We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea
Ranked #272 of 467 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
New York City, New York
1 review
“Excellent service”
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Everything was fantastic, checked in and out super easy. i will easily recommend this to a friend or family member.
and all thanks goes to the front desk receptionist Sheila.
jan 28th-29th 2014.
will return

Room Tip: ever room is a good one
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MohmaD A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shalini S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear MohmaD A,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and giving us a High Five! I am so happy that Sheila delivery wonderful service, I will certainly pass this along to her.

Looking forward to hosting you on your return trip.

Yours truly,

Shelly S.
Front Office Supervisor
Holiday Inn Express - MSG
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,973 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    607
    915
    316
    74
    61
See reviews for
638
538
136
225
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 January 2014

I was on a short business trip and was really pleasantly surprised. This hotel was a great value for the money.

Pros: Generally nice and clean and well lit. Comfy rooms and beds, everything pretty nice and new, good TV to watch, nice desk and workspace, fast & reliable Wifi, friendly staff, nice bathrooms, good hot water and pressure. Good room temperature. Not too loud. Within walking distance of Penn Station, 5th ave, etc.

Cons: (Almost none) the rooms are on the small side- but it's New York.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Globetrottinbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shalini S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear Globetrottinbabe,

Thank you for your review and your High Five! Very happy that you find our hotel and staff friendly. We very much appreciate your comments on the services we provide. Our staff members work extremely hard on a daily base to keep our hotel in good working condition.

Hope to see you on your next visit to NYC.

Yours truly,
Shelly S
Front Office Supervisor
Holiday Inn Express -MSG
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

My company booked a block of rooms for a corporate training. Every person commented on how wonderfully they slept, how clean the rooms were and how nice everyone was at the hotel. Indira, the front desk manager, assisted me with all aspects of the reservations and was extremely helpful! She went above and beyond to help and I appreciate all that everyone did to help make their stay comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shalini S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
Dear Michele G,

Thank you so much for your review and for giving us a High Five! I am very happy to hear that Indira went above and beyond, I will certainly pass this alone to her as well to the entire team.

Thank you for choosing our hotel. Looking forward to the next visit.

Yours truly,
Shelly S.
Front Office Supervisor
Holiday Inn Express - MSG
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

I arrived at the hotel after a 23.5 hrs flight. I was greeted with a big surprise that there is no reservation( or cancelled) even though i have the printed paper on hand. The reason given was that since it is advance payment booking and they are unable to clear my credit card ( i don't know why), they cancelled my reservation. The same credit card was used for my other hotel bookings for m trip in USA and without any issue. Anyway to cut the long ordeal story short, the reception lady - Sheila is one of the best employee you would want in your team. She is very helpful and through her assistance, we managed to check in the hotel. Thanks Sheila.

I agrees with most of the comment on this hotel. The breakfast spread is simple and ok and appreciated but the space is rather small. The heater is really noisy and despite tried various setting, it cut on/off throughout the night. Hope that the hotel can look into it.

Location is good and walking distance to many eateries and attractions.

I also read some latest reviews that for IHG member, they had a welcome snack and bottled water. Maybe they are Platinum or Gold members, i am a IHG member but did not have any throughout my whole stay.

Again, thanks to Sheila for making my stay within expectations,

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maggie H, Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear Ben N,

Thank you for sharing your experience. While I am sorry to learn of your cancelled booking, I am happy to hear that Sheila was able to quickly turn the situation around. Although I can't research your reservation without a bit more information, I assume that you reserved a reservation which required advanced, non-refundable payment. Unfortunately, if we are unable to acquire the advanced payment at the time of booking and no valid contact information is on-file for the reservation, these reservations are termed not-guaranteed and cancelled. If you would be so kind, please contact me directly (maggie.houston@hhmlp.com) so that I may research this cancellation further. While we must follow the policies established by the Intercontinental Hotels Group, we certainly never wish to cause our guests any frustration (especially after a long flight).
I am also pleased to report that IHG has just streamlined its rewards welcome amenity program across all branded hotels. At this time, only IHG Gold Elite and IHG Platinum Elite members are greeted with the choice of water/trail mix or IHG Rewards Points (300/Gold, 500/Platinum) upon arrival.

Best Regards,

Maggie Houston
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

If you need a decent affordable place (by NY standards), with no frills attached, this hotel is fine. The location is perfect - a 7 min easy walk from Penn Station. The front desk reception/check-in was pleasant and quick. As an IHG Rewards Member, I received a snack of my choice and a bottle of water. The room was functional and appeared clean. And you can't go wrong with the complimentary Holiday Inn breakfast (just go early before the crowds gather).

Three things kept me from rating this hotel as "very good": 1) my room had a slight damp/musty smell. If there wasn't 6 inches of snow falling I would have walked down the street to get some air freshener. 2) Trying to control the room temp was a nightmare. There was no in-between; it was either really hot or too cool. I opted for really hot and just slept on top of the sheets. 3) There is no restaurant or bar on-site. Other than that, no problems.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ksweet93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maggie H, Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear ksweet93,

Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience with future potential guests. While I am very happy to hear the our location was ideal and our staff were very efficient, I do thank you for making me aware of the slight musty odor in your room and the difficulty that you encountered in using the HVAC. Please be assured that I have already discussed these issues with my Director of Housekeeping and Director of Engineering to ensure that your former room is immediately scheduled for inspection by both managers. We appreciate being given the opportunity to correct any of our downfalls as quickly as possible to ensure all guests are delivered with a flawless product.

Best,

Maggie Houston
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Just minutes away from Penn station/Madison square garden made it the perfect location for our weekend getaway. Easy walk to Empire State bldg and quick subway ride to Rockefeller center,times square and Broadway.Because I am IHG member at checkin,I was welcomed with a snack,bottled water and had an automatic late checkout. Staff was really attentive...hair dryer didn't work and after a call to reception,they were replacing it within 5 minutes. Room was small but bathroom was spacious. Perfect for the two of us. Will definitely be returning to enjoy NYC in the spring!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MKW76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maggie H, Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear MKW76,

Thank you for taking the time to review your weekend getaway with our hotel. I am pleased to hear that you found our location ideal and our staff friendly and accommodating.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the spring!

All the Best,

Maggie Houston
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

This was our first time to NYC, and did not no what to expect. Firstly, we travelled in mid December and was freezing cold and stayed for 3 nights.

The hotel itself was very easy to get too, having taken the subway into Penn Station 34th Street and walked the rest, which is about 5 minutes.

Check in was very quick and hotel staff were fantastic the whole stay, very professional and friendly. We were on the 7th floor and our entire stay was peaceful and did not hear a thing, even with a room next to the lifts. The room was lovely inside with a huge bed and TV and plenty of space to store clothing and luggage, with nice clean décor. Free safety deposit box was perfect and simple to use to keep passports, money and documents safe. Bathroom was good enough. We walked absolutely everywhere whilst in New York so by then end of the day all we wanted was a shower and a good nights sleep and that is exactly what happened. I am one who hates any noise when trying to sleep, and I did not honestly hear a thing the entire stay.

The breakfast, I have to agree with earlier reviews, was just what you needed to start the day. BUT, seating area is on the small size and due to its location (next to the automatic opening doors in the reception), you get a cold draft if your sit near the doors. A few more tables for 2 people would have been perfect.

A computer room was ideal and free of charge to use to print boarding passes for return journey to UK. On check out, we left our baggage with the reception staff who gave us tickets to keep hold to collect our luggage later. This was a great service as the last thing you want is to walk New York City with luggage cases all day!

My only minor issues are the breakfast situation, mentioned above, which is hardly anything to cry about. Secondly, the air conditioning/heating in the room is a bit on the loud side and can take a while to heat the room up, but did the job for us, but it could do with some kind upgrade. That said, they are my only minor issues, which I why I still give it 5 stars.

Overall, I am definitely a person to read previous reviews when travelling to a hotel so I thought I would write my first one those like me. If you are after a place to sleep in a prime midtown location then definitely do not hesitate to stay here. We enjoyed it that much that I will recommend to anyone and WILL be staying here again.

Room Tip: Request a higher room before travel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maggie H, Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear Tom S,

Thank you for submitting such a wonderful, informative review. I am happy to hear that you found your stay worthy of 5 stars and will consider both recommending our hotel to others and visiting us again in the future.
Thank you for your minor critiques concerning the HVAC system as well as the lobby space. I will certainly share your feedback with our management team to see what improvements we can make to further enhance the experience that we deliver to our guests.

Sincerely,

Maggie Houston
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area
Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison ...
#164 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,872 reviews
Chelsea
Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th Avenue - Chelsea
Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th ...
#331 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,271 reviews
Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Che...
#121 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
#152 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,830 reviews
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#186 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Penn Station
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#113 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea

Property: Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea
Address: 232 West 29th Street, New York City, NY 10001-5201 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express NYC Madison Square Garden)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#65 Green Hotel in New York City
#147 Business Hotel in New York City
#182 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#195 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea 3*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea hotel located right in the heart of Chelsea and Madison Square Garden area. We include a complimentary hot and cold Express Start Breakfast for all guests of the hotel. Our hotel is a new 15 story high-rise hotel with amenities to include free high speed wired and wireless Internet access, free local calls, fitness center, rear garden terrace and a full business center. We are just ten short blocks from Times Square. Also within walking distance is Penn Station, the Empire State Building, Jacob Javits Convention Center, Fashion Institute of Technology, Theatre District, Macy's, mid-town and 5th Avenue shopping. Rockefeller Center is just one mile away! We are also centrally located to many fine restaurants, entertainment venues and some of the finest shopping the city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, TravelUp, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Nyc - Madison Square Garden Hotel New York City
Holiday Inn New York City
New York City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing