We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea
Ranked #259 of 473 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 29 August 2013

What a fantastic hotel.

We found all the staff so friendly and most helpful - nothing was too much to ask. We had a problem printing out tickets to the 9/11 memorial and one of the staff kindly did this, after I forwarded the email reply to him.

WiFi was excellent in our room. I had problems (my fault) setting up WiFi on my iPad but one of the staff kindly helped out.

There is a business centre where guests can use 2 computers and printers.

The free breakfast was the best we've ever had. Such a great variety of cereals, juices, breads, yoghurt, fresh fruit, muffins, bagels, sweet pastries, tea, coffee and hot food which we didn't partake in. You certainly won't go away hungry. The dining is a good size but I would suggest you go early as it does get very busy. There are also tables out the front of the hotel.
During the day there is always coffee, tea and ice water available. There's also a microwave if you need to heat/cook something.

Our room, although small, as is usual for NY, was very clean. Our bed was very comfortable and each room has its own airconditioner - it is possible to open the window slightly. There were toiletries in the bathroom - soap, shampoo, conditioner, mouth wash, bath gel (yes the room had a bath) and lotion. They are ball replaced as you use them. Our room had a flat screen TV with adequate channels.

We were on the 15th floor and we had no noise from the street. We were able to look out the window and see the Empire State Building, off to or right.

The hotel is very close to transport (subway and buses) and you can get a cab easily, close by.

There are many restaurants within walking distance. We ate at an Indian opposite - food was not too bad. We also ate pizza which was great - I do agree that NY pizza is fantastic. We also at some good Thai. If you ask at Reception they will give you a sheet with restaurants tha are close by.

To get to the hotel we used the AirTrain from JFK Airport to Jamaica and then the rail (LIRR) to Pennsylvania (Penn) Station, which left us with a short 5 minute walk to the hotel - it was so easy and cost us less than $20 - the trip from the airport took around one hour - it wasn't a tedious trip either! (After you collect your luggage at the airport follow the signs to the AirTrain. We arrived at the airport at 7pm and found that there were people to assist with directions if needed. The shuttle service costs around $40 for two adults to the hotel. We heard a man telling one of the staff at our hotel that he'd caught a cab and the driver had charged him $300!!)

We would stay at this hotel if/when we return to the fabulous city of NY.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharonkai48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maggie H, Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

Dear Sharonkai48,

What a "fantastic" review!

Thank you for taking the time to share such detailed feedback with fellow TripAdvisor users. I am very happy to hear that our team was able to quickly assist you with any requests during your visit. I am also pleased to hear that our breakfast is the best you've ever encountered at a hotel. Our complimentary breakfast does offer an impressive spread!

We'll look forward to welcoming you back to our fabulous city!

Sincerely,

Maggie Houston
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,106)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

779 - 785 of 2,106 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2013

I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting NYC. Room was clean and was equipped with everything we needed for a comfortable stay. Hotel is located in a very convenient spot near Penn Station and within walking distance to many NYC sites. Staff was very friendly and accommodating. Free breakfast had alot of different options and was well maintained (a bit crowded, though this is understandable). I look forward to returning to this Holiday Inn in the future>

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maggie H, Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

Dear Karen H,

Thank you for the glowing 5 star review! We are very pleased to hear that you and your family had a very comfortable stat at our hotel. Our breakfast is quite popular and certainly offers a wide variety of hot and cold options. We suggest joining us early in the day to get the day off to a productive start!

We'll look forward to your return visit!

Best,

Maggie Houston
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We stayed at this hotel for the second half of our holiday to the US. It is very well located and within walking distance to Penn Station. The staff are extremely helpful in particular Victor, Matthew and Eric on reception and the manager Gary could not do enough to make sure we had everything we needed and advised us on the best places to visit. He took the trouble to be available for all guests at breakfast and was a role model for his staff. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel and will definitely use it again if I revisit New York in the future.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room on the tenth floor overlooking the main entrance. The higher you are the less s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maggie H, Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

Dear Christine S,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay at the Holiday Inn Express Madison Square Garden. We are very pleased to hear that several of our team members including the General Manager left such a wonderful impression upon you. We have a very close-knit team that works together to ensure all guests receive wonderful service during their time at the hotel.

Please visit us again! We would love to welcome you back!

Best,

Maggie Houston
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We've tried several hotels in NYC and this is about as good as it gets in the price category. Very convenient for the subway (1 block to the "1" line) and a clean, reasonably-sized room with efficient (if rather aggressive) air-conditioning. The front desk - Arnold, Anais and Tenille, as well as the assistant manager - were friendly and helpful.

We've read reviews which mention the crowded breakfast bar but, hey, this is NYC. We were grateful to get a breakfast. It's not ideal and can get pretty crowded, but my impression is that many of the problems were caused by the guests. Who really needs 8 slices of toast at once? Personally, I'd trash the pancake machines (too big and too slow) and make space for breakfast rolls.

Room Tip: The higher the better to avoid street noise. Elevators can be slow however.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexander C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJDempsey, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2013

Dear Alexander C,
Thank you for your stay and FIVE STAR REVIEW!!! Our great location and prices make staying here smart. Breakfast is included and does get busy, like any place during peak times. We have indoor and outdoor seating to accommodate our guests. Our outstanding staff know that friendly and helpful service make for a super stay.
We look forward to you staying with us again!
Regards,
Matthew Dempsey/Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

I would reccomend the hotel due to his location, subway stop (red line) is near by. Room are tiny but clean. Breakfast woudl be noce if you find a place where to seat....I would suggest to step out and stop and first sturbucks coffee. Elavator service is very inefficient...you can spend 20m waiting for it. Personnel friendly and efficient.

Room Tip: I would not stay on the lower floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saba S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJDempsey, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2013

Dear Saba S,
Thank you for your stay and review. Good location and clean rooms are essential and we proud to offer these at a great price. We even include breakfast.
We look forwards to your next visit!
Regards,
Matthew Dempsey/Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Very nice staff: courteous and professional in the right balance! Even when I showed dissapointed by the room size, Indira Singh tried to solve it, offering me a new room, Amazon lateness devilery... everything handled in a very professional way. Congratulations to the team. Good service is a very important component on the choice of a hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marlene O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJDempsey, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2013

Dear Marlene O, Thank you for yor stay and FIVE STAR REVIEW! We are proud to offer our guests a friendly and professional team. We are happy to help with anything you might need. We realize our guests have many hotels to choose from in NYC and our service is what makes us outstanding.
We hope we can take care of you again during your next trip.
Regards,
Matthew Dempsey/Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013 via mobile

We visited New York with 2 young children, and after spending time trawling the Internet for central hotels within a certain budget, we decided on the Holiday Inn Express. From the moment we walked in I was very impressed with the helpful staff; they allowed us to check in early which was great, as we could freshen up after a long journey. Breakfast was complementary and was an excellent way to start the day, getting the children filled up. We were also allowed to keep our bags there whilst we explored New York even though we had checked out. Overall a superb choice and would recommend to others.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bambi1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maggie H, Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2013

Dear Bambi1976,

Thank you so much for taking the time to submit such a wonderful review! We are very pleased to hear that you and your family found our hotel a perfect fit for your vacation. Thank you for noting the helpful demeanor of our team. We work our hardest to ensure our guests fully enjoy their time with us as well as their time exploring NYC!

Please visit us again!

Sincerely,

Maggie Houston
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#288 of 473 in New York City
2,235 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Ti...
#202 of 473 in New York City
1,229 reviews
Chelsea
Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th Avenue - Chelsea
Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th ...
#335 of 473 in New York City
1,357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Penn Station
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#113 of 473 in New York City
1,483 reviews
Financial District
Holiday Inn Express New York City-Wall Street
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#368 of 473 in New York City
536 reviews
Chelsea
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manha...
#212 of 473 in New York City
2,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea

Address: 232 West 29th Street, New York City, NY 10001-5201 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express NYC Madison Square Garden)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Green Hotel in New York City
#93 Family Hotel in New York City
#142 Business Hotel in New York City
#177 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £91 - £272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea 3*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thank you for choosing the newly renovated Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea hotel located right in the heart of Chelsea and Madison Square Garden area. We include a complimentary hot and cold Express Start Breakfast for all guests of the hotel. Our recently refreshed 15-story high-rise hotel with amenities include free high speed wired and wireless Internet access, free local calls, fitness center, rear garden terrace and a full business center. We are just ten short blocks from Times Square. Also within walking distance is Penn Station, the Empire State Building, Jacob Javits Convention Center, Fashion Institute of Technology, Theatre District, Macy's, mid-town and 5th Avenue shopping. Rockefeller Center is just one mile away! We are also centrally located to many fine restaurants, entertainment venues and some of the finest shopping the city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Nyc - Madison Square Garden Hotel New York City
Holiday Inn New York City
New York City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing