We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service and location would stay here again and again!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea
Ranked #262 of 466 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Tiltonsville, Ohio
2 reviews
“Excellent service and location would stay here again and again!”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Recently spent a long weekend at this HI Express and just wanted to compliment Sheila at the front desk and the entire staff. I am a Priority Club member so we routinely stay at Holiday Inn properties. This particular location is superb. We felt welcomed right from the start. We arrived early on Megabus and Sheila offered not only to hold our luggage but invited us to partake in the breakfast even though we were not able to check in due to early arrival. She also helped us find our way around the city by providing directions and subway/train info. I also had a slight problem with my in room safe and maintenance was there in no time to assist. Everything about this stay was EXCELLENT! Thank you.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanHfairway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shalini S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear SusanHfairway,

Thank you for your review and for giving us a High Five! I would also like to thank you for your loyalty as an IHG Rewards Member. I am very glad to hear that Sheila was able to make you feel welcomed at our hotel and to show you how to navigate around the city. I am so happy to hear that you had such an "excellent" stay.

Yours truly,
Shelly S
Front Office Supervisor
Holiday Inn Express -MSG
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,003 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    616
    931
    319
    76
    61
See reviews for
648
546
137
226
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chalfont, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Hotel was a short distance from penn station which is the main reason we chose it. Price was good and hotel staff was very helpful. Our room wasn't ready when we arrived at 2pm but they were more than willing to hold our bags. We checked in early and didn't have to do anything but get our key later. What a pleasant surprise to learn we got a room near the top of the hotel with a great view of the city at no extra charge. Room was clean and large enough for 2 along with bags. Only complaint was that heat/air conditioning was hard to regulate and keep temperature firm. Decent selection of hot and cold breakfast items. Suggest going down before 9 to avoid crowds. Not too much in the way of breakfast area seating

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shalini S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear CarolynM,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and staying in our hotel. We have recently installed an ECO-Friendly thermostat in all of our guest room, that regulate the temperature when you enter and leave the room. Because our complimentary breakfast is such a big hit with our guests, in the coming months we will be renovating and expanding our breakfast area.

Yours truly,
Shelly S
Front Office Supervisor
Holiday Inn Express -MSG
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Myself and two companions visited New York prior to Christmas earlier this month.
We stayed in the Holiday Inn Madison Square Gardens.
Because our flight was delayed for 3 days due to extreme weather conditions, we had no problem being allocated a longer stay in the hotel. The staff could not have been more helpful. Above and beyond the call of duty they telephoned the airline and transfer company on our behalf, making the experience much more pleasant than it could have been.
So thank you to all the staff especially Teneele and Indira, and a Happy 2014 to you all.

Cynthia, Janice and Helen from Inverness Scotland.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 293CynthiaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shalini S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear 293CynthiaB,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and giving us a High Five! I am very happy to hear that you and your companions had a wonderful stay. We strive everyday to help our guests in any way we can and I am glad that Tenille and Indira were able to go "above and beyond the call of duty" to make your stay so pleasant.
Happy New Year to you.

Yours truly,
Shelly S
Front Office Supervisor
Holiday Inn Express -MSG
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Stayed a full 7 days in this hotel in December 2013. We were given a room on the 15th floor with a side view of Empire State Building. The hotel was off 7th Avenue on 29th West but only a short walk to Penn Station which virtually can take you anywhere to the airports; train rides; etc. Therefore it was quite quiet except for the occasional famous emergency vehicles speeding around. Our room was clean as expected with good smelling sheets and casings. TV programs were more than sufficient with 55 channels on a HD flat screen and definitely a plus point with their room high speed free WIFI.
On the lower side comments on the elevators and breakfast area by other writers, I need to pen my views here. The elevators and breakfast area actually do commensurate with the size and operations of this hotel especially the price we were paying. The waiting time is worth the price we are paying.

Room Tip: Go for higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank owlyong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shalini S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
Dear Owlyong,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review and giving us a High Five! In the coming new year we will be renovating the breakfast and lobby area, with will provide more seating space. I am very glad you enjoy your stay with us, our staff work very hard to delivery great services.

Best Wishes for the New Year's,

Shelly S
Front Office Supervisor
Holiday Inn Express - MSG
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netanya, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013 via mobile

A very nice hotel. The room was clean and nice. The bed very comfortable . The staff very friendly especially Anais & Indira. The location is wonderful. On arrival and departure we got a cake-that was very nice gesture. Breakfast was nice and rich, sometimes crowded.
מלון מומלץ ביותר. מיקום נהדר. חדר נעים, נקי ומיטה נוחה. ארוחת בוקר טובה. צוות נעים. הרגשת ארוח מצויינת מרגע ההגעה עד העזיבה. דינה ומאיר.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shalini S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
Dear Dina H,

Thank you for your review! I am very happy that our staff provide you with friendly service I will pass this along to Anais and Indira. Thank you for choosing our hotel on your visit to the Big Apple - NYC.

Best Wishes for the New Year!

Shelly S.
Front Office Supervisor
Holiday Inn Express - MSG
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hockessin, Delaware
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

We wanted to thank Victor, Shelly and the rest of the crew on Saturday night the 21st of Dec. They showed us compassion, kindness and made us feel they like what they do and are proud of their jobs. Victor went out of his way to suggest clubs for us. Nice change of pace in a big city, good job, excellent service.

Room Tip: Bed was very comfy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maggie H, Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
Dear Jeannifer M,

Thank you so much for rating your visit 5 stars! I am pleased to hear that all of our staff (especially Victor & Shelly) left you with such a warm impression. We work very hard to make our guests feel at-home while visiting this big city of ours, so it is certainly very much appreciated when our work is recognized.

We'll hope to see you in 2014!

Season's Greetings,

Maggie Houston
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burghead, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Stuck in New York due to flight cancellations because of bad weather, the staff were brilliant helping us with our dilemma.
The domestic staff too were always so cheerful and willing to help.
Beds very comfortable, warm and cosy rooms kept clean and coffee tea in rooms as well as available at reception area any time.
Very well placed in the centre of the city which makes everything within easy reach. Would return anytime to this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shalini S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
Dear Janice M,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel and giving us a 5 STAR! Our staff do work hard to delivery a friendly, warm and caring environment for your guest. Hopefully the next time you visit NYC it will be under pleasant circumstance.

Best Wishes,

Shelly S
Front Office Supervisor
Holiday Inn Express NYC - MSG
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area
Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison ...
#161 of 466 in New York City
1,911 reviews
Chelsea
Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th Avenue - Chelsea
Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th ...
#330 of 466 in New York City
1,291 reviews
Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Che...
#116 of 466 in New York City
831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Penn Station
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#117 of 466 in New York City
1,316 reviews
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
#160 of 466 in New York City
1,870 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#292 of 466 in New York City
2,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea

Property: Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea
Address: 232 West 29th Street, New York City, NY 10001-5201 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express NYC Madison Square Garden)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Green Hotel in New York City
#146 Business Hotel in New York City
#181 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#193 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea 3*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thank you for choosing the newly renovated Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea hotel located right in the heart of Chelsea and Madison Square Garden area. We include a complimentary hot and cold Express Start Breakfast for all guests of the hotel. Our recently refreshed 15-story high-rise hotel with amenities include free high speed wired and wireless Internet access, free local calls, fitness center, rear garden terrace and a full business center. We are just ten short blocks from Times Square. Also within walking distance is Penn Station, the Empire State Building, Jacob Javits Convention Center, Fashion Institute of Technology, Theatre District, Macy's, mid-town and 5th Avenue shopping. Rockefeller Center is just one mile away! We are also centrally located to many fine restaurants, entertainment venues and some of the finest shopping the city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Nyc - Madison Square Garden Hotel New York City
Holiday Inn New York City
New York City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing