews
Chelsea
Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th Avenue - Chelsea
Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th ...
#338 of 470 in New York City
1,342 reviews
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area
Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison ...
#147 of 470 in New York City
2,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea

Address: 232 West 29th Street, New York City, NY 10001-5201 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express NYC Madison Square Garden)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#64 Green Hotel in New York City
#143 Business Hotel in New York City
#178 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#190 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £102 - £325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea 3*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thank you for choosing the newly renovated Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea hotel located right in the heart of Chelsea and Madison Square Garden area. We include a complimentary hot and cold Express Start Breakfast for all guests of the hotel. Our recently refreshed 15-story high-rise hotel with amenities include free high speed wired and wireless Internet access, free local calls, fitness center, rear garden terrace and a full business center. We are just ten short blocks from Times Square. Also within walking distance is Penn Station, the Empire State Building, Jacob Javits Convention Center, Fashion Institute of Technology, Theatre District, Macy's, mid-town and 5th Avenue shopping. Rockefeller Center is just one mile away! We are also centrally located to many fine restaurants, entertainment venues and some of the finest shopping the city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Nyc - Madison Square Garden Hotel New York City
Holiday Inn New York City
New York City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing