We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“perfect location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea
Ranked #272 of 467 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Marshall, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“perfect location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

we stayed here in oct 2013. i was 8 months pregnant and we took a road trip along with my parents who came from India to see me. the location is perfect. very near to subway station. i live in Michigan and this was our first visit to New York. the location of this hotel is very central. walking distance from times square, madame tussads. Hotel is very clean but the rooms are small. No complains about that because its NYC. breakfast was very good. the front desk are exceptionally helpful with all your needs. the only downside was we parked our car with the hotel's parking facility and after 3 days the parking bill was nearly $100. but overall a very good hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Preeti D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gdesoiza, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our property.
We're really pleased that you enjoyed our location, our cleanliness, the sights and our staff.
We're sorry to hear that the parking charges were a surprise. Regrettably, in NYC, parking is always an extra expense and believe it or not $30 per night is a bargain.
We hope that all is well with your family.
Gary DeSoiza, General Manager
gary.desoiza@hhmlp.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,956 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    603
    907
    312
    73
    61
See reviews for
630
533
136
225
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
philadelphia
Level Contributor
153 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

This hotel is close enough to walk to the theater district which we liked. I loved that they had outdoor seating for our breakfast (nice weather in June). Breakfast was average - typical of Holiday Inn. Our kids had a twin room - very good. We had a king room with a large jacuzzi bath. I liked it - but be aware there is no door between the shower/bath and bedroom. Beds were comfortable and internet was good.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bratzoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gdesoiza, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for considering us an "Excellent Hotel"
Our proximity to the Theatre District and Herald Square shopping is ideal.
We're sorry if the "peek a boo" shower door, looking into the bedroom was a surprise. We're happy to hear you were comfortable.
Gary DeSoiza, General Manager
gary.desoiza@hhmlp.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
191 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

This hotel is convenient wrt Lincoln Tunnel, and has an affiliated parking on the same block with a special overnt rate (up to 25 hrs). Note that if you need to keep car parked longer than that, e.g. stay in the city a whole day after checking out of the hotel, then it's cheaper to move the car in the morning to the Edison parking lot on the same block for their daily rate. Hotel's staff were all very helpful and friendly, that's a real plus. We also appreciated the IHG member's welcoming gift bag (not all HIEs provide this perk). Room was pretty tight, and door is right against the bed
and unfortunately that means hallway noise/conversation could really bother a light sleeper. This is a very busy hotel and often had a longish wait for elevators.
Breakfast was standard with hardworking staff to keep all items stocked and areas clean.
During peak hours there isn't enough seating for bkft, you can ask staff for a tray to carry food & drink to outside tables or to rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from elevators!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fbc001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gdesoiza, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our property and offer some tips for others to enjoy their experience. Your advice about parking and utilizing a breakfast tray to avoid the crowds is very valuable and sound.
Please feel free to contact me personally when you choose to return
Gary DeSoiza, General Manager
gary.desoiza@hhmlp.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Chester, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

I typically stay at the Holiday Inn Express on Wall Street in the Financial District, as that is closer to my office. About a month ago, I had to travel to New York unexpectedly and the Wall St. Holiday Inn Express was booked full. I had no choice but to begrudgingly reserve a room that was no longer convenient to my commute. When I arrived, however, I was greeted by Frankie and Tenelle who immediately put a smile on my face! They were very kind and welcoming (even gave me a water bottle so I didn't have to go to the vending machines) and called after I walked into my room to make sure everything was to my liking. There was a large jacuzzi tub in between the bathroom and the bedroom that really opened up the room. It felt exquisite to have so much space in the middle of Manhattan! The price was right for it, too. I ended up booking this hotel again, even though it was inconvenient to my office, because of the amazing staff and comfortable room. I would recommend this to anyone!

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a room with a jacuzzi! They generally cost the same as a regular room with a ki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melissa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gdesoiza, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Thank you Melissa!
Wer'e really happy to hear that you found us and enjoyed your stay. We're very familiar with the Express on Wall Street. Our management company is the same.
We appreciate your loyalty to our brand and we hope that you will consider staying with us again. Feel free to contact me personally. Perhaps I can help you with the subway system and make your commute to the office easier.
gary.desoiza@hhmlp.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

This is a well located hotel, close to mini markets, restaurants, drugstores, casual eateries and subway entrances. It is within walking distance to the river, Madison Square Garden, Times Square, Macys, Penn Central and the Chrysler Building. The rooms were comfortable, clean and a reasonable size (for New York) while the staff were efficient, courteous and helpful. The included breakfast was simple but ample with the opportunity to be seated inside or adjacent to the sidewalk under a portico near the entrance. We stayed six nights and were happy with our choice of hotel due to its location, value, comfort and cleanliness.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gdesoiza, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Thank you for the great review John B!
Our midtown, westside location is ideal to get around and see so much of NYC's attractions.
We're really happy to hear that you were able to enjoy our patio/portico.
I hope you get a chance to visit us or another Holiday Inn family hotel again in the near future.
gary.desoiza@hhmlp.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clancy, Montana
Level Contributor
157 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

I stayed here for 5 nights in May 2014 while attending a conference at the Jarvis Center. The hotel was perfect for this location. Although it was not listed as a property for my conference, it was easily within walking distance (15 - 20 minutes).
Staff was courteous, breakfast was good. Coffee was good, which is a rarity in hotel coffee. Fitness center was small. This might have been an issue, but many of the other hotel patrons were French when I was there. Apparently the French do not exercise, so the small fitness room was not a problem!
Elevator was SLOW (and the fact that French people do not seem to understand up and down was a confounding factor.)
Jacuzzi tub was amazing.
My room (once I got there) was very quite and comfortable.
I would stay there again.

Room Tip: My room was on the 15th / top floor. It was quiet but the elevator took forever.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gdesoiza, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you Heather!
I'm really glad that our location was so convenient for you. I'd like to get on your conference listing for next year. You can actually take the MTA Bus M34 from 7th Avenue and 34th Street right to the corner of the Javitts center for the regular subway/bus fare also.
I drink our coffee all of the time. We just started using a new Certified Sustainable Sourced paper cup and we've through the styrofoam away.
The elevator can gets a little confusing for some guests. Perhaps the arrows on the buttons are not enough to indicate the direction that they wish to travel.
I'm glad that you enjoyed the tub.
Please feel free to contact me when you return
gary.desoiza@hhmlp.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Of course, a Manhattan hotel is expensive for a teeny tiny room. Not the case here. The rooms were much larger than I anticipated. Yes, I mean Manhattan large, not Midwest large.

The customer service was great, the rooms were very clean. I would definitely book to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gdesoiza, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you Dawn!
We really appreciate your comments about our service and our cleanliness. Our staff is dedicated to enhancing guest experiences. We're glad that you found our guest rooms to be of adequate size. Guest are often surprised by the size of them compared to rooms in other parts of the country. I hope that you will consider staying with us again when you return to NYC.
gary.desoiza@hhmlp.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area
Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison ...
#168 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,843 reviews
Chelsea
Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th Avenue - Chelsea
Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th ...
#333 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,257 reviews
Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Che...
#123 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
#161 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,813 reviews
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#186 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Penn Station
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#109 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea

Property: Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea
Address: 232 West 29th Street, New York City, NY 10001-5201 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express NYC Madison Square Garden)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Green Hotel in New York City
#147 Business Hotel in New York City
#182 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#195 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea 3*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea hotel located right in the heart of Chelsea and Madison Square Garden area. We include a complimentary hot and cold Express Start Breakfast for all guests of the hotel. Our hotel is a new 15 story high-rise hotel with amenities to include free high speed wired and wireless Internet access, free local calls, fitness center, rear garden terrace and a full business center. We are just ten short blocks from Times Square. Also within walking distance is Penn Station, the Empire State Building, Jacob Javits Convention Center, Fashion Institute of Technology, Theatre District, Macy's, mid-town and 5th Avenue shopping. Rockefeller Center is just one mile away! We are also centrally located to many fine restaurants, entertainment venues and some of the finest shopping the city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Nyc - Madison Square Garden Hotel New York City
Holiday Inn New York City
New York City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing