We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea
Ranked #263 of 467 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Bengaluru, India
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Proximity”
Reviewed 12 January 2012

Though an average hotel, but i give more points to it, due to the proximity to Penn Station, Time Square etc. All of which are walking distance. The grand central is also a few blocks away !

Breakfast could have been better !

The staff at the front desk are very friendly and provided adequate support as needed !

Room Tip: The A/C Noise is too high !! Choose your rooms carefully if you have an option
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank darora123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony L, Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea, responded to this review, 13 January 2012
Dear Traveler,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Holiday Inn Express Madison Square Garden. Every suggestion is welcomed by our staff and also by future guest. It is reassuring to see that your time spent with us was an enjoyable one. During these times where you have many options to choose from, we are glad that you chose to stay with us. If you ever find yourself returning to the "Big Apple" please don’t hesitate to contact us, we would be more than happy to be of service to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,017 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    619
    940
    321
    76
    61
See reviews for
656
548
140
226
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

A decent 3 star hotel with friendly front desk service. The room was a decent size (keeping in mind this is NYC), clean and the bed was comfortable. There is a free breakfast service (which was a bonus), although seating is very sparse so I would suggest taking the breakfast to your room. The hotel is in a good location as you’re close to Penn Station and within walking distance to several tourist attractions. There is no onsite restaurant but you are within walking distance of several restaurants.

All in all, if you are not looking to spend a fortune on a NYC hotel or you need a decent transit hotel in the city, I would recommend this one.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank exploringtheglobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony L, Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea, responded to this review, 12 January 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy day to review our Holiday Inn Express Madison Square Garden. We love to see that your time spent with us was more than enjoyable. Your recommendations for future guest are fantastic, they are of great assistance. Please think of us if you ever find yourself returning to New York City. Thank you again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

My friends and I stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in Madison Square Garden for 3 nights. I have to say I was pleasantly surprised with the hotel. It was very clean and they changed our sheets and towels every night.

Overall the hotel had a great location, just 2 blocks from Madison Square Garden and 1 block from the nearest subway station. Additionally, the included breakfast saved our group a lot of time in the morning. They had various food options and they swapped them around everyday.

Lastly, we were able to check in early (almost 4 hours!) on the first day which again saved us a lot of time of waiting.

The hotel also lets you store your bags in their lobby after you check out and before you head over to the airport with absolutely no cost! This is much different from other NYC hotels I have stayed at in the past.

Overall I would say for the price of this hotel, it is worth staying here!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony L, Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea, responded to this review, 12 January 2012
Dear Traveler,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Holiday Inn Express Madison Square Garden. Your kind words are most appreciated, our team will be estatic to hear about your previous stay. If you ever find yourself returning to the "Big Apple" please dont hessitate to contact us, we would be more than happy to have you stay again. Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

A blend of cleanliness and neglect, friendly staff and toxic food, fresh new furniture and appalling engineering flaws. I gave it 3 stars mostly for the impressive cleanliness of the room (carpet excepted). Other than he usual ground in dirt and stains in the carpet, the room, bed, and fixtures were immaculate. Bathroom clean and no mold, no peeling paint nor wallpaper, heat and AC worked well.
We booked a nonsmoking room, but the minute we walked in the bathroom was full of fresh cigarette smoke as if someone just had one in there. Running the fan dissipated it. Then after a day out, we returned to find the room cleaned and the AC turned on at 60 degrees! It was November at the time, and the room was an icebox. Also, for some bizarre reason, the housekeeper took our hotel provided shampoo away. We had conditioner, soap, lotion, no shampoo, even the tube we had already opened was gone. Weird. Front desk cheerfully gave us more.
The odd parts: the curtains don't close. Really. There are very thin see thru sheers, but the heavy curtains are attached to a rod the is fixed in place in the casement. The hooks go in little holes in a plastic strip which is screwed into place on either side of the window, there's not even a short rod to slide them on. They are there to look pretty while the streetlights stream into your window and the people across the street peep at you! We used some binder clips to hold them sort of closed every night.
The noise in the hall every night was unbelievable. The door was loosely fit in its frame and both light & noise came thru like the door was paper. The guests had a habit of having private conversations all night in the hallway, and houskeeping felt the need to collect trash bags from a closet every night between midnight & 1am.
There's a free hot breakfast in the morning: biscuits, cereal, eggs, sausage, coffee, etc. However a couple hours later both my husband and I had severe indigestion. We've travelled the world and eaten some really strange things (see our Japan reviews), but this "normal" food did us in! You get what you pay for. This is NY, go anywhere else for breakfast!
All this together made it completely unenjoyable, even though we barely spent any time in the room. Again, 3 stars, but I would NOT recommend it!
As of our stay they had no bedbugs.

Room Tip: One away from the elevators, of course, but maybe one with a view to the rear of the hotel would be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Calliope20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony L, Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea, responded to this review, 10 January 2012
Dear Valued Traveler,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our Holiday Inn Express Madison Square Garden. We are saddened to see that your time with us was less than satisfactory. It is our commitment to provide every guest with exemplary service and amenities. I would like to assure you that we have addressed your concerns with the appropriate department heads, as this will enable us to prevent future guests from experiencing similar inconveniences. We greatly appreciate the fair manner in which you have evaluated us! I would love to speak with you in regards to this matter, please feel free to contact me at your earliest convenience. Thank you again for your time and patronage. I look forward to hearing from you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights, just before Christmas. First of all, the hotel is perfectly located. You are close to subway station and between major attractions. If you like walking, you can do that easily to see Statue of Liberty, Wall st., UN and Central Park. However, the big problem is the proximity of the rooms. The walls are so thin you can hear your neighbor. And when he closes his door, the lock is so noisy. The first night we didn't sleep very well because the other room went in and out without take care to hold the door. But, the other night, it was perfect. (we had new neighbor ;)) Also, the room is tiny, but for us it was ok in fact we went there just to sleep and didn't have a lot of luggage. The room is clean, the service excellent. When we checked in, we got a room near the elevator. We asked for another one and the man at the front desk was very kind and helpful. The breakfast is nice even if the breakfast room is very small. Parking next to with special rate. A must!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the end of the hall, you have just one neighbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie2803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony L, Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea, responded to this review, 6 January 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your stay at our Holiday Inn Express Madison Square Garden. Your kind words are most greatly appreciated! It makes us very happy to see that you had a pleasurable time with us as it is our commitment to provide every guest with superior accommodations and service. We hope this will prompt you to return to the Holiday Inn Express Madison Square Garden and, even more, to our great city to stay with us again! Please feel free to contact me with any questions or concerns in regards to your past stay or in making future plans. Thank you again for your time and patronage. We look forward to having you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2011

First off, let me say the hotel was very clean and well kept. In NYC, that is a big plus. Having said that, there are couple of things worth mentioning about.

The rooms are tiny, I understand it is NYC and real estate is premium, but the fact of the matter is the rooms are small. If you are planning your visit with family or a group of people, given the circumstance, you may want to consider something a little bigger. The rooms are very close to each other, and the walls are not the best for sound proofing. If you are a light sleeper, consider that.

The hotel is very large, but the breakfast area is just an extension of the lobby, therefore you may end up eating in your room, given the lack of seating area. The quality of the breakfast is no frills. A lot of questions were asked in regard to what certain things are?? But having breakfast is better than not, so that's a plus.

On the first night, we had to be moved to a different hotel because everything was booked sold out. The second night we had to wait quite a while for the room to be ready. This gives you a taste of the popularity of the place. It is fairly convenient, close to Penn Station, Macy's and other attractions.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank McBerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony L, Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea, responded to this review, 6 January 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your previous stay at the Holiday Inn Express Madison Square Garden We are happy to see you had a pleasurable stay with us. It is our commitment to provide every guest with superior accommodations and service. We hope this will prompt you to return to the Holiday Inn Express Madison Square Garden and, even more, to our great city to stay with us again! We are very appreciative of your comments as it helps us to ensure our future guests do not run into the same issues! Please feel free to contact me with any questions or concerns in regards to your past stay or in making future plans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2011

Clean hotel, good beds and pillows, nice (but small of course) bathroom, free wireless connection, all are plusses. Location so-so, south of Madison Sq. Garden. Free breakfast nice idea, with decent choices, but extremely cramped. Price ok but hardly "low," even for NYC. One major plus: front desk personnel were extremely warm, friendly AND helpful, and always with a smile.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diant53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony L, Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea, responded to this review, 10 January 2012
Dear Traveler,

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy day to review our Holiday Inn Express Madison Square. We appreciate your comments from your past stay, they are most welcomed. If you ever find yourself returning to NYC please don't hessitate to contact us, we would love to have you back. If you would like to talk more about your experience, please contact us. Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area
Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison ...
#161 of 467 in New York City
1,935 reviews
Chelsea
Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th Avenue - Chelsea
Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th ...
#330 of 467 in New York City
1,300 reviews
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
#163 of 467 in New York City
1,884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Che...
#114 of 467 in New York City
843 reviews
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Penn Station
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#119 of 467 in New York City
1,339 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#290 of 467 in New York City
2,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea

Property: Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea
Address: 232 West 29th Street, New York City, NY 10001-5201 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express NYC Madison Square Garden)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#65 Green Hotel in New York City
#144 Business Hotel in New York City
#179 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#191 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea 3*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thank you for choosing the newly renovated Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea hotel located right in the heart of Chelsea and Madison Square Garden area. We include a complimentary hot and cold Express Start Breakfast for all guests of the hotel. Our recently refreshed 15-story high-rise hotel with amenities include free high speed wired and wireless Internet access, free local calls, fitness center, rear garden terrace and a full business center. We are just ten short blocks from Times Square. Also within walking distance is Penn Station, the Empire State Building, Jacob Javits Convention Center, Fashion Institute of Technology, Theatre District, Macy's, mid-town and 5th Avenue shopping. Rockefeller Center is just one mile away! We are also centrally located to many fine restaurants, entertainment venues and some of the finest shopping the city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, IHG, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Nyc - Madison Square Garden Hotel New York City
Holiday Inn New York City
New York City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing